Three Little Words to Change Everything

10 08 2015

I’ll bet you’re expecting to read something like, “I love you,” right?

Those will improve life, no doubt, but they’re not today’s topic.

We have a Book that is crammed full of promises. Some are conditional, some are not:

“I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

“No weapon formed against you shall prosper.”

“If you focus on whatever is good, pure, right, just, lovely, virtuous, and of good report you will have peace that passes understanding.”

“Seek God’s kingdom above all else and He will provide your needs.”

What if we, say, actually believed the promises we’ve been given? What if we acted as if they are true.

Maybe you’re saying, “Duh, I get that.” For me, though, there was a day when the reality of this truth broke through and illuminated my life like never before.

“I can put my full weight on the Bible.”

What does that have to do with three little words, you ask?

Let me give them to you first:

Jesus is Lord.

There they are….all eleven letters.

Oh, the depths of the riches of those three little words, though. If Jesus is Lord, then:

That means He’s the boss of me (as my kids used to say).

His plans for me are for good and not for evil – to give me a future and a hope…no matter what my circumstances may look like.

Everything I “own” is actually His – to be used whenever, wherever, and however He wants.

Which means:

When my car breaks down – it’s His car. I point out the problem and ask Him how He’s going to get it fixed.

When I’m having health issues, I know there’s a purpose in it and ask Him for guidance.

When I lose my job, I ask Him what He wants me to do next.

When I have needs (not wants – although sometimes He surprises us with those as well!), I look to Him for provision.

I’m not reduced to begging. Instead I can thank Him for taking care of me.

Prayer requests turn into praise meetings when I know that what I am seeking is in accordance with His stated will.

If Jesus is Lord, I can relax and quit trying to run the world. It is in His capable hands. I seek His direction…and then go where He sends me.

Hmm. A timely message for me! So much in life is upside down at the moment. Some of the matters I understand – many I do not.

Nevertheless, because Jesus is Lord, I can rest today, and know that He is in charge.

Yes, these three little words change everything:

Jesus is Lord!

 

Actions

Information

7 responses

10 08 2015
Marijo

So encouraged by this piece but then, I most always am by anything you “pen”…. blessings and THANKS!!!

10 08 2015
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Marijo. Hey, how have you been?
\o/

10 08 2015
Marijo

Learning, growing and being stretched! New book is out and actually doing really well… We are blessed as Mick’s business is finally taking off (in his 3rd year now) I am still waiting for your book!!!

10 08 2015
lessonsbyheart

That’s wonderful. In the aftermath of life’s tsunami, I am writing again. Not sure what to do with it all just yet. Abba will lead in due time, I’m sure.

What’s the title of your book?
\o/

10 08 2015
Marijo

Praising Adonai – this one has many Colorado Photographs (one on each page and sometimes the photo is the whole page as a back drop for the writing) with praise poems (mom’s and mine) and appropriate scriptures.

10 08 2015
lessonsbyheart

Sounds beautiful. I’ll check it out.

10 08 2015
Marijo

Thank you!! It is hardback and I think that is adding to the appeal.

Your turn!

