Struck Down But Not Crushed

3 10 2013

Your past is insignificant except in its value to shape and mold you into the person you are today.

Please stop displaying the tools used to form you. They are not the masterpiece –

You are.

What the enemy meant for evil, I intended to use for good.

You are the showpiece of what I can create using the roughest of tools…everything the adversary brought against you.

Yet you sit on your haunches, whining and holding up the tools of yore for all to behold.

“Look what they did to me!” you cry to passersby.

Yes look. YOU look! Take a good long look.

Do you see the effects? The faith, mercy, compassion, empathy, grace, love, strength, endurance, perseverance, and patience that are now yours?

They are within you in greater measure than they were even a few years ago.

The trials have been hot – intensely hot, I know. They were necessary.

You are clay. Do you know anything of the potter?

The clay is rolled into a ball, then slammed onto the wheel. More pushing and shoving takes place. It takes a fair amount of force to center the clay on the wheel to keep it from slinging off when the work begins.

Then comes more pressure – and going round and round…wall, wall, wall, shirt…over and over. Seen the same scenery time and again? Now you know why.

The implements used are hard. Some smooth, some pointed and sharp.

The potters fingers are poked into the center, pushing, pressing, thinning out the walls.

More implements are used on the outside, and on the inside.

All the while, the potter’s eyes never leave his project. All could be ruined in an instant by distractions, so he stays focused.

The spinning finally stops; but it’s not over yet.

The pot is cut off at the foot…that useless excess clay that held it to the wheel.

Next it’s time for the drying rack; a place where no water is added, and the excess moisture can evaporate. Feeling like you’re cried out? Hmm.

The pot is shelved, seemingly abandoned and rejected.

At last it’s a beautiful earthen vessel. Not good for much, though.

If bumped, it will crack. If filled with liquid, it will absorb the fluid and begin to sag…until it becomes a useless lump of clay again!

What to do? It’s of little value if all it can do is sit there, untouchable.

The firing furnace is necessary to make it useful.

Glazes may be applied, then baked into the piece. What special “glaze” do you have? An illness, injury, or disease? These add to the beauty and uniqueness of each piece, you know.

An interesting thing happens in the kiln. The piece becomes transparent! The potter can see right through the pot. It’s at this point that he knows this vessel can hold water without reverting back to its original form.

Some vessels receive more layers of glaze to achieve the desired result. That, of course, means more time in the kiln.

This has been the story of your life: squished, rolled, smacked down, a life that goes in circles, pressure, your insides messed with, drought, the heat of trials and so forth.

But look, will you? As a result of all you’ve gone through, look what you’ve become!

TheΒ only significance those past experiences have had is that they’ve made you what you are today –

My masterpiece.

Without those implements, you would be a lump of clay that melts away into nothingness.

Stop cursing them and be grateful for their value in forming you.

It is My workΒ in you that I want to show off,

not the tools I used.

I want My work in you to declare my glory to the world…my ability to use everything the enemy threw at you to create beauty from the ashes he left behind.

So long as you insist on holding up the tools as if they are badges of honor, that’s all people will see.

Pity will be your reward…a sorry substitute for the glory I want to display through you, don’t you think?

Stand firm…it’s time to rise from the ashes and see –

– not “what might have been”

-but God’s redeeming work in…and through…You!

Praise Him, He saved you from what you would have become, and used your past to make you into who you are today.

If you’ll only see it.

*****

God does not commit evil against us, but the Bible is clear that He allows mere man to choose to do whatever he wants, and also allows the adversary a certain amount of freedom to do likewise (Job, Peter).

Those who do not belong to the household of God belong to the household of the devil, and carry out his will against humans who were made in the image of God. Watch the evening news or read the paper. You can see that he is still hard at work to steal, kill, and destroy. His tools? Other humans.

The amazing thing is that God comes behind him and uses this to turn us into vessels of honor…fit to house the very Spirit of God. I do not pretend to understand this completely, but it has been my experience absolutely.

I’ve been on the receiving end of a great deal of evil, so I’m not talking in theory.

I’ve seen His handiwork as He’s healed this brokenhearted woman, set this captive free. He’s given me the ability to rise up with wings like eagles, to run and not be weary, to walk and not faint. It wasn’t until I was able to see His ability to give me beauty for ashes, and to redeem every bit of darkness within me that I was finally able to let go of my posture as a victim and walk in freedom and Light.

We must let go of unforgiveness and bitterness or learn to be content with pity as our reward for all we endured. I don’t know about you, but I suffered enough at the hands of others. I’ll be hanged if I’m going to pick up where they left off. I’m on my feet and heading for the battle field. There are many others who need to know of God’s healing power. They’ve been taken hostage, and enough is enough! Let’s go get them.

To God be the glory forever!

Amen

\o/

Actions

Information

32 responses

8 10 2013
shadeakinbiyi

Just reblogged this, thank you so much for giving me the privilege to share it. May God bless and replenish you!! πŸ™‚

8 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you for the reblog.

The Lord bless and keep you, make His face shine upon you and give you peace!

\o/

8 10 2013
shadeakinbiyi

Amen. Be BLESSED! πŸ™‚

8 10 2013
shadeakinbiyi

Reblogged this on Prophetic Voice and commented:
This post has encouraged me to REST in God, knowing that HE is control. That, ALL things work together for good in Christ Jesus. My prayer is that you will be encouraged with this message as well. God bless you. πŸ™‚

4 10 2013
Toni Sprandel

Amen & Amen! Let’s go! I with you all the way! πŸ™‚

4 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚

\o/

4 10 2013
nopew

That last paragraph speaks what I shared when I have counselled those who were abused. And I still think it is the best advice going. That last paragraph sums it up, in practical terms. You’ve avoided the theory and the theological here, and stuck to experience – a hard thing to do. It’s not for understanding, but for experiencing the real presence of the real God. I cannot provide a completely logical defence or opposition to this (not that I want to) because my life confirms it, my biography affirms it, and the rubbish strewn along the path is the evidence of God working all things out for good, no matter how they came, from whom or when.
Fantastic!
Peace

4 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Phew! I was nervous about how you might comment. πŸ˜‰

Yeah, trying to explain it theologically makes my head hurt! The best I’ve been able to do is give my experience – and that of others I know. Some things can’t be understood; just accepted and we move on. This is definitely one of those times.

Thanks for adding your insight.

\o/

4 10 2013
shadeakinbiyi

Well said,timely and encouraging word! Amen, to the transformation coming from the making process. Thank You and have blessed weekend!! πŸ™‚

4 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’ll bet if we didn’t squirm so much during the process we would get through the process faster!

I’m deeply thankful for His ability to take the worst of circumstances and turn them into something good in our lives. πŸ™‚

\o/

4 10 2013
shadeakinbiyi

Yes, if only we can learn to let go, and give God the privileged of demonstrating His amazing love through us there will be less struggle for us. I will like to request your permission to reblog this at some point. God has been dealing with me about “the blessing of resting in total surrender” i believe this is an excellent post for it. God is so faithful! Thank you & may you continue to be a blessing to many more. πŸ™‚

5 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Surrender is key, isn’t it.

You’re welcome to reblog anything you want from here. Thanks for spreading the word as you do through your own posts so well!

\o/

5 10 2013
shadeakinbiyi

Thank you! I will share the post in the week. Blessings and much love from here to you. πŸ™‚

4 10 2013
Prodigal Chick

You just put pen to paper about my journey and what God has done to my enemies while I was being shaked and baked!! I relate and agree with Every word you said!! Awesome dictation from our Father!!

4 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Only a Chick could be “shaked and baked!” Great play on words! πŸ™‚

\o/

4 10 2013
Prodigal Chick

πŸ™‚ Your post is simply spot on to the point that I was thinking “hey, how did she get inside my head and tell perfect detail!” Haha!! God does have a sense of humor… He put together prodigal chick and the chick logo and said “shaked and baked” this morning. I didn’t even relate it together!! “Giggling” right now!!

4 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚ Love that you chose the words without making the connection.

He does have a sense of humor…he picked me! πŸ˜‰

\o/

5 10 2013
Prodigal Chick

πŸ™‚

4 10 2013
platinumdonmccoy

Now it’s my turn to stand on THE chair.
πŸ˜‰

4 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Woohoo! πŸ™‚

\o/

4 10 2013
Pure Glory

Love it! The things that would seem to crush us have become what propels us to become more like Christ. Without the trials, mistakes, and falling down and getting back up, we would not grow that much. It is adversity that causes our roots to go down deep into the marvelous love that is ours through Christ Jesus! Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

4 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

My mind went all sorts of places with this bit of teaching. Sometimes life is so hard. When we believe that He is the one ordering the pain of our lives, it’s hard to trust Him.

Once I understood that He didn’t bring it on, but instead takes what this fallen world throws at us and then turns it into good for us, we begin to appreciate His ability to redeem every aspect of our lives…and in the process bring about changes in our character that leave us better off – not worse – if we allow Him to do so. πŸ™‚

\o/

4 10 2013
Prodigal Chick

Amen sister!! Once we trust Him through the hard, harsh mean and lean times we can trust Him with ALL things!!!! πŸ™‚

4 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

That’s so true!

\o/

3 10 2013
natashlim73

Awesome post! Great encouraging word! Blessings! πŸ™‚

3 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Awesome God who loves us more than we can begin to imagine! πŸ™‚

\o/

3 10 2013
MichelleMarie Antell

I love this! A wonderful beautiful post!

3 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks. I wish I had a nickel for every time the Lord and I had this discussion.

\o/

3 10 2013
MichelleMarie Antell

I know what you mean! I like the title! Keep inspiring ad sharing!β€οΈπŸŒΈπŸ˜ƒ

3 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you so much for your encouragement. I fought posting this today…which is why it’s so late. Nothing else came to mind to write. It seemed like this or nothing. I wasn’t sure it would be understood, so your words are most welcome. πŸ™‚

\o/

4 10 2013
MichelleMarie Antell

It is easy to so focused on our circumstances that we forget we serve a big God. Have a super day and a great weekend! πŸ™‚

4 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh for the day when we see Him face to face and don’t lose focus anymore. πŸ™‚

Maranatha!

\o/

Your turn!

