Stupid Distractions

28 05 2014

For the last several months, I’ve been feeling like Daniel from The Karate Kid. I enlisted the help of One who knows “Karate” well – after all, He is from the Country where “Karate” originated. I could choose none better.

I was delighted when He agreed to take me under His wing and teach me the intricacies of the craft. With great anticipation, I visited Him every day.

First we “painted the fence.” 

I got it done, and did a great job! Perhaps this was how I would “pay” for my lessons??

Enthusiasm bubbled out as I returned for my first lesson later in the week.

Imagine my confusion when I was given pads with which to “sand the floor.”

My Master was nowhere to be found while I toiled and sweated my way across the room.

As I finished my last stroke, He arrived, thanked me, and sent me home.

Confusion abounded. I lay in bed at night wondering if I was being taken for a sucker.

Nevertheless, at the appointed time I returned for my first lesson…

and spent the day “waxing cars!”

Seriously???

Fortunately, I’ve seen Karate Kid, or I’d be royally ticked right now! Although what’s happening in my life looks nothing like what I believe my ‘calling’ to be, I know that these things that appear to be distractions are, in fact, training.

For what? I have no clue.

But I have faith in the LORD, and in His ways. 

No motion is wasted when we’re being obedient. His intention is to work these natural movements deep into our “muscle memory.” That way, when the adversary comes against us, we automatically do the needed action. What seems to be pointless and completely unrelated to what we are called to do, is actually the very best training we need in order to be equipped!

I guess this is why we’re told:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart;

Don’t lean on your own understanding. (Especially at a time like this, when nothing makes sense!)

In all your ways acknowledge Him;

Rest in the knowledge that He IS directing your paths…even when it seems like nothing more than a distraction!

{paraphrase mine}

 

Actions

Information

16 responses

11 09 2014
A Time to be Silent (Part Two) | Lessons by Heart

[…] I needed a preparation time; opportunities to practice the necessary skills in order to handle what was coming. This was done through our guest, and was what I suspected, as I wrote in Stupid Distractions. […]

30 05 2014
nopew

Watched those Karate movies. The issue was trust and respect. These built an attitude. The moves and techniques were only tools for the attitude. And it was a war out there! If God gave us the whole training schedule upfront even more people would quit because we don’t trust God who knows we can actually do it. You have to respect that.
Peace

30 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Trust and respect – this is so true! I hadn’t thought about it building an attitude. That is helpful. Thank you.

Last night I was very close to suggesting that God “wax His own cars!” This training period has been a costly one – in friends, time, personal space, etc. I sure hope we don’t have to revisit these lessons, and so I continue. Trust in God’s ways is all that keeps me from throwing in the towel.

Soon…soon. The finish line is in sight. 🙂

\o/

30 05 2014
nopew

“We shall win if we do not faint”

30 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Send the smelling salts, please!

\o/

31 05 2014
nopew

I don’t how that works in the virtual world, but with good intent I send whatever will transport by Spirit!
Peace

31 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

\_o_/ …caught it, thanks!

28 05 2014
Kari Anne Dorstad

I get that!

29 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

28 05 2014
Susan Irene Fox

lol! Patricia Shirer calls those “Divine interventions.” I know from whence you speak. Sometimes, it’s good to just take a break midday and watch Kitchen Nightmares. Puts things into perspective. 😀

28 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Yeah, my ‘go-to’ is jigsaw puzzles. 😉

At times like these, I wish I had TV so I could watch Kitchen Nightmares…wait…that’s usually what’s happening in my kitchen at any given moment. AUGH!!!!!!!!!!!

\o/

28 05 2014
Susan Irene Fox

You can actually watch on You Tube. I don’t have a TV either. Too addicting. 🙂

28 05 2014
tlhumphries

Good word. I needed it today. Thanks!

28 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Glad to know I’m not going through this craziness just for me. 😉

\o/

28 05 2014
Mel Wild

Good stuff. Yes, God is the original “wax on-wax off” teacher. 🙂

28 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

Your turn!

