Knocking Knees

28 10 2013

First posted on Steve Austin’s blog, Grace is Messy

***********

Oh boy. Here it is…your big chance to share your testimony!

What are they going to think if I tell them about Jesus?

That’s a great place to stop and ask yourself, “Who am I?”

If you answer anything other than:

“the blood-bought son/daughter of the Lord Most High. I was chosen before the foundation of the world. I’ve been accepted, adopted, redeemed, justified, sanctified, glorified, and am seated in the heavenlies in Christ Jesus. I have the Holy Spirit as the Seal of Promise that I belong to the Lord,”

then sharing your testimony is going to feel risky. Your reputation is on the line.

They might call you a “Jesus Freak.”

Oh no!

Worse…they might not like you.

What then?

On the flip-side – they might be the one who gazes at you with a hurt look of “Why didn’t you tell me?” as they are sent from the Lord’s presence …forever.

Do we truly believe what the Bible has to say about heaven and hell?

I think we would all do well to meditate on Revelation 19-22. By this I mean put ourselves into the story. See the sights. Smell the smells, Imagine the look on each face. Gaze into the Lake of Fire for a minute. Imagine an eternity without hope:

A location where people are no longer kind, what’s the point? Where there is no compassion, no caring, no “random acts of kindness” – no love.

The illusion of working their way into “God’s good graces” has been shattered. There is no reason to reach out to anyone…

…and no one will reach out to them…

…ever again.

Misery will not love company there.

Dwell on that sense of utter hopelessness for a bit, and you’ll feel your knees begin to strengthen. Consider people you know and care about spending forever like that.

Their anger at us for sharing Jesus seems a small thing by comparison when viewed from this perspective, doesn’t it?

We need to take to heart what Paul said in Philippians 2: “Let this mind be in you which was in Christ Jesus…who made Himself of no reputation.”

He wasn’t interested in popularity polls. He didn’t mince words with the religious who thought they had it made. He shot straight with those who thought themselves disqualified because of their pasts. He spoke without concern of what others thought about Him.

This despite the fact that what they believed about Him mattered a great deal.

Do you know that

We are not the Savior?

To hold us in high esteem will gain no one entry into heaven.

Oh, that we would grasp this truth.

What people think about us is of no eternal value when it comes to salvation. Yet, we cling to our reputations like the filthy rags they are.

The people we meet are POWs. They’ve been brainwashed into believing that God is the enemy.

We are the Green Berets of the Lord’s army assigned the task of showing them the way out of the adversary’s clutches.

Shall we fail in our mission because of our knocking knees?

Actions

Information

16 responses

15 01 2014
godcrazzzy

True. My knees not only knock at times they play a beat so loud the person may hear and run before I can even say “hi”. So I developed a new strategy that keeps my knees apart so they can hardly play a tune. I’m getting better at it. Smile.
Good post

16 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

🙂

How are things in your neck of the woods?

\o/

16 01 2014
godcrazzzy

We are ok. me and the family good. Giving thanks for life and all. Smile. And you?

16 01 2014
lessonsbyheart

We’re in a brand new season here. Not sure what the Lord’s plan is, but so long as He is leading, all is good!

\o/

16 01 2014
godcrazzzy

Sounds all too familiar. Oh boy. Do I know what you mean.

28 10 2013
Marijo Phelps

We who know Jesus have nothing to lose – a friend or relative who doesn’t know Him has everything to lose if we keep silent… GO GIRL!!

28 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks Marijo. Everything okay in your world?

\o/

28 10 2013
Marijo Phelps

Battling with blood sugar issues but I think our Lord is giving me wisdom…
Otherwise things are good! THANKS

28 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Sorry to hear that. We’re doing the same thing on this end for hubby. Don’t you wish we came with a dash and gauges so we could tell what was needed?? 🙂

\o/

28 10 2013
Marijo Phelps

Oh, yah – if I get anymore austere in my eating I will have to QUIT (eating). and my cholesterol came down 20% while the A1C went up to 7.4…. not sure how that worked…

28 10 2013
YRB

Loving what you say about being “POW’s” here below. Let us never forget the reality of “war in the heavenlies”, but that there it THE WAY out.

28 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Love that Way! 🙂

\o/

28 10 2013
myatheistlife

Well, I have to say this, if this:

“the blood-bought son/daughter of the Lord Most High. I was chosen before the foundation of the world. I’ve been accepted, adopted, redeemed, justified, sanctified, glorified, and am seated in the heavenlies in Christ Jesus. I have the Holy Spirit as the Seal of Promise that I belong to the Lord,”

is what you think you are, you are so far beyond reason that nobody should listen to you.

28 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

I agree. Don’t listen to me. Ask Jesus to talk directly to you. He’s longing for that very thing! 🙂

\o/

28 10 2013
Tony

Well Said

29 10 2013
kingintraining

Amen Tami 🙂

Your turn!

