Life and Death

11 11 2013

Death and life are in the power of the tongue.

-Proverbs 18:21

We can speak life to one another…

…or with our words we can murder another’s heart.

Ephesians 4:29 instructs us to let nothing corrupt come out of our mouths, but only what is good for necessary edification (i.e. builds up), that it may impart grace to the hearers.

What a concept in today’s “Sitcom Humor” world, eh?

I’d like to challenge each of us to begin every day with this request:

“Lord, speak through me.”

I’m going to write this phrase on stickers and place them where they are easily seen:

On my bathroom mirror

On my laptop

On my phone, and

On my steering wheel for starters.

Can we try this for just one week? Then would you be so kind as to report back? I’d love to hear how God uses this simple request to bring life to those with whom we make contact.

Be open…it may be someone we see at the store, a customer where we work, a child who is acting up…or the parent of that child!

Let’s not forget to begin in our own homes!

Here’s to giving the gift of life to others!

Actions

Information

19 responses

13 11 2013
kingintraining

Love it Tami, I take on the challenge! šŸ˜€

13 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

Cool. Let me know what how God uses you to speak light and life to others!

\o/

11 11 2013
Ann

Ouch! I have not been very kind with my words lately and know that is because I have some heart issues that need to be dealt with but He’s not finished with me yet šŸ™‚ I’ve been praying to “put a guard over my mouth” but think I will give yours a try…more positive. Blessings to you!

12 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

I memorized that entire Psalm after using my mouth in a most godless way. The damage is done, a high price is being paid. There are grandchildren I may not see again this side of glory as a result. šŸ˜¦ Our tongues can be so deadly.

Yeah, I like this more positive approach, too. It’s fun to see folks perk up when they’re given encouragement!

\o/

11 11 2013
nopew

James wrote, “Who can control the tongue?” Then he suggests we put a bridle on it. If God holds the reins that sounds like a good idea!
Peace

12 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

That’s a great way to put it! šŸ™‚

\o/

11 11 2013
melwild

Amen. I think I need to post this around me too! And why is it that we think there is a third option for using our tongue…you know, it’s for blessing and cursing…and then there’s just talking? And thanks for the nudge to be a blessing to those around me too. šŸ™‚

11 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hmm. Good point. An idle, unattended tongue is sort of like an idling, unattended self-propelling lawn mower, isn’t it? šŸ˜‰

\o/

11 11 2013
melwild

How true. And a great graphic of this reality! We tend to “mow” people over with it!

Btw, I once asked the Holy Spirit a few years ago to remind me whenever I started to judge people. About noon that same day, after having been reminded about 200 times, I begged Him to stop! šŸ™‚

Getting my post-it notes together now…

11 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for that confession. I don’t feel so alone now! šŸ˜‰

\o/

11 11 2013
Anna Bachinsky

Love this Tami. If we only use every word we say to bless and encourage others we would save people from much un-needed pain and suffering that comes from gossip and hurtful words.

11 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yeah. I’d like to be less responsible for the necessity of mental help for others! šŸ˜‰

\o/

11 11 2013
Deena Siddle

Wouldn’t be great if we all would open our mouths when God tugs at our hearts without stopping to think first, “what will they think of me?” Maybe it is just me that is guilty of not following the pull or the leading of God’s will in my life out of fear. I pray surrender all Lord. Thank you.

11 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

Amen!

\o/

11 11 2013
shoutingthemessage

It is so true. The tongue is the hardest part of us to control! Thank you for all of your Godly posts!

11 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

This will be a fun week, I think. My prayer is that the words that come out of my mouth will be from God’s heart…and not mine! Oh, and that my heart will become more like His. Then the words won’t be such a problem. šŸ˜‰

{you’re welcome!}

\o/

11 11 2013
thislagosgirl

Amen. Will sure report back.

11 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

Great! I look forward to your report. šŸ™‚

\o/

11 11 2013
Unshakable Hope

AMEN!

Your turn!

