The God of Second (Third…Hundredth) Chances

6 01 2015

January 1, 2015 began a new year, new beginnings…another chance.

When I opened my Bible app for the Verse of the Day, guess what it was?

Behold, I will do a new thing. Now it shall spring forth; do you not perceive it? I will even make a road in the wilderness and rivers in the desert. Isaiah 43:19.

This is the same verse I received last year!

As I read the words for the umpteenth time, I sensed the Lord’s smile as He let me know that I have a “do-over.” I get another run at this promise. That’s good news!

Last year, I had expectations of what that would look like for me. Those are now gone. I have no preconceived notions of what He has in store…only that He will be faithful to complete the work He has begun.

Life took a crazy turn last year. As I look back at where I was last January, I am amazed at the growth He’s wrought in me – despite my confusion and disappointment. Through all that, the Lord took my faith in Him to a new level.

He used the trials to reveal some very ugly things that I believed to be true of Him, and replaced them with a greater understanding of His infinite love for me.

The training received on making disciples – have no opinion in other’s situations, do not judge, do not advise, only love them – was well-tested. I had ample opportunities to walk out what He’d worked in.

I didn’t do it perfectly {gasp!}.

However, I did much better than ever before.

Progress!

Nothing is resolved yet, but this year I have hope…hope for a brighter future, hope for transformation and restoration.

How I appreciate the fact that the Father loves us where we are, with all our messed up thinking about His character; and that He continues to pursue us in hope that we will finally see Him more accurately.

I said some really mean things to God last year, all borne out of my misunderstanding of what He is really like. My words did not deter Him. He didn’t throw up His hands in exasperation and write me off as a lost cause.

Instead, He continued to tenderly whisper that He loves me, that He understood my confusion but wanted me to know that what I believed was simply not true. He asked me to trust Him with the hard things I’m dealing with, and to believe that He will work all this for my good.

I saw this quote on someone’s blog earlier this week. It resonated with me, and so I share it with you:

“Everything is going to be fine in the end.
If it’s not fine it’s not the end.”

-Oscar Wilde-

And so I begin this year with my hand in my Father’s, trying to match my steps with His, in full confidence that He has this. It will be fun to look back over this year in 2016 and see all He has accomplished in, around, and through me.

To God be the glory! Amen.

How about you? Do you find this the Year of the Great Do-Over? Do tell!

PS If you live in Northern California, the Legacy class (disciple/mentoring) begins soon at The Stirring in Redding. Jim Bailey and his wife Amy are amazing, and very gifted teachers. Don’t miss it!

Actions

Information

6 responses

6 01 2015
Pure Glory

Thank God that he gives abundant grace! We all need it. My makeover is happening this year. So glad that God does not give up on us.. Thank you Lord!

6 01 2015
wordforlifesays

I’m soooo looking forward to a GREAT DO-OVER this year!

6 01 2015
Kari Anne Dorstad

You reminded me about my own preconceived take on Gods hand , I have a tendency to rehearse numerous scenarios in my mind .

6 01 2015
thethinkingofthoughts2013

That was the verse that I read today too….and the second time it has come up in recent weeks. God reminded me that I once wrote a song based on this verse – so many years ago now. It seems a long time since I was here too. Glad to see all is well x Happy New Year x

6 01 2015
inthepottershands988

Hi, Tami!! I am so glad your newest blog came up in my Reader. This is exactly what the Lord is speaking to me about this year…new beginnings. I am excited, really, I am. But at the moment fear is trying to have it’s way. Excitement over change is not my default response. A quote from a character on a tv show expresses the old me, “Change is never good. They say it is, but it’s not.” Haha! I am trying to break out of that mindset. I am choosing faith over fear. That is my mantra for this year. Joshua 1:6-9. Lord, give me courage. Thank you for this post!

6 01 2015
Yoshiko

I hope this will be a great year to do.

Your turn!

