Smarty-Pants

22 05 2014

I’m reading a wonderful book by Cheryl Stasinowsky entitled, “Private Moments with God.” It is chock full of insights she’s received from the Lord. I highly recommend her writings.

Yesterday I read on the subject of wisdom. She pointed out something that I’d missed. Since it is immensely important, I wanted to share it with you. (This is not a quote, but what I gleaned from the essay I read yesterday: “Can It Be…Wisdom.”)

The LORD invited Solomon to ask for whatever he wanted as the new king. It would be granted him.

Imagine God’s delight when David’s son asked for wisdom with which to rule the Israelites.

Because Solomon desired a gift that would be spent on others, God gave him what he asked – and added wealth and honor as a bonus.

Before the death and resurrection of Jesus, the Spirit came and went. He did not permanently indwell anyone. This is why we read David’s words, “Take not Your Holy Spirit from me” in Psalms. It was a possibility.

Since Jesus returned to heaven, however, things are different for us. Ephesians 1:13 tells us that we are ‘sealed with the Holy Spirit of promise.’ He is a permanent resident in every believer.

The Spirit may be quenched or grieved, yet He remains in us.

This is huge, for when we lack wisdom, we have only to ask for it! God gives His wisdom liberally and without reproach – to all – NOT just believers.

Interesting!

More importantly, we must then proceed in faith that we received the wisdom for which we asked!

James 1 goes on to say we must ask in faith, with no doubting. Those who doubt will not receive anything from the Lord because of double-mindedness and instability.

This year has been one of needing great amounts of wisdom, discernment…and knowledge of what to do with the wisdom and discernment we are being given. Every time we’ve asked, He has given. To say that He has given to us “liberally” would be an understatement!

This is everyone’s  inheritance. Check out this from 2 Corinthians:

“Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, that we might know the things that have been freely given to us by God.”

I always took this to mean things like justification, sanctification, a home in heaven, etc. But we’ve been given so much more:

“We have the mind of Christ.”

(verse 16)

Once we’ve asked for wisdom and guidance, we can turn from petitioning to giving thanks. To seek the Lord’s leading and His mind concerning a matter is according to His will.

The answer is a resounding, “YES!”

We can move through the day, confident that we have the wisdom for which we asked.

We are not beggars, seeking crumbs from God’s table.

We are Abba’s children, invited to dine at the lavish banquet He sets before us daily. 

(#Beloved of the Father!)

 (I don’t know exactly what the # thing means, but I hear people say it all the time – and it sounds cool!)

All this to say that no matter how smart we are, we have all the wisdom and knowledge of our Father at our fingertips. It is ours for the asking.

We need not be smarty pants –

We have the mind of Christ!!!

Let’s walk in faith that we really, truly have it!

Actions

Information

10 responses

22 05 2014
isaiah41v10

Not sure if this is what you’re saying – that God gives His wisdom to anyone who asks Him, whether they are believers or not?
Does this mean that when we ask Him for wisdom, and then make a decision, that we need to have faith that He gave us the wisdom we needed and we shouldn’t second-guess ourselves and torture ourselves with doubts (because I’m really good at doing that)?
You’ve given me something to think about – thanks!
I don’t twitter either – don’t need another internet addiction. 🙂

23 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

James states that He gives wisdom liberally to *all.* There were no qualifiers given…except that faith is required to receive. I thought about this concerning non-believers. Of course, faith is a gift from God as well. I bet He could take that shred of the hope of an answer and fan it into the flame of belief in Him! Isn’t He cool??

I’m learning that when I ask for wisdom and act on it – even when things seem to blow up – I was correct to act on what I believed He said. Eventually, it works out in ways that I never expected.

You’ll like today’s post, I think. It’s about response and responsibility. I’m working through this new understanding in real time. Not only am I a second-guesser, but also a scenario-player-outer. Every decision takes more time to make than I care to admit. 😉

As I learn to obey – and trust the Lord for the outcome, I discover a level of peace I’ve never known before. It’s wonderful!

Have a blessed day!

\o/

22 05 2014
Renee Ratcliffe

Thank you for another great post – and filled with some of my favorite promises!

22 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Mine too! You’re most welcome. 🙂

\o/

22 05 2014
Timothy Murray

Using hashtags now, I see, joining the hip crowd! Great post as always. I pray daily for God to give me wisdom concerning his will for my life, to see those doors he is opening (and conversely, the ones he is closing) and faith to follow him through those doors! May Christ richly bless you!

22 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thank you so much, fine sir. I’ll claim that blessing. 🙂

Hashtags…totally clueless! I think it has to do with “tweeting” – whatever that is!

\o/

22 05 2014
Timothy Murray

Now, now, don’t play coy, I’m sure you are a twitter machine!

22 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Um, nope. I have a flip phone (pay by the minute), and thought twittering was something the birds did. 😉

I’ve had a couple of requests to join (?) someone on Twitter, but had no clue how to do it…and at $0.20 per minute to use my phone, don’t think I want to find out!!!

\o/

23 05 2014
Timothy Murray

Flip phone? I thought all those were in the Smithsonian! Well, I don’t blame you, I don’t tweet either, at least not in public!

23 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂 🙂 🙂

\o/

Your turn!

