“In Danger” Species

8 02 2014

If there’s one thing I’ve come to realize about Americans, it is this

In God we do NOT trust!

Look around if you think I’m wrong.

Our cars have airbags and seat belts, we won’t get on a bike without a helmet, knee pads are a must for skating/skateboarding, there are handrails and guardrails everywhere.

We have burglar alarms, gated communities, metal detectors in our schools, and believe the world would be a better place if all the law-abiding citizens turned in their firearms (so only the bad guys would have them).

We avoid danger at all cost – and are insured up to our eyeballs to protect us from financial ruin should something ‘bad’ happen.

Look at the number of companies who exist simply because they’ve incited fear in us. Without their coverage, we feel naked and exposed.

We’ve become addicted to safety. No, let me go one step further and say that safety has become our idol.

Have you traveled by plane lately? What a pain in the neck. I used to travel for work, and I’m thankful that I’m not employed with them anymore because the hoops that one has to jump through to get on board are insane.

I actually had a guard pull a gun on me when I left the boarding area at the airport, walked half-way through the exit area, and then turned around to go get my boarding pass from my husband (which I forgot he was holding for me). Seriously?

We’ve passed countless laws to ensure our safety. How’s that working for us?

Sadly, followers of Jesus are often no different from the rest of the world.

One statement I’ve heard from many preachers is this: “The safest place to be is in the center of God’s will.”

We treat God like some supernatural seat belt that’s supposed to keep us from injury –

– and then get angry with Him when He doesn’t ‘work’ right!

Have you read Hebrews 11 lately? You know, the “Hall of Faith.”

I like the part that reads, “who by faith conquered kingdoms, performed acts of righteousness, obtained promises, shut the mouths of lions, quenched the power of fire, escaped the edge of the sword, from weaknesses were made strong, became mighty in war, put foreign armies to flight, women received back their dead by resurrection…”

Umm hmm…sign me up!

But wait, there’s more:

“Others were tortured, not accepting their release, in order that they might obtain a better resurrection; and others experienced mockings and scourgings, yes, also chains and imprisonment. They were stoned; they were sawn in two; they were tempted, they were put to death with the sword; they went about in sheepskins , in goatskins, being destitute, afflicted, ill treated…wandering in deserts and mountains and caves and holes in the ground.”

Either these folks slipped under God’s radar and He goofed up… or we have gotten off track somewhere along the way.

I don’t think the issue lies with God!

The apostle Paul understood this best, I think. Here’s his resume:

“In everything commending ourselves as servants of God, in much endurance, in afflictions, in hardships, in distresses, in beatings, in imprisonments, in tumults, in labors, in sleeplessness, in hunger…”

or this one:

“I have been on frequent journeys, in dangers from rivers, dangers from robbers, dangers from my countrymen, dangers from the Gentiles, dangers in the city, dangers in the wilderness,dangers on the sea, dangers among false brethren, I have been in labor and hardship, through many sleepless nights, in hunger and thirst, often without food, in cold and exposure. (2 Corinthians 11:26-27)

Paul was one ‘In Danger-ed’ man!

Could it be that we find Christianity boring because we’re playing it safe?

Yeah, the ride could get bumpy, it might get a little sketchy here and there, but we would feel alive!

It is my desire to slide into home plate, worn out, used up and yelling “Woohoo! What a life!!”

Let’s give ourselves completely to God, unencumbered by our safety nets for “just in case” and take a walk on the wild side.

May we follow Jesus into the great unknown, willing to become the “In Danger-ed” generation and LIVE!

Life to the full, baby! Let’s have some fun!!

Actions

Information

14 responses

9 02 2014
cshowers

Amen Tami! Well said. We’re not called to live safe lives, what purpose does that serve? We are called to share the gospel with the lost… What could be more unsafe? Those who are lost don’t want to hear the word… those who are lost live in darkness and hate the light. No one can safely share the gospel with those who are lost. Forget living in safety! Let’s live the life we were called to live — a life that is wrought with danger, just as those who have gone before us showed us how to live!

10 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for your comments, Cheryl. I’m wondering where this is going to lead. I’m not sure, but it will be an adventure, for sure! 🙂

\o/

9 02 2014
Valerie Rutledge

You give us all the courage to be on the front line…you know, where all the danger is!

10 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

9 02 2014
Equipping The Saints

My Sister, Your writings are very consistent with the message of Philipppians 3:10. May our Lord Jesus richly bless you. Pastor/Equipping The Saints.

8 02 2014
nopew

As a Canadian may I say what you write is very daring for an American! It goes against the American dream, prosperity theology and “Safe in the Arms of Jesus” Sunday School thinking.
Seriously, what you write here is the hard truth. Joining Jesus doesn’t give us a room in a vacation resort, but a space on the front lines of the war against evil. I think we have a lot of Christians going AWOL!
I always use the sign off, “Peace”, but here I will amend it this time to “My peace I give to you, but not like a peace the world gives”.

8 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

The more I think about all the types of insurance, the fear of being laughed at and ridiculed, and all the other ways we try to “hedge our bets” it saddens me. We’ve given the appearance that the Lion of the Tribe of Judah is toothless and a sissy. He’s anything but that.

May we reevaluate our safe, boring lives and really live!

I appreciate your sign-off. I’ve seen that God is able to provide such a peace countless times. I’m remembering those times right now to continue strong in the faith while moving into uncharted territory with Abba Father. Peace is always good. 🙂

\o/

8 02 2014
Heidi Viars

It sounds like God is calling you to do something courageous. Thanks for inspiring us to step out in faith, too! Blessings as you obey the Holy Spirit leading you!

8 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

Walking on the wild side with God is the best place to see His power and His glory! 🙂

\o/

8 02 2014
StephenWhoElse

After I read this I was almost inspired to run outside into the rain 🙂 You’re right – if Peter wanted to play it safe, he would have realised his insurance didn’t cover drowning by attempting to walk on water ! What an exhilarating experience it must have been for him to throw caution to the wind and just get out of the boat!

Great encouragement!

8 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Stephen. Our God is not *safe* but He is *good* (to borrow from C. S. Lewis in The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe!).

\o/

8 02 2014
Pure Glory

Tami, go for all the danger of living a faith filled life in the danger zone! I’m with you for not playing it safe, The only safe place is following Holy Spirit and getting out into the deep.

8 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂 I don’t want to stand on the sidelines telling everyone how “brave” I am…I want to gather up my sling, some stones, and get to it!

\o/

8 02 2014
Pure Glory

😀

Your turn!

