A Heart on Lockdown

29 07 2014

I’ve discovered that my home reflects the condition of my heart. When my home is tidy and well organized, so is my heart.

When it’s a disheveled mess, well…you get the idea. I was going to post a picture of my work space, but it’s too embarrassing.

Every adult in the house has taken major hits over the last few months. In one way or another, each has locked down his or her heart.

It’s safer that way.

Waves  continue to buffet our vessel. While the Lord is in the boat with us, in His wisdom He has chosen to let the storm rage on – although He could silence it with a word.

There must be something we need to learn from this experience. We’ll be debriefed later, no doubt.

Over the sound of the rushing wind, and between crashing waves, I hear Jesus call out:

“Let down your nets for a catch.”

He isn’t crazy, you know, but infinitely wise.

However, we’d already ‘let down our nets,’ each one in his or her own way…

…and were let down in the process.

This was hard enough to take when the seas were calm…

But this feels like a Category Five storm.

“Now? You want us to fish now?”

Each one clutches his net a little tighter to his chest. The idea of being let down once again, and in the midst of this tempest is to risk more than we care to lose.

While cleaning my computer’s desktop this morning. I found the following quote. Seeing it today was a divine appointment, and a warning from my loving Father.

The Risk of Love (C. S, Lewis)

To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything, and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken.

If you want to be sure of keeping your heart intact you must give your heart to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully around with hobbies and little luxuries, avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safely in the casket of your selfishness.

And in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will not change, it will not be broken. It will become unbreakable, impenetrable, and irredeemable. The only place outside of heaven where you can be perfectly safe from the dangers of love –

-is hell.

Hell. Hmm, now isn’t that interesting?

What I’ve been describing is, for us, a living  hell. 

Whole days pass with little to show for them…a completed jigsaw puzzle, a bit of needlework. New levels attained on stupid iPhone games (Crowd gasps: “Oooh!”) Mostly, I wander aimlessly through the house.

It feels very much like being buried alive.

Are you sure that the Exodus took place on land? It feels like another lap around the lake. I’ve seen this terrain before, in this same boat! Only the faces are different. 😉

I don’t want to do this to myself anymore. The journey back out of this self-imposed grave is painful and laborious. I don’t have to lock away my heart again.

It’s risky; I’ll have to feel the pain instead of being numb. Can I trust the Lord? I did in the past, and He let me down – or so it seems.

(Or perhaps I didn’t see the whole picture?)

But He calls to me. I dare not decline. His plan for me is for good – not evil.

He does not have a dark side.

(I’ve stated this in many of my posts over the last few months – mostly to remind myself that He is pure Light, not a type of “Jekyll and Hyde.”)

A glance down memory lane shows countless times where He has been faithful.

He has  been good; I must trust that He will  be good to me.

Hmm. Looks like it’s time to go fishing.

Ever so slowly, I’m unlocking the door to my heart. It will probably get kicked around like a soccer ball. At least I’ll be feeling something.

I’m saying “NO” to a locked-down heart!

Actions

Information

6 responses

29 07 2014
Diana Rasmussen

I am so there with you Tami. Kind of like a tornado passed through my life and I am standing there looking at the wreckage. I know God is good. I know He will help me and restore things. Yet at the moment, this makes no logical sense whatsoever! Maybe that’s how it’s supposed to be, idk. Walking by faith alongside you, Diana

29 07 2014
Anna Bachinsky

Amen Tami! It is the darkest nights and stormiest weather that we need to trust God most. One day those waves will be stilled… and He will be faithful in coming through for you once again but until that day comes keep on holding on to His promises and remembering His faithfulness to you in the past. This too will pass, like everything before it has, and you will be able to walk freely in joy and peace. Keep staying strong!

29 07 2014
nopew

The devil would love to see us lose our love. Now, those who abuse and betray and fake love are not in my social calendar, though I do pray for their souls. Those who make mistakes and act like humans, well, I’ll stick with them. Vulnerable means care even when evil swamps our boat, but it doesn’t mean invite Judas on the cruise!
Peace

29 07 2014
lessonsbyheart

Yeah, however when Jesus is in charge of the invitations we don’t always have a choice. Can we keel-haul them, I wonder? 😉

\o/

29 07 2014
joyanneferrara

The longest breath of love is the shortest distance to heaven! ~Akiane

29 07 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

Your turn!

