How to Use Crayons

29 05 2014

My husband and I are new to the “prophetic word” concept. It’s taken us a while to understand what’s going on, and every Sunday we’re being stretched a bit more in this regard.

Holy Spirit has been faithfully leading us into truth throughout the process. I’d like to share what we’ve learned.

Each one of us has their own “box of crayons” with which to draw pictures of one another (and ourselves). Without realizing it, this is what we do with our words.

Throughout most of my life, I’ve sat under the teaching of various pastors. One thing they had in common was the picture they drew of the “charismatic” churches in our area. The colors were dark, and beneath were the reds, oranges, and yellows of the flames of hell…which was sure to be their destination.

As a result, when one of the members of this “type” of church would offer a prophetic word, I would listen politely…then let it go in one ear and out the other. I don’t recall a single thing spoken over me (which happened fairly often, by the way!).

My pastors and teachers seemed to have missed this little verse:

Do not despise prophecies.1 Thessalonians 5:20

(Which comes with this cautionary word:

Test all things; hold fast what is good.. V 21)

And they missed this verse as well:

Pursue love, and desire spiritual gifts, but especially that you may prophesy.1 Corinthians 14:1

Wow! We’re supposed to desire this gift of the Spirit. Guess what? We do prophesy…

By our choice of comments, we either use the dark colors to depict what’s wrong with another…

…or the pastels to draw out what we see God doing in them.

It becomes  a question of the source of our statements.

The pictures our words evoke can either bring life or death.

Death and life are in the power of the tongue. Proverbs 18:21

It becomes clear that we ‘prophesy’ over people all day long. We tell them what we see within them – state it matter-of-fact – as if it is truth.

We either color a picture from God’s perspective, and offer a future and hope…

…or we color a picture of whom our adversary wants them to become.

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness.Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. James 3:9,10

{Is anyone besides me feeling convicted??}

 Yes, there are times when people need a word of correction, or “admonishment,” as the Bible calls it. However,

If our motive isn’t love for the person, 

then this isn’t our assignment!

We are in no position to speak to another regarding their behavior until we have gone to the Lord and asked for His view of that person. If we don’t see them as the torn, bleeding sheep they are, we can’t even really pray for them accurately! (Aren’t you thankful that the Spirit fixes our prayers so they are in line with what is true about others??)

Let no corrupt word proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers. Ephesians 4:29

So, how will we use our box of crayons today? Will we impart grace to those with whom we communicate? Can we speak words that give them hope for their future? (Which, of course, isn’t something we just ‘make up,’ or wishful thinking on our part. For we have the mind of Christ…let’s use it!!!

Go forth and color your world!

Actions

Information

21 responses

29 05 2014
grumpea

Amen indeed! Thank you Tamara for sharing 🙂
This is what I’ve been struggling with because the church that the Lord has led me to attend in university is very conservative, and they are very cautious about such things. I somehow feel like I do not know how to stand up for my charismatic church back home and to defend my firm belief of God’s power and presence in the charismatic movement.
While it can sometimes be a little dangerous because we must make sure that these prophecies are from God and rooted in His word, I believe that the presence of the Holy Spirit in this age is not just to guide us, but to lead us and connect with us through dreams, prophecies, words and impartations. These physical manifestations and experiences allow us to realise that the spiritual can be felt in the physical. It is physical evidence of God! 🙂
Not that everyone should have to follow the charismatic movement, but I don’t think they should condemn it because this is the season that the Lord has chosen for such things. The visions, word and experiences that the Holy Spirit imparts to us should not be negatively viewed…

29 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

It seems that we keep forgetting that we’re a body…and as such, have different parts with different functions. I would not want my knee to behave like my thumb. That would be awkward! 😉

These days, I’m asking the Lord to show me the person He desires for ME to be…instead of trying to be my best imitation of someone else. He wanted a “me” or He would never have created me!

29 05 2014
Kari Anne Dorstad

Great topic, I pray the Lord gives you a continues revelation on this topic to share with us. I’v been noticing lately that God often uses Children, the elderly the sick and dying and also what the world calls disabled to give us a word. What a blessing this is. .

29 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Nothing is ever a waste to God…even what we would consider to be such.

See you tomorrow night?? Fish cakes for dinner. 😉

\o/

29 05 2014
vonhonnauldt

Since the New Testament is complete and there is no further need for “prophecy” in the sense Charismatic folk use it, just exactly what is it? How is this to be compared with what God has revealed? How do we know it’s from God, and not just from the speaker? Sorry, Tami, I appreciate all you’ve gone through, but on this subject you’ve lost me.

29 05 2014
Marijo

The Bible speaks of the various gifts and this is one place they are mentioned (without an expiration date… GRIN) Spiritual Gifts: Unity in Diversity

12 Now concerning spiritual gifts, brethren, I do not want you to be ignorant: 2 You know that[a] you were Gentiles, carried away to these dumb idols, however you were led. 3 Therefore I make known to you that no one speaking by the Spirit of God calls Jesus accursed, and no one can say that Jesus is Lord except by the Holy Spirit.

4 There are diversities of gifts, but the same Spirit. 5 There are differences of ministries, but the same Lord. 6 And there are diversities of activities, but it is the same God who works all in all. 7 But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to each one for the profit of all: 8 for to one is given the word of wisdom through the Spirit, to another the word of knowledge through the same Spirit, 9 to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healings by the same[b] Spirit, 10 to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another discerning of spirits, to another different kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues. 11 But one and the same Spirit works all these things, distributing to each one individually as He wills.

You will notice various “words” and prophesy etc.

29 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

This is great, Marijo! Thanks for taking time to type all that out and add it here! 🙂

\o/

19 06 2014
vonhonnauldt

Thank you for your response to my comment. Paul does indeed refer to the various gifts of the Spirit, but he’s not concerned here with their duration, but with the work of the Trinity in the exercise, purpose and effectiveness of the gifts. He did address the matter of “duration” in 1 Cor. 13:8-10, when he wrote, “But whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away. For we know in part and we prophecy in part. But when that is perfect has come, that which is in part will be done away” (NKJV). Even if “that which is perfect” refers to the 2nd Coming of Christ and not to the completion of the NT, and the gifts are indeed still operative, shouldn’t they be exercised according to Scripture? With that in mind, what’s your take on 1 Cor. 14:34-39?

19 06 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for your comment. It deserves a prayerfully thought out answer. We’re in transition, right now and there’s no time. I’ll respond by next Friday, okay?

29 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Hello, dearest brother! I appreciate your candor. 🙂

At a distance, I thought so as well. Having been invited by the Lord to move in closer and find out what they mean, I realize that I’ve given ‘prophetic’ words many, many times.

“Prophecy” has a two-fold meaning. One is new revelation of future events. We’ve been given all we need in the Bible. That is true. This is where Joseph Smith and others were off the mark. They added to what was given to us in the Word. That’s never a good thing.

The other is forth-telling…a Scripture given that speaks directly to a person in their particular situation that gives clarity and draws the person closer to the Lord.

The latter was what I had the opportunity to do on Sundays during worship at my old church. Each Sunday morning, the Lord would give me a specific passage to share during the music portion of our worship service. Nearly every week, someone walked away with the paper from which I’d read because it spoke to them in a very meaningful way. I had not given a new revelation – just pointed them to the verse(s) they needed to hear.

You’ve done this with me!

Note that every verse given above concerning prophecy is from Paul. If His words were meant merely for the other writers of Scripture, surely he would have addressed them privately. The passage from Corinthians was for the entire Corinthian church – not just other authors of Scripture. Note that he encourages them *all* (and by extension, us) to desire this spiritual gift of prophesying.

Believe me, what I *believed* to be true is being challenged by the Lord on many points. I’m discovering that He has much more for us than what I’d previously been taught. I don’t have this one completely worked out yet, but it is a topic of His tutelage for me at the moment.

Forth-telling can also be pointing out the obvious to the oblivious person…characteristics within another that they can’t see for themselves.

For instance, I know a fellow who’s been told for years that the Lord wants him to pastor a church. He doesn’t see within himself any of the necessary qualities for such a call (which is a good thing! No pride or arrogance in his decision to obey). Yet, to all around him, that he has been designed and prepared for such a calling is unmistakable.

They are calling out of this man what the Lord placed within him.

How I know it is from God, and not from man is that it doesn’t contradict Scripture in any way, isn’t contrary to God’s nature or character, and the Spirit within me bears witness to the truth of the words spoken. (Believe me, there HAVE been times when He’s said, “Uh, uh, that’s not from ME!”)

Prophecy is far more than end-time events, I’m learning. My best suggestion is to ask Jesus to teach you what is true regarding this – certainly don’t take my word for it. That’s what I’ve been doing, and this is what He’s been teaching me. That is all. 🙂

\o/

29 05 2014
tlhumphries

Beautiful!

29 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks! 🙂

\o/

29 05 2014
Susan Irene Fox

Tamara, you warm my heart so! You have given me an image this morning of a wonderful, large box of crayons. Each crayon in it is a brother and sister who writes and speaks from love and hope and turned those colors of fire and brimstone into the luscious colors of the Creator’s sunrise and sunset.

29 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂 The learning curve we are on continues at a steep incline. So many things I used to *know* to be true aren’t. I love the imagery you used here, for it reflects my experiences of late. 🙂

\o/

29 05 2014
Marijo

Copy and paste from the Biblegateway site…
For some reason today my comments are not posting like they usually do – about half are lost???

29 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

That stinks! 😦

\o/

29 05 2014
Marijo

Hum, not sure where my comments went… good one here – the italics in my devotionals were words from the Lord that I had written down for the past 37 years…

29 05 2014
gailmanizak

Reblogged this on The Power and Presence Ministry and commented:
Lots of truth here…it is a process, God is taking us higher, progressively learning

29 05 2014
How to Use Crayons | The Power and Presence Ministry

[…] How to Use Crayons. […]

29 05 2014
Marijo

the page with my info and the “post comment” button keeps disappearing and when I try to “log in” and get a new password due to not remembering the old one I can’t…. and then, like right now, I have the post comment button? Go figure.

29 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

That’s happened to me before, and is aggravating! Tomorrow will be a new day. 😉

\o/

Your turn!

