Have We Been Plundered?

9 05 2015

The deception that took place in the Garden of Eden continues in full force. It probably affects you more than you realize. I was shocked to discover how often it has invaded my life.

Think about it: In the garden were two trees with unusual qualities. One produced life, the other knowledge of good and evil. The unusual quality is that the fruit was visible. Adam and Eve could see it with their eyes, touch it, pick it, bring it to their mouths, and consume it.

Perhaps it wasn’t that the trees had unusual qualities, but that there was something about this couple themselves. They had a way of seeing something that we no longer have.

Can you see life, or good, or evil? I can’t.

Until they chose to pick and consume the fruit of the forbidden tree, their source for life was God. They exchanged this for their own knowledge.

No longer would God’s perspective be what defined life for them; instead, their knowledge, their experiences, their understanding was how they would function.

Recently, I’ve discovered that this is how I live life as well.

I am not alone in this state of deception.

I have my “quiet time,” pray, attend church, and do good on a consistent basis.

It’s not until life falls apart that I begin to press in to the Lord for help.

The rest of the time, “I’ve got this!”

After all, I’ve read my Bible. I know what I’m supposed to “look” like in any given situation. Don’t need help with that. I’ve got it under control.

Or do I??

Let’s consider the Trees again.

One gives life – aliveness.

The other offers knowledge. Of evil for sure…but also of good.

Could this be what is meant by the Lord when He said, “Many will say to Me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in Your name, and in Your name cast out demons, and in Your name perform many miracles?’ And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you, depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness.”?

Evil and good come from the same root. That root is self.

Adam and Eve ‘unplugged’ from the source of life, and became their own source.

No amount of good can ever bring aliveness.

Many people do a great deal of good – and yet feel completely dead inside.

We’ve got to get this. It changes everything!

Fill in the blank:

“For everyone who does evil hates the light, and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. But he who does _____________________ comes to the light, that his deeds may be manifested as having been wrought in God.” John 3:20-21

How did you complete the sentence?

Good?

Righteousness?

Um, no.

Truth.

The opposite of evil, from God’s perspective, is not good. It is truth.

The problem with doing the “good” thing is that we decide what is good, and what is evil. Further, due to life experiences (which we decoded as best we could based on our knowledge), we look at circumstances and people through a skewed lens. Thus, our perspective may cause things to look like a reflection in a house of mirrors…misshapen and distorted…and we do not even realize it!

After all, it’s all we know.

Sadly, I’ve lived all my life in this way. Every situation got filtered through prior experiences, and through my great knowledge of life. When I lacked information with which to decipher what was before me, I turned to books for more knowledge.

In nearly every situation, I did the best good I knew to do. As a child of God, I wanted to please Him by being “good.”

My motive was not the problem; it was from which source I derived my perspective of things that got me into trouble.

What I called “good” –

produced death.

At this time, the Lord is unraveling a massive knot in our family. Years ago things surfaced that were devastating in nature. I handled it as best I knew how by trying hard to do the ‘good’ thing. Be nice. Never say “sh*t” – even when my mouth was full of it.

Consequently, many more people were hurt…and for much longer than necessary. For years – until last week – my family lay in ruins. Praise the Lord, rebuilding has begun.

Not once when the mess began did I ask the Lord to talk to me about the situation.

In the absence of His voice, the enemy was happy to ‘explain.’ He spoke, and I made agreement after agreement with him, which built countless strongholds in me.

I know, because the Lord’s been busy tearing them down this year.

…All because I was doing the best good I knew to do.

Sadly, the church very often teaches us this way of living. It goes something like this:

“You’ve been living on the Evil branch long enough. It is time for you to come over to the Good branch so your life looks better.”

“Do more, try harder to be better.”

This is what religion offers. Jesus wasn’t a big fan of religious folks, in case you hadn’t noticed.

Didn’t Jesus say, “Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks?”

Why do we never bother to look at the root system of the things we are doing so as to determine their source?

Listen again to the words of Jesus from John 10:

“The thief comes only to steal, and kill, and destroy; I came that they might {do more, and try harder to be better}.”

NO!

“I came that they might have life, and might have it abundantly.”

He must be our source. Any fruit we produce if we are plugged into our own knowledge will lead to death – both the works that are evil…and the ones we deem ‘good’.

If we are doing our best to get through this life by being ‘good,’ then we are being plundered. Plug into the True Vine, ask Him to give His perspective of whatever is before you, and discover aliveness as you allow His life to flow through you.

God alone is good!

Actions

Information

13 responses

13 05 2015
Steven Sawyer

Tami, you said it all. What a message of truth. Thank you for sharing. There’s no such thing as a “good” Christian.

1 06 2015
lessonsbyheart

Yeah. Whoda’ thought? Until now, I believed that was the goal…to be good. Wow, was I missing the point!
\o/

13 05 2015
blmaluso

“Adam and Eve ‘unplugged’ from the source of life, and became their own source.”

“Until they chose to pick and consume the fruit of the forbidden tree, their source for life was God. They exchanged this for their own knowledge.
No longer would God’s perspective be what defined life for them; instead, their knowledge, their experiences, their understanding was how they would function.”

Wow…this really opens my eyes! Thanks for sharing. I am going through a difficult time (spiritual/personal) growth right now and needed to hear this.

Love and blessings,
Bernadette

1 06 2015
lessonsbyheart

Bob Hamp’s “Foundational Classes” completely changed my understanding of Christianity…and in a very good way. I’ve watched the five videos a dozen or more times. I’m almost to the point where I can begin to take notes on the classes. Never had that happen before.

Praying that the Lord will make crooked places straight and rough places smooth for you, and may you hear Him singing over you each night. Ever wonder what He’s singing?? 😉

\o/

10 05 2015
Heidi Viars

We are nothing without God. But in Him and with Him become His beloved 🙂 Thanks for this wonderful reminder, sister!

1 06 2015
lessonsbyheart

You’re most welcome. 😉
\o/

10 05 2015
Marijo

VERY insightful – I posted it on FB – thanks my dear writer friend!

1 06 2015
lessonsbyheart

So glad it made sense. I’ve been away from writing a while, and wasn’t sure if I could state what I meant in a way that was understandable.
\o/

9 05 2015
Pure Glory

Tami, what you say makes sense. Basically, the tree of knowledge centers on self and pride of knowing it and doing it. Being a great performer. Familiar to all of us. The tree of life is Jesus who switches up our life and gives us abundantly life from a place of humility.
Love and prayers! God is doing it!

9 05 2015
lessonsbyheart

This was revolutionary for me. I always believed that God gave me a brain and expected me to use it…only ‘bother’ Him with the stuff that was beyond my scope of intelligence. How wrong I was!! His patience as He waited for me to get this overwhelms me.
\o/

9 05 2015
Pure Glory

It’s basically the belief that we depend on ourselves rather than God. We believe God is only interested in the big things not the small stuff that we lose sleep over. This attitude is prevalent in the USA in many churches. Instead God is our father and wants to be involved in everything so we could have an intimate relationship with him. Thanks for sharing. I know this revelation is life transforming.

9 05 2015
nopew

I just finished posting a comment about this very thing, and then your blog popped up with this. I keep telling people “We’ve all become unclean, and all our righteous acts are like permanently stained rags. All of us shrivel like leaves, and our sins carry us away like the wind” (Isaiah 64:6 GW). I get blank stares. ALL our good is just rags. God’s good is like rivers in the desert. So why do we keep “doing good”? You make it clear in what you wrote. The centre of our understanding is “I-We”. The centre of life Is Jesus. “Choose this day whom you will serve” as Joshua said. “No one can serve two masters…” May your family healing be blessed in God’s timing, and covered with God’s love, without any human understanding. This is the very core of faith. Thanks for the affirmation (as I noted at the start), but more let my prayer add to the work God is doing for you (all).
Peace

9 05 2015
lessonsbyheart

I’m so thankful that what I wrote made sense! We are experiencing true transformation through finally learning this. Thanks for your prayers. I add a heart-felt amen.
\o/

Your turn!

