Spring’s Promise

30 04 2014

Have you ever felt like a freshly-plowed field? Like your heart’s been ripped and torn up by a plowshare? It’s not a fun place to be, but a necessary one.

Everything seems bare and exposed, and by all appearances hopelessly dead.

This is where I live right now. At the point of despair, however, the Lord presented me with a promise. I share it for those who are struggling in like manner.

Come, and let us return to the Lord for He has torn, but He will heal us; He has stricken, but He will bind us up. After two days He will revive us; on the third day He will raise us up, that we may live in His sight.

Let us know, let us pursue the knowledge of the Lord. His going forth is established as the morning. He will come to us as the rain, like the latter and former rains to the earth. (Hosea 6:1-3)

(This from God Calling, April 30):

“Rejoice in the Springtime of the year. Let there be Springtime in your hearts. The full time of fruit is not yet, but there is the promise of the blossom.

“Know surely that your lives, too, are full of glad promise. Such blessings are to be yours. Such joys, such wonders.

“All is indeed well. Live in My Sunshine and My Love.”

What wonderful, encouraging words for us this day, eh? I think of Hosea, who penned the Scripture above. Talk about a seemingly hopeless situation! In the end, however, God reigned victorious…and they lived happily ever after.

Those verses are a great companion to the one I was given for this season:

Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert. (Isaiah 43:18-19)

We simply must keep our eyes on Jesus – the Author and Perfecter of our faith. Has He not shown Himself trustworthy thus far?

We will make it through this…probably not perfectly, but our hope isn’t in our ability to perform well. It is in Jesus alone.

Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of His glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen! (Jude 24)

Go in peace this day. Speak often with the Lord. He is nearer than ever as He does His good work in You:

Now may the God of peace Himself sanctify you completely; and may your whole spirit, soul, and body be preserved blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. He who calls you is faithful, who also will do it. (1 Thessalonians 5:23-24)

Actions

Information

13 responses

1 05 2014
inthepottershands988

Needed this today, Tami! Thank you. I like what you said here, “We will make it through this…probably not perfectly, but our hope is not in our ability to perform well. It is in Jesus alone.” Amen!!

1 05 2014
lessonsbyheart

It’s good to know that you were encouraged. 🙂

I’m learning that God is far more pleased when I continue to press into Him than when I try to ‘gut it out.’ He is our dwelling place, and underneath are the everlasting arms. I can’t fall so far that He is not there to catch me. Now THAT’s Good News!

Have a blessed day. It’s nice to see your posts more often once again. 🙂

\o/

1 05 2014
inthepottershands988

Thanks, Tami. It’s good to be back and reading what God is doing in others’ lives. Be blessed! *hugs*

30 04 2014
worthless_romantic

I just did some strongs on that part in jude a few days ago…you’ll find some interesting things there.

30 04 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, I’ll do that. It brought me to tears when I heard it quoted on Sunday. 🙂

See you Friday? Can’t wait to hear how things are going with you.

\o/

30 04 2014
vonhonnauldt

I’m sorry you’re in a season of difficulty, but, as you’ve pointed out, there are gracious words from the Lord. You quoted from Habakkuk, a man who just couldn’t understand why the Lord was doing what He was doing…. One of my favorite portions from Habakkuk is 3:17, 18, which, one day as I was meditating on it in my daily reading, fell together as a poem: Though the fig tree may not blossom/ nor fruit be on the vine;/Though the harvest of the olive fail,/and food be hard to find;/Though the flock may come to nothing/and no oxen in the stall -/yet I’ll rejoice in Yahweh,/my joy, my God, my all.

God’s best to you, dear sister.

30 04 2014
lessonsbyheart

That’s one of my favorite portions from Habakkuk as well! God is good, we’re seeing growth on many fronts in and around us. It was helpful to remember that the new growth indicates a harvest to come in due season. 😉

Thanks!

\o/

30 04 2014
Marijo Phelps

Beauty out of ashes and fertile soil after being “plowed” – hopefully we learn and grow rather than groan…

30 04 2014
lessonsbyheart

Being aware of the “tiny green shoots” gives great hope of good things – and fruit – to come, doesn’t it?

How you doing? 🙂

\o/

30 04 2014
Marijo Phelps

Doing well – the Lord is giving me piece by piece on health issues and showing improvement all around with this year’s round of doc visits. Am under contract for new book and over 1/2 done writing – how are you doing? rabbits eating my hyacinth leaves…argh.

30 04 2014
lessonsbyheart

Life took a serious left turn, but we are doing well. God is faithful. Glad to hear things are going better for you. 🙂

\o/

30 04 2014
birdieklh

Thanks . . . I find myself chuckling as I read this . . . perfect timing.

30 04 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂 It’s good to have some encouragement from the Lord, isn’t it?

\o/

Your turn!

