Unexpected Bends in the Road

12 10 2013

We had an expensive summer. Looking at the budget, the one thing that was a “luxury” was my voice lessons. It seemed that I would have to let go of my dream again.

With a heavy heart, that Wednesday I gave a two-week notice to my voice coach. I said that I’d reschedule when I got a job.

“A job?” I thought? I hadn’t really thought about getting one. Our finances didn’t require that I do so. “Where did that come from?” 

On my way home, I toyed with the idea of contacting some of the local employment agencies. Maybe I’d do it on Monday.

The next morning, I received a call from an old friend.

“Tami, I’ve been caring for my mom. She’s become too much for me to handle alone. Every time I think about getting someone to help, your name comes to mind. I thought I’d give you a call and see if you’re interested in a job.”

I laughed and told her about my conversation with my voice coach on the previous afternoon.

“If you’d asked me yesterday morning, I would have given you some great referrals, but turned you down. In light of that conversation, I’d say that I’m supposed to work for you! When do you want me to start?”

We discussed the particulars, then she asked, “Your next phone call is going to be to schedule voice lessons for next month, right?”

With a giggle, I said, “You know it!”

On Monday, I began the first job I’ve had in over a decade. The sweet Christian lady I serve is a delight. She doesn’t speak much, but when she smiles, you can see Jesus through her. I love being with her and her daughter.

Because of this “godsend,” I have earned enough money to get a pick-up installed in Grace (my 12-string) so I can use the guitar in more venues. I’ve also earned enough to pay for six months of guitar lessons – and piano as well. In a couple of weeks, I’ll be able to buy my own microphone, a sustain pedal for my keyboard, and an amplifier.

In the meantime, I have the joy of traveling through the Valley of the Shadow with these two women. Jesus’ presence is tangible most days. I love it.

However, it brings back memories of the last month of my mom’s life. That’s hard some days. Jesus is using this time to heal some of my hurt from her passing and teaching me new things about Himself.

However, the five hours spent away from home have taken a bit of a toll on my writing, reading and responding to blogs. If you’re not hearing from me as often, now you know why!

I’m not sure where the Lord is leading me, but I’m excited that His plans for me include music. That has been my greatest desire and gives me an immense amount of joy.

I’ve begun to write songs again…my voice coach (and the family who comes behind me) really like them. That is encouraging. I feared that this would have to wait until heaven.

Now I’m not so sure.

Don’t look for me on the “Top Forty” list…I don’t believe that’s where I’m headed (thank You, Lord!). But I sense a new season. I’m excited and wonder what’s coming next.

At the very least, I’ll be able to lead worship better in the future. Before this job, I did this at least five times per week. They’ll certainly appreciate the improvements…and so will I!

What dream did you have when you were younger? Have you given up on it altogether? Why not ask the Lord if He planted that desire in your heart for heaven…or here on earth?

Age isn’t a factor when it comes to the Lord:

Abraham and Sarah were 100 and 90 when Isaac was born.

Moses was 80 when he became the leader of the Israelites.

Caleb was 85 when he defeated the giants and claimed his territory in Israel.

Zacharias and Elizabeth were “advanced in years” when she gave birth to John the Baptist.

You’re not too old to fulfill the desire God gave you. He put it there for a reason…He has a plan for you that didn’t expire when you turned 40!

Maybe it’s time we dusted off those old dreams

and showed the world what an old Spirit-filled geezer can do!

Grab your walker and join me. I’ll race you to the top!

Actions

Information

37 responses

9 11 2013
sagescenery

I’m working part-time for the last two years, after being retired for 10 years…so I can relate to everything you said in this post! God dropped this job right in my lap, too! God Bless!

10 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

Isn’t it neat when He does that. Had Karen called me the day before I’d have turned her down.

As it turned out, I knew that this was an invitation from Him…and it confirmed to both my husband and I that music is what I am to pursue right now. Why remains to be seen, but even if my studies merely get me out of music theory 101 in Heaven, I’ll be thrilled!

Thankfully, I’m “retired” once again. My last job ended successfully, with my patient safely delivered to Jesus. 😉

\o/

11 11 2013
sagescenery

Job well done…good and faithful servant! Amen!

6 11 2013
Chrystal

Thanks for the reminder about all the “old” people in the Bible fulfilling God’s purpose. Yes, I have been wondering WHY I’m just now beginning to see what His Plan is for me…worrying that I blew it because I wasn’t ready/didn’t see it/disobeyed/whatever. So just what I needed to hear…..Good luck with your music.

6 11 2013
lessonsbyheart

I was feeling the same way. These messages inspire me to toss aside my walker and get to work! 🙂

\o/

14 10 2013
Anna Bachinsky

That’s right! Dreams have no expiration date when God is involved. Sometimes He puts that dream in our heart when we are young (like Joseph) and allows it to be fulfilled later down the road. May He bless your journey and guide you in fulfilling that dream of yours Tami. Be blessed!

14 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Isn’t He cool? 🙂

\o/

14 10 2013
vonhonnauldt

Walker is oiled-up and ready to go!

14 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Awesome! 🙂

\o/

13 10 2013
natashlim73

Great and encouraging post!!! His ways and timing are perfect!!

13 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Aren’t they though? Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

\o/

13 10 2013
pastorpete51

That is so encouraging. It is a blessing to hear about how God takes care of our dreams in His way!

13 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

He is amazing in His goodness to us. 🙂

\o/

13 10 2013
Julie Garro

God’s plan and timing are perfect. Great story. Blessings to you!

13 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Godspeed is the best speed, isn’t it?

\o/

13 10 2013
Julie Garro

Yes, the very best! Have a blessed Sunday!

12 10 2013
jesuslikespizza

Glory!

13 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hallelujah and amen! 🙂

\o/

12 10 2013
shadeakinbiyi

Beautiful testimony! God is good. Enjoy the new season. Bless you :).

12 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, I will. God is good indeed. Here I was getting ready to settle in to old age with some Geritol and my cane…then God came along and stirred things up a bit!

\o/

12 10 2013
Sammy

Great testimony, thanks for sharing it. God bless

12 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Great God! Thanks for reading. 🙂

\o/

12 10 2013
Heidi Viars

what a wonderful reminder … maybe before finding our sweet-spot in life we need to travel through some bitter places first … making those sweet-spots even more enjoyable 🙂

12 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

I certainly appreciate them more…after three decades of waiting. 😉

\o/

12 10 2013
Michael

This line: “You’re not too old to fulfill the desire God gave you. He put it there for a reason…He has a plan for you that didn’t expire when you turned 40!”

The story: I was just outside mouthing off, grumbling and complaining, giving God an earful. In fact, this week I’ve been doing a little of that. Well I came in, settled down, looked to read from the Reader. I saw this entry, but then decided not to read, so I just scrolled down to get the gist. Then, that line, expressive of so much I’m pissed about.

Oh, I just turned 40.

12 10 2013
worthless_romantic

I feel you Michael,
I just turned 40. My finances are shot. I’m in a job I hate, I haven’t had a girlfriend in 7 years, I never had children, I’m fat, I smoke, I this, I that, I royally screwed up my life, bottom line. There are many things I could complain about. Like the $8 that is supposed to last me another week, or the seeming promises that I’ve received from the Lord that He must have forgot about. The only thing I can rely on is God…let’s see where that leads. God is not dead, He is surely alive. He won’t abandon us.

12 10 2013
Michael

My goodness–are we long-lost brothers? Your woes sound exactly like mine–and I mean exactly! (I can’t believe you mentioned some things you did!) But I’ll never forsake the Lord. “Thou he slay me, yet will I trust him!” I’m gonna remember you in prayer, WR. Thanks!

12 10 2013
worthless_romantic

They aren’t woes. Imagine being in this situation without Jesus and the Bible. With no remedy or path to take from here. With no hope or future these are the things that cause men to become bitter, violent, or suicidal. We are crushed but not destroyed. Right now these are things that God is using to show his power in me. I get it when Paul says, “So I will glory in my weakness” because then God’s strength can take over. One day the fruit will come because I’ve been planted by the rivers of water. In it’s season it will come.

13 10 2013
Michael

Amen.

13 10 2013
Kari Anne Dorstad

I will pray for you. I’m fat I just turned 50, my parents have guardianship over me because I’m a mentally ill veteran with a history of psychotic episodes. It is what it is. The good news is that Jesus loves us just as we are. Oh and i forgot to add I’v been unmarried for almost 30 years. I guess that makes me something like an old maid. Financial issues get better when we just keep doing the next best thing.I was 25,000 in dept twelve years ago. I thought i would be doomed for life. As for you , you have a beautiful heart for the Lord and thats more valuable then anything in this world.

12 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

{whispers, “Happy Birthday”}

It seems like everyone has a birthday they hate. Mine was 32…when I first knew how OLD my mom was. 😉 That was twenty plus years ago!

Complaining to God is the best way to handle it – as opposed to complaining to everyone else. I love that He has shoulders broad enough to take it without feeling the need to slap us down.

I’m looking forward to hearing what the Lord does in and through you in the coming year. Be patient, for it surely will come.

Glad you got to meet WR. He’s part of our family. We’ve known him for several years and watched the Lord transform him in many amazing ways.

Woohoo! for the final statement each of you made concerning your current life and its struggles. Apart from Jesus, I don’t know where I’d be.

By the way. thirty years ago I put away all my musical stuff. I’m basically starting from scratch this year. I’ve forgotten more than I ever knew. It will be interesting to see what the Lord has in mind.

In the meantime, my goals are certainly more in line with His. I’m not looking for a platinum albums, concerts, and a huge fan base this time around…just want to make the name of Jesus known, wherever He calls me to serve.

To be honest, I’d have made a public train wreck of my life if He’d let me live out those desires when I was younger. As it is, I made a train wreck of it anyway…at least I didn’t publicly drag His name through the mud. I’m so thankful that He had me on “hold.” 🙂

Caleb made 85 the new 40. That means you’re about…what…20? Take heart, dear brother.

\o/

12 10 2013
Elizabeth Yalian

Very inspirational, Tami. With my back injury I already feel like I am 80 sometimes so I will fit right in!

12 10 2013
Elizabeth Yalian

P.S. Needed to read this as I am feeling like my road is getting pretty bent this weekend but not in a positive way like yours.

12 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Just wait…your left turn is coming up!

\o/

12 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Cool! 🙂

\o/

12 10 2013
Elizabeth Yalian

I am happy for you that God is answering your dreams while on earth and that you don’t have to wait till Heaven! It’s always so exciting when God sends us messages then confirms them through others so that there is no question that it was him. I wish you lots of singing and music. I know for me music isn’t just beautiful, it is also very theurapudic.

12 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Don’t know where this is going…but with God it’s bound to be exciting!

\o/

Your turn!

