Toss Away the Bone

21 05 2014

Until ten years ago, I was quite the “drama queen” and felt abnormal if life wasn’t in a continual uproar. When I was in a period of smooth sailing, I’d stir things up so I could feel ‘normal’ again!

Like a dog with a bone, I would ‘worry’ an issue, struggling and striving to work it all out in my head. At the end of my efforts, nothing had changed. It was an exercise in futility.

Further, I would happily pick up others’ ‘bones’ as well, and work their problems over in my mind.

The solutions I provided rarely helped, by the way. 😦

That was then – this is now. Today, I value peace immensely.

I can have serenity in the midst of a storm as well.

When a matter presents itself that has the ability to throw me into a tailspin, I find rest in the Lord who is my Refuge.

Jesus asked a question that is pertinent to this topic:

“Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do the things I say?” 

Luke 6:46

The context for this question had to do with looking at a speck in another’s eye – and missing the log in our own. Then Jesus pointed out that our fruit reveals what we believe.

The verse above opens a paragraph concerning what type of person we are. What we’ve chosen to build upon becomes apparent when storms come our way – rock or sand.

During the ‘drama queen’ days, my foundation was the shifting sand of popular beliefs. I did life like the world around me. Pop culture told me what do do in every instance I faced. Very little of it was Biblical advice, however, and I often fell flat on my face when trouble presented itself.

Little by little, the Lord taught me (and is still  teaching me…I can be ‘slow!’) to trust Him in every situation. In fact, I appreciate very much that He gave me permission to let go of what might happen:

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” Matthew 6:34

Today, in more ways than I can count, I am learning to practice this. My own heart is where my attention must be. I cannot make others my ‘project.’ They are to be loved. Period.

Finances? My Father takes care of my needs – not necessarily my wants.

Health? It is in His hands. If there are doctors, nurses, etc. I need to tell about my Father’s love, then I will find myself in need of them.

Living arrangements? Nothing is by chance. If I find myself with hard-to-live-with folks, there is something for me to learn in the process.

Sometimes this is hard, but He cares for me, and carries me when I’m too tired to go another step. The verses I posted earlier (Carried On) give comfort beyond belief.

If we are to enjoy the peace that passes understanding, we simply must learn to “Trust in the Lord with all our heart, lean not on our own understanding. In all our ways we must acknowledge Him, and He will direct our paths.”

As we learn to give thanks in every situation, and worry about nothing, but make our requests known to God, we walk in that peace…even in the midst of life’s hardest trials.

If we are to do this, we’ve got to toss away those bones of worry and learn to abide in Him.

Blessings to you today!

Actions

Information

15 responses

21 05 2014
Cari Josue

You are such a huge inspiration Tami, thank you again & again! Luvu ❤

22 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Hi, Cari! So fun to see you here. Thanks for taking time to read and comment.

I look forward to the day when we meet face-to-face. I feel like you’re a long-lost friend. 🙂

{hugs}
\o/

21 05 2014
Mel Wild

Amen and amen! Love it. Rest and peace beats drama hands down. Even when the drama is directed at you. I’ve had a lot of that this week and it’s good to just float in His ocean of love..aahhhh… 🙂

22 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Oceans again. Mmmm. I’m beginning to learn at a deeper level just how wide, deep, high, and long is the Father’s love for us…and His resources, as well. Every time I’ve called on Him to supply what was needed, He has faithfully provided. I am amazed!

\o/

22 05 2014
Mel Wild

Awesome. Sounds like God is doing some amazing things in you in this season, Tami. Yeah, we’ve had “ocean” words all 2014. It’s in our language now. I actually feel like I’m literally floating sometimes; that is, when I don’t feel like I’m sinking. 🙂

22 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

I am moved to tears whenever I look back at all that has transpired since January. “Oceans” of grace, mercy, love, and provision have been ours all year long.

This season has been an expensive one – yet it’s also been one of unexpected money pouring in to help fund what He’s asked us to do! For us, this is a bonus. We feel that we’re being well-paid through discovering so many things about Abba and the Spirit within.

We are blessed! 🙂

\o/

22 05 2014
Mel Wild

Amen! We are blessed. 🙂

21 05 2014
Heidi Viars

thank you, Tami, for this great reminder 🙂 Grateful for you presence in the blogging world

21 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Heidi. It’s helpful to know that my mad ramblings speak to others. 🙂

\o/

21 05 2014
Marijo

I always suspected there were people “wired” that way….GRIN

21 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Not wired – I learned at the feet of my parents! Children do indeed live what they learn. 🙂

\o/

21 05 2014
Marijo

I am glad you “unlearned” at the feet of our Jesus!

21 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

That’s awesome, Marijo. Love it!!!

\o/

21 05 2014
Equipping The Saints

Thank you for sharing. I am very proud of you.

Senior Pastor/Equipping the Saints
Philip 3:10, “That I May Know Him”
http://gravatar.com/cchurchchurchblog
http://cchurchchurchblog.wordpress.com/

21 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks. I truly appreciate the encouragement!

\o/

Your turn!

