Woohoo! Got ‘er Done!

22 01 2014

Hi, everyone!

Thanks for bearing with me. Since mid-November I’ve been taking a course in music theory. By the grace of God alone, I was able to complete over 900 pages of text (a 2-year college course), complete with about 350 pages of hand-written notes in that time. (I’ve tried to take theory courses in college – and had to drop out every time. I just couldn’t understand the concepts.)

Needless to say, it’s been a time-consuming undertaking, but that phase is behind me now. Next is ear-training and hands-on instrumental instruction. You should see me doing the “happy dance!”

Beginning later this week, I should be back to regular posts. There is so much to tell you concerning the Lord. I can’t wait!

Oh, and in the near future I’ll be posting some new songs (and old songs with a new sound). God is good! This has been a dream of mine since childhood. With so many decades between then and now, I’d resigned myself tot he fact that music would have to wait for heaven. I’m excited to discover that songwriting won’t be for the ‘forever life’ alone, after all!

What about you? Is there an old dream that you’ve given up on? Don’t. God is full of surprises! You never know where He is going to lead you.

Psalm 37:4 reads, “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you (plant within you – and later fulfill in you*) the desires of your heart.” He is faithful to complete the work He’s begun (Phil. 1:6)…even in this! (*my addition)

I appreciate your patience, and faithfulness despite my on-again, off-again posts.

You rock!

Love and big hugs –

Tami

\o/

Praising Jesus who gives me many reasons to sing!

Actions

Information

30 responses

28 01 2014
kingintraining

Congratulations! 🙂

28 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks. I’m happy to be done with Phase 1. 🙂

\o/

27 01 2014
StephenWhoElse

Awesome!! and yes, I do have a dream and I’m slowly taking steps to realize it – God wiling 🙂

27 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂 Step by step, inch by inch, we move ever so slowly toward that which we are called to do. I’m thankful that the process takes a while. It gives us a chance to be transformed in secret – instead of publicly for all to see. 😉

Godspeed is, indeed, the best speed!

\o/

27 01 2014
StephenWhoElse

Amen! 🙂

22 01 2014
nopew

I delight in watching God shape the clay into new forms, or just re-decorating! May you bless and be blessed with music and spirit.
Peace

23 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

Aw, thanks. God is good to us, isn’t He? 🙂

\o/

22 01 2014
Kari Anne Dorstad

Praise God for you accomplishment. I will pray for you.

22 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Kari. Prayer is always appreciated! 🙂

\o/

22 01 2014
Mary

Congratulations Tami on fulfilling your dream! According to Psalm 37:4, I shall fulfill mine – I’ve come too far to quit now 🙂 I got an editor and we’re working on my Book Proposal 😉

22 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

That’s exciting! Did you see my post about the fellow who’s looking for authors who will read his book and then write a review for him? If not, it’s just a few posts back. Might be useful for you. 🙂

\o/

23 01 2014
Mary

Hey thanks Tami. Hadn’t seen his post, but I will definitely look it over 🙂

23 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

22 01 2014
Michael

Tami, that’s wonderful that you’re fulfilling a dream in your life. God (is) bless(ing) you (richly)! 😉

22 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

Oh, you know it! I’ve begun re-working some of the old hymns…giving them a fresh sound. It is fun to work with songs that have such rich substance. 🙂

\o/

23 01 2014
Michael

Nothing like the hymns, so full of the word and good theology. Bless you!

23 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

Wait til you hear “Just As I Am!” We used to sing that song through a dozen times on Sunday in hopes that someone would come forward. It definitely needs a new sound!

\o/

23 01 2014
Michael

Can’t wait! Churches are waiting for your rendition already!

22 01 2014
kellyjdrummer

Back in the day, I went to art college. I have been an artistic guy and drummer since forever. I dropped out of college due to me wanting to eat to stay alive, but it didn’t grab me the ay I as hoping it would. I should have gone to music school. Good for you.

22 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

Yeah, I don’t have the patience for a classroom setting. I’ve tried before. Instead I got a really good music teacher and a fantastic set of books from which to study. I can’t wait to see what the Lord is up to!

\o/

22 01 2014
Pure Glory

Congratulations Tami on completing that music theory class and conquering it! Looking forward to your new posts.

22 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

Thanks! Tomorrow will be a very different day without several hours of studying. I won’t know what to do with myself!

\o/

23 01 2014
Pure Glory

Enjoy the God given rest! :0)

22 01 2014
mwitasblog

Hi Tami, welcome back! This post is a great encouragement to me. I also always wanted to learn music, but for many reasons I gave it up – to wait for heaven. Probably this will encourage me to take it up once again.

22 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

That’s fantastic. The Lord surely does love a new song – and the old ones, too! Let me know how you’re doing. 🙂

\o/

22 01 2014
mwitasblog

I am still somwhere in the bush… will let you know once I get back to ‘civilization’

22 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

Okay – meantime, warm up the ol’ pipes. Nowhere like the bush to rock out!

\o/

22 01 2014
mwitasblog

Ha! ha!.. Most likely drums here!

23 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂

Praying for your safety during your treck through the bush!

\o/

24 01 2014
mwitasblog

Thank you!

Your turn!

