Don’t Make Mine a Medium

17 03 2014

Phew! Life’s been happening around here! Although much of it looks like a mess from a horizontal perspective, we trust that God has everything under control. We’re actually doing well. 😉

Last week’s devotion covered the episode in 1 Samuel 28 where Saul went to Endor to seek the assistance of a medium. He desperately wanted to speak to Samuel. The problem was that Samuel was dead (and none too happy about being called back to earth)!

It’s a bizarre little story. If you’ve never read through 1 and 2 Samuel, the books of Kings or Chronicles, you should. There are all sorts of interesting little stories tucked away in them.

But I digress.

Anyway, the devotion went on to talk about the purpose of a medium. It is to be a mouthpiece to the enemy and his horde.

We hear people do this all the time, and everywhere. It’s sad.

What grieved me, though, was to realize that sometimes these words come through me. 😦

Yes, me. A blood-bought daughter of the Living God. Having been chosen, accepted, adopted, justified, sanctified, glorified, and seated in the heavenlies with Christ Jesus. Oh, and sealed with the Holy Spirit of promise…

I opened my mouth and what popped out was NOT from the Lord, but from the god of this age.

I was his medium.

But, this ought not be. After all, Jesus has called me to be HIS ambassador, accurately representing Him to a lost world…loving people as if He Himself was here.

Check this out:

Let no corrupt word proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers.

Ephesians 4:29

Oh, Lord. I need Your help. Please take control of my mouth. Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord my Strength and my Redeemer. Psalm 19:14

Actions

Information

9 responses

18 03 2014
Dana Bradley

Love the blog on how we have been a medium for the adversary

18 03 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Dana!

18 03 2014
StephenWhoElse

If it weren’t so easy to speak the wrong words, James wouldn’t have warned us about our tongue… !

No wonder we should listen more and talk less!

18 03 2014
lessonsbyheart

The idea that I can (and have been) a medium for the adversary gives me chills. I’ve been chewing on this little tidbit for the past week. Whooee. That led to a new level of repenting, for sure.

\o/

18 03 2014
kingintraining

My own tongue needs quite a tough rein at times!

18 03 2014
lessonsbyheart

I want both my lips pierced, along with my tongue – and one of those barbells they use for tongue piercings to run through all three holes! I’ll bet I’d figure out a workaround, though. {sigh}

\o/

19 03 2014
kingintraining

Haha I ‘ll join you then!

17 03 2014
Pure Glory

To control the tongue is quite a feat. It gets me in trouble when I impulsively burst out something without thinking or listening to the check from Holy Spirit. Working on listening more and speaking less.

18 03 2014
lessonsbyheart

Me too!

\o/

Your turn!

