Are You On Hold?

6 02 2014

In every life will come a time of confinement…many times, in fact. It’s not pleasant. It’s dark, silent, and life seems to be passing you by.

Do not despise them. They are an important and necessary stage of our development.

Think of the caterpillar, happily going through life eating and…well…you know!

Then one day he thinks to himself, “I know. I think I’ll wrap myself up in a tight little container and hang out here for a while.

(Yes, I realize that they don’t really think like that.)

Suddenly, he thinks he’s made a terrible mistake. What was he thinking? He can’t move, and can neither hear nor see anything.

My life is over. I’ll be here forever.

In a way, he’s right.

Life as he knew it is finished. Things will never be the same.

One day, he begins to struggle against his bonds and – to his amazement – he hears a crackling sound.

Encouraged, he moves a little more and, for the first time in a long time, sees the light of day.

Wiggling and squirming, he makes his way out of his prison.

But…

oh, my! Where are all my legs? What are these wet things clinging to my body?

Those will be – if he is patient – the wings with which he flies.

Not yet, though.

Some time must pass. They must be allowed to dry and unfurl before they can be used.

Forced open before their time, his wings will tear…

…and be useless.

After while, having spent time soaking up the sun’s rays and his wings no longer a sodden mess, he spreads them out, gives them a flutter, and lifts off into  the beautiful sky.

In the same way, we will find ourselves in what seems to be a straight jacket. We are unable to move.

Life as we know it is about to change.

At last things begin to lighten up, and we are able to wriggle free of our bonds.

If we try to “fly” at this point, we may inflict damage that will hinder us.

Instead, we must spend some time soaking in the Son and allow Him to prepare us for the new season He has in store for us.

“Be still and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10)

In His time, He will lift us up and send us out to meet our destiny.

Are you in this place of waiting right now? Do you wonder if you’ve done something wrong, or if you’ve disqualified yourself?

Relax. Rest. Trust in the Lord. His plans for you far exceed anything you’ve imagined thus far!

You’re not on hold. You’re in His grip…

…and that’s the best place to be!

PS  Unlike a caterpillar, you will probably go through this process several times during your walk with the Lord. Every time, you come out transformed more and more into the image of Christ. 🙂

Actions

Information

20 responses

8 02 2014
Messenger At The Crossroads

This winter has been one of those spaces of solitude and confinement. Yet without it, many realizations and growth in the Lord would not have occurred. Appreciated your reminders on this.

8 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

God is good to us. We’re never dumped and forgotten by Him (Philippians 1:6). I’m thankful for His incredible patience as He trains us in the way we should go. 🙂

\o/

7 02 2014
Susan Irene Fox

I’m definitely in one of those pastures now, awaiting for my time to fly. I am confident that His timing and plan is always greater than mine. (His patience is always better, too.)

8 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

Every day *my* plans are being interrupted and I only accomplish a fraction of what I had on my plate. It’s a time of being trained to rest in the confidence that God is in control. I wish I could say that I’m always at perfect peace and moving through the days graciously.

I hope I learn this soon, for I have a feeling that it won’t stop until I do! 🙂

\o/

7 02 2014
gailmanizak

Great word, great reminder to be thankful in all seasons, knowing that “ALL things work together for the good to those that love the Lord and are called according to His purpose”. It was good for me to read this this morning, I feel as though I am on hold now and waiting to fly again. TY for posting this word.

7 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome. The anticipation of where we’ll go with the Lord next is exciting, isn’t it? 🙂

\o/

7 02 2014
nopew

Wonderfully presented. But doesn’t the way God works “bug” you sometimes 🙂 ?
Peace

7 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

As a matter of fact, yes! 🙂

\o/

7 02 2014
Natasha

Tamme your words are such an encouragement to me! I am so blessed to have connected with you! BTW, I heard the sermon last night! Fantastic word…. I look forward to hearing the audios every week…. Blessings and love to you dear friendxxx

7 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

I’m glad you enjoyed it.:)

In Psalm 23, David wrote, “He makes me lie down in green pastures.” Did you note the plural?

As His sheep, He leads us to “feed” from many places…and from many sources – books, podcasts, etc. It helps us get a balanced diet!

\o/

6 02 2014
Equipping The Saints

Your post is very thought provoking. Please consider Philippians 3:10. In Facing The Giants, Coach Grant Taylor asked his wife, who could not conceive, “If God doesn’t give us children, will you praise Him?” Phil 3:10 covers the vast horizon of the ups and downs of life, During the down times, can we still worship God “in spirit and in truth,” with that meaning, “all of us for all of Him.” These passages relate very closely to the intimacy of John 17:3.
Philippians 3:10, “That I might know Him.”
Pastor/Equipping The Saints

7 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

Facing the Giants is a great movie. I’ve had to learn to praise the Lord in the face of great adversity…and through a ten-year period of having my mind renewed by Jesus.

There was a year when we had nothing but beans and rice to eat for my family of six. At the end of six months, the bags were empty…and so was our bank account. The Lord asked if He could have a go at it. For the next six months the pictures of food I had taped in my fridge, freezer, and pantry were replaced by food people shared with us. Our neighbors began to have the craziest things happen – a broken down freezer and food that would have gone to waste; an excessive amount of food purchased and no where to put it; gardens that went nuts and produced far more than they could use. These were all offered to us (and so much more).

As a result, I would wake up in the morning and say, “Lord, I don’t know what Your’re bringing for dinner tonight, but I know that You are, so I want to thank You for Your provision.” We didn’t miss a meal during that time.

It’s been things like this – and a trip to the women’s refuge followed by being delivered from my abusive husband – along with countless other things that have taught me that God is faithful.

As a result, if He’s not doing things the way I want, or in the timing that I want, I’m good with that, for He’s patiently taught me that all things do indeed work together for good to those who love Him.

My heart overflows with love for my Abba Father, and I want so much for others to know Him in such a personal way. I do not know how people can live without Him!

\o/

7 02 2014
Equipping The Saints

Thank you for your testimony. It is amazing. I also knew a family who needed food There were six children plus the two parents. They did not make their need known to anyone. Anyway,
they received a bag of groceries on their back porch one day. They have always been very giving to others, and the parents are also foster parents. I would like for you to consider the last line of James 5:16. “Effectual,, fervent prayer.”
When we have such a prayer life, and if we don’t see things happening as quickly as we would like, then we should also consider the benefit that we have had with close and intimate communion with our loving, heavnly Father. He’ll still “take care of the rest.” I wish that I could know more about your ministry. I am sure that you bless many people through your ministry. Many blessings to you, Philippians 3:10, Pastor/Equipping The Saints

8 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

I’ve learned some wonderful lessons about effectual fervent prayer. There’s a series on this blog that begins with “You Need To Read This”. It tells of how God infused me with prayer to believe for my son-in-love.

He is currently taking classes at our church to be a preacher. God is amazing! I’m watching the promises He gave me five years ago come to pass (without my help, I might add! only prayer)..

At the moment, you’re looking at my ministry. The Lord just moved us to a different congregation in town and I am “on hold” while He teaches me the things I’ll need for the next season.

In the meantime, I’m composing music and having the time of my life. I’ll be posting the songs when we finish recording them. This is a desire I’ve had since childhood, and decided that I’d have to wait until heaven for them to come to pass.

Suddenly God stepped in and opened the way for me to get the education and lessons I needed to be able to fulfill this dream.

I live for today, with great anticipation of where He will place me next. 🙂

\o/

8 02 2014
gailmanizak

Thankful how God does give us the desires of our hearts in His season. Grateful your desires are being fulfilled.now. Awesome, giving the Lord praise for all He does in our lives.

8 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

Amen and amen! 🙂

\o/
Praising Jesus who gives us desires in our hearts – and then fulfills them in His time. Mmm. Gotta’ love Him!

8 02 2014
Equipping The Saints

Please rest assured that God will continue to move you, as He considers it to be needed. You are a willing servant. He “will” use you to a part of His plan. Many blessings to you.

8 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks again for your encouragement. 🙂

\o/

6 02 2014
Greg Poppy

I love your prose in this lesson!

7 02 2014
lessonsbyheart

Mahalo and aloha! 🙂

\o/

Your turn!

