A Treasure Hunt With Jesus

30 10 2013

“Healing is a response to a crisis in the life of another person. It’s enough of a response, a satisfactory response to a crisis in the life of another.

“And whenever the word crisis is used in the Greek New Testament, it is translated in English as judgment. That’s right – judgment.

“Healing is a response that I make to a decisive moment in the life of [another]; whether I respond or not, I have made a judgment.

“Every day we are afforded opportunities to pass on to others what we have received from the Lord: namely His unconditional love and acceptance of me as I am, not as I should be.

“He loves me whether in a state of grace or disgrace, whether I live up to the lofty expectations of the gospel or I don’t. He comes to me where I live and loves me as I am.” (Brennan Manning, The Furious Longing of God, p. 82)

I find it interesting to realize that someone else’s crisis causes me to make a judgment.

After I’ve heard their story (assuming that I didn’t dismiss them as “worthless” and ignore them altogether), I mentally evaluate the person and then pass judgment based on several things: their appearance, their fault in the matter, their value as a person, and my resources.

If they are clean enough, appear to be the victim – not the perpetrator – are “productive” in society, and it won’t take much time. I judge them worthy of my time and extend a hand. My involvement brings healing to them.

However, if they’re dirty, have “brought their problems on themselves,” and a vagabond, or their life is an utter mess…that’s another story. I judge them to be hopeless and quickly move on.

As I said in “Ministry that Matters:”

In this way, I have never been less Christ-like.

The question becomes:

“How do I obtain the mind of Christ concerning the unlovely?”

It begins with a simple request from the Father: “Lord, would you give me Your heart for the lost, the broken, the downtrodden from every walk of life?”

In James 4:2b-3 we read, “You do not have because you do not ask. You ask and do not receive, because you ask amiss, that you may spend it on your pleasures.”

When we make this petition, the answer will be “yes,” for “God is not willing that any should perish…” Our request is in line with His will, therefore it will be granted.

Then, as we drive around town we need to take notice of people around us. Soon you’ll notice someone who keeps coming into your line of view. Give them a descriptive name (one of mine is “the drunk in Old Sac.” Another is “the sad lady in K-Mart.”), that will help you remember the person.

This isn’t our evaluation of the person – just a way to identify them as we pray for them.

The Lord already knows their name – and their story.

When our attention is drawn to a person, we would be wise to believe that there is a reason…often that reason is nothing more than to whisper a prayer for them.

The “drunk” was a fellow we saw being picked up by ambulance when on vacation. It is unlikely that I’ll ever see him again.

There’s also the “mumbler.” I frequently see him around town. I got to meet him one evening after praying for him for a couple of years. I asked for his first name so “the next time I talk to Jesus about you, I’ll know what to call you.”

The extent of my involvement with these people is prayer.

I can’t “fix” their lives…but I know the One who can!

If life seems monotonous, ask the Lord to give you His heart for the lost, the broken, the outcast. He will!

Soon every emergency vehicle’s siren will be an opportunity to pray.

You’ll notice the people in other cars at intersections…and your heart will be broken to realize that not one of them knows Jesus…and you will pray.

The sad woman at the store will be touched that you noticed her pain and asked if you could pray for her.

Go ahead – ask for His heart for others.

I double-dare you.

You’re about to embark on a grand adventure…

…You were made for such a time as this!

(To be continued…)

Actions

Information

5 responses

5 11 2013
Kathleen

Tami, I know StephenWhoElse nominated you for the Liebster Award and that you are an Award Free Blog, BUT! As I look at it, it’s really just a game. We want to encourage you and value your writing and perspective. It would be fun to see the answers to the questions in the “game.” If you decide to not participate, just know that you are appreciated 🙂 I linked your site to my post on the Liebster anyway, like Stephen I let others know you are an award free site. Blessings!

6 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Kathleen. I love the awards – just lack the time to fulfill the requirements. I’ll answer the questions when I get the chance, but have too much going on to do the rest. Thanks for thinking of me! 🙂

\o/

31 10 2013
Peg

Thanks for this encouragment Tami. One of my frequent prayers is for God to give me a passion for the lost and hurting. And then to put feet to my passion. Blessings on your day!

30 10 2013
Julie Garro

Prayer is powerful. We can at least do that…. Great post.

30 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

It’s a great place to start, that’s for sure. If we keep taking the same person before the Lord, He begins to show us things about them…and shows them to us through His eyes.

I’ve experienced this – and it totally revolutionized my desire to pray for others. 🙂

\o/

Your turn!

