Bedazzled!

14 04 2014

The Good News is good news indeed! This last year I discovered something that seemed so amazing that I found it hard to believe. It is this:

The purpose of the death and resurrection of Christ was to restore to you and me the same relationship Adam and Eve enjoyed with God before the fall.

When I first understood this, I thought it had to be heresy. After all, I know myself. I am not a perfect sinless being.

Ah, but that is from a human standpoint. Jesus has a very different view.

Don’t miss these verses from Colossians 1:21-22:

“And you, who once were alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now He has reconciled in the body of His flesh through death, to present you holy, and blameless, and beyond reproach in His sight – if indeed you continue in the faith, grounded and steadfast, and are not moved away from the hope of the gospel…”

(Read just the bold print above…do you see it??)

How is this possible? Can it be true? Let’s go to Hebrews 10:

“Therefore, brethren, having boldness to enter the Holiest by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way which He consecrated for us, through the veil, that is, His fleshand having a High Priest over the house of God, let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water.Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful ” (vs. 19-23).

God said it, but I find it hard to believe. As I stated earlier, I know myself. 1 John 3:20 addresses this issue though:

For if our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and knows all things.”

Somewhere along the way, I picked up the idea that a relationship like this (with God), begins once I die. “Eternal life” begins then, doesn’t it?

Not according to Jesus:

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent.” (John 17:3)

Whooee! It doesn’t get any better than this.

If I am “in Christ,” then eternal life is not something yet to come… I’m living it now!

When there is distance between the Lord and I, it’s because, like Adam, I’ve gone into hiding and attempted to cover myself with sewn-together fig leaves (very itchy, by the way!). No doubt the angels scratch their heads in wonder whenever I do this. “What’s she thinking?” I can hear them ask one another.

The distance is spanned in an instant when I acknowledge my sin and turn back to the Father. (Did you know that the Greek word used when the father ran to welcome his prodigal indicates that he sprinted? “Ran – of those who run in a race course; denoting to incur extreme peril, which it requires the exertion of all one’s effort to overcome.” [From Strongs Lexicon])

You…me…welcome to spend time with our Lord whenever and wherever we want. No shame, no condemnation, we’ve been reconciled, restored, we’re invited to come boldly to the throne of grace…He calls us “friend.”

Wow! From our human vantage point, this is the Crown Jewel…and I am humbled by His generosity.

This beautiful truth has, indeed, left me bedazzled!

Actions

Information

10 responses

15 04 2014
StephenWhoElse

Amen! So many things to rejoice over! Indeed we are not perfected yet, but we are holy and blameless in His sight because He has given us His righteousness through His grace!

No it doesn’t get any better than this 🙂

16 04 2014
lessonsbyheart

Hey! How you doing? I miss everyone here. Life took an unexpected turn, and there isn’t much free time right now.

Today walking home from the mechanic’s shop, the Lord reminded me of the many times the Bible states, “But the time had not yet come,” and “when the time had come.” I don’t even know what I’m supposed to be pursuing…but I do know that it’s not time!

\o/
He is Risen!

16 04 2014
StephenWhoElse

Hey ! Sounds like you just went through some major changes. God is good and He knows what He is doing, just hang in there! Don’t worry about what to do, and when to do it.

I’m in a similar situation – lost my job 10 months ago. No idea what to do. But the word I keep hearing is “Wait”…

Glad to see your posts again 🙂

14 04 2014
Mel Wild

Amen and amen, Tami. Well said! I believe God is upgrading His beloved to a better understanding of who we are in Him. He wants us to learn how to live His life. Jesus seems to think we died and our life is now hidden in Him (Col.3:3). Imagine that! Another interesting thing here, the word, “new” in “new creation (2 Cor.5:17), actually means “a new species.” Jesus was the prototype (Col.1:15), the first of His kind. Adam and Eve didn’t have a sin nature, but they also didn’t have the Holy Spirit living in them. But both are true for us in Christ! Our sin nature was nailed to the Cross and Christ is living in us! Adam and Eve never had that. Now, we just need our minds to be renewed by faith in order to bring the reality of who we really are into our experience. That IS quite bedazzling! Woo-hoo! That’s GOOD news!

14 04 2014
lessonsbyheart

My hope is to write about the Kingdom of God being within us – and all that implies in my next post. These are (surprisingly enough) new ideas for me. Ones I’ve kicked around for the last year, thought I had a grasp of, but wasn’t sure.

Through the Word, and various pastors, I’ve come to see that I’m on the right track. If that’s so, then people need to know this stuff. It’s powerful!

Thanks for your encouragement. I certainly do appreciate it. 🙂

\o/

14 04 2014
nopew

It always impressed me that Jesus changed preaching “The realm of God is nearby” to “You see, the kingdom of God is within you” (Luke 17:21c GW)!
Peace

14 04 2014
lessonsbyheart

Isn’t that just crazy? Hey – you peeked at the next post!

I trust all is well with you, and speak to Abba about you whenever your face shows up here. 🙂

\o/

15 04 2014
nopew

Oops, sorry for stealing your show.
God has shown great care for me (us). My 2 contracts ended in the same week, but I have worked everyday for the last 3 weeks! I am taking Easter weekend off, but could have worked. I should not have let doubt creep in about God’s provision. My job, watching railway machinery – how good is that!
Peace

16 04 2014
lessonsbyheart

That’s fantastic! We’re watching the Lord provide for several of our friends one dollar at a time. It’s a little unsettling for them, but He always comes through! 😉

\o/
He is RISEN!

16 04 2014
nopew

Christ is risen indeed!

Your turn!

