Get Out of Your Way

1 10 2013

{The next few posts are messages I received from the Lord over the weekend. Because they were from Him to me, I wrote them in the first person. I share them with you in case you needed the same talk!}

I have a purpose in mind for you, I have a goal, a position just for you.

Search your heart for that dream I planted in you before you were born. Do you even remember what it was? Or have your critics and time buried it?

Know this: no one can prevent you from fulfilling my purpose for your life –

except you.

Hagar couldn’t.

Joseph’s ten brothers couldn’t

Potiphar’s wife couldn’t.

Saul couldn’t.

The Pharisees couldn’t.

Pilate couldn’t.

Nero couldn’t.

DEATH COULDN’T!

(Have you ever wondered how Death could be thrown into the Lake of Fire? Is death an entity – not a state of being??!)

No one can keep you from my plans.

Except YOU:

* Sarai could have cut Abram off for the Hagar thing, concluding that God had kept His promise and she was no longer necessary to His plan.

* Joseph could have concluded that he was a poor victim, that his dreams had been the pizza eaten before bed, hated those who’d wronged him – and died in his bitterness in prison after refusing to help out the ungrateful butler a second time.

* David the Hunted could have become David the Hunter, first of Saul, then of Absalom…in the end becoming a “Saul” himself.

* Jesus could have bowed to man-made religious practices and become the round peg the Pharisees wanted Him to be in order to fit their “round hole” ideals for Him, and kept everyone happy.

*The early Christians could have kept the Good News to themselves and avoided becoming the “reality show” entertainment at the Colosseum or garden lighting for Nero – and Christianity would not have survived the first generation.

* Jesus could have filled the preconceived notions others had of Him – and avoided death…

…But the grave could not hold Him!

Death had to release Him!

Every person who will not bow at the altar of people pleasing will fulfill the purpose I have for them.

To walk away from that altar will take courage…

Why do you think I repeated Myself so many times in Scripture?

If I said a thing two or three times, you get excited and say I really meant it.

I told you to not be afraid…

…to be courageous…

…to be strong and very courageous…

…OVER 160 TIMES!

YES! I REALLY MEANT IT!

Your identity is not what you do, but Whose you are.

You must settle this issue once and for all, or you will continue to walk in fear and buckle under peer pressure.

You are My beloved. You’ve been chosen, accepted, adopted, redeemed, sealed with the Holy Spirit. You’ve been justified, sanctified, and glorified. You are now seated in Me in heaven.

This is who you are.

What you do are the works which I prepared for you to do. Did you catch that? The works I prepared…and no one else.

What is that dream? Let’s get it out and dust it off. Your training for what I planned from the beginning is now complete.

It’s time!

Actions

Information

56 responses

27 10 2013
truthofgods

How are you Sister..

27 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hanging in there…more Homesick than ever. Envious of the woman I was caring for who got to meet Jesus face-to-face last week. Other than that, I’m doing well! Thanks for asking.

You came to mind earlier this week so I prayed for you. I trust you are doing well?

May the Lord’s face shine brightly upon you and give you peace,
Tami
\o/

27 10 2013
truthofgods

Tami thank you for the prayer..I have been getting attacked left and right..because God has been using me to further the kingdom and the adversary does not like it..

27 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

That explains it. I wasn’t anywhere near my laptop when you suddenly came to mind. Prayer seemed like a “wise” thing to do, so I did. I’ll be sure to continue to stand in the gap. Seems like many are being slammed right now.

Maranatha!
\o/

27 10 2013
truthofgods

Can I pray for you as well..Have you been under attack..

27 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m not sure that it’s an attack.

I’m between assignments and things are seemingly spinning out of control…But I know that God has not left me to work this out on my own. He’s good that way!

🙂
\o/

27 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

PS – Is your blog still up and running? The links to it from your gravatar are broken. 😦

27 10 2013
truthofgods

Have you not been getting my messages..

27 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’ve been getting your messages, but if I click on your gravatar (like the one in this comment), I’m taken to a screen that says either the link is broken or your blog has been removed. Weird. Must have happened when you changed your photo (nice picture, by the way!).

\o/

28 10 2013
truthofgods

Thank you..

27 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Weirder yet – now it’s working fine. Disregard my previous message. 😉

\o/

14 10 2013
sagescenery

Reblogged this on godssceneryandpromises and commented:
This is a great post!!

14 10 2013
sagescenery

Great post! Reblogged on: godssceneryandpromises

14 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you!

\o/

14 10 2013
sagescenery

You’re welcome…sometimes we trip all over ourselves trying to stay out of our own way!!

5 10 2013
msinop1

Reblogged this on Walking in Faith and commented:
For anyone who has submitted their lives to Christ and find it so incredibley hard to not let the world shut you up, and make you want to give up. This was just the inspiration you need to keep moving forward! GOD HAS A PLAN FOR YOU! The only thing standing in between you and it is YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Be blessed as much as I was by this inspiring pep talk!!

5 10 2013
msinop1

This was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good and soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo needed. This was a pep talk I needed to hear! Thank you and blessings and love from me to you ❤

5 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Wooooooooooooooooooooooooooow! You’re soooooooooooooooooooooooooo welcome! 🙂

\o/

6 10 2013
msinop1

Lol 🙂

6 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Couldn’t resist. 😉

\o/

2 10 2013
Elizabeth Yalian

Isn’t that something that even though God says that 160 times, we get stuck in our heads what mere humans have said or how they have made us feel or what a lifetime of heartache does to us? That is one I still struggle with, but with God’s love and grace I am working on it!!

2 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

…and making fantastic progress, I might add! 🙂

\o/

1 10 2013
Toni Sprandel

Love this post! Too often we give up too soon on our dreams! Thanks for reminding me! Love you dear sister! 🙂

1 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Mine are just beginning to bloom. I have no clue exactly what He has in mind, but I want to find out!

\o/

1 10 2013
Toni Sprandel

Me too! 🙂

1 10 2013
Chrystal

Yes, I needed the same talk. 🙂

1 10 2013
Valerie Rutledge

I can’t begin to say how much I love this!! Tami, you rock for sharing what God spoke to you!

1 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m still sorting it out 😉

\o/

1 10 2013
Pure Glory

Love the line, your identity is not what you do but Whose you are. God isn’t in to performance but who we belong to. Awesome!

1 10 2013
Michael

My identity is found in my relation to him…love that.

1 10 2013
nopew

I struggle with this. My logical thinking and experience then go to God being the Agent of the slavery and abuse that fell upon Joseph, or the complacent spectator for all the vengeful abuse Sarah heaped on Hagar, or the One behind all the injustice and pain inflicted on Paul just so he would go to jail and write some letters, or deliberately martyred early Christians for the powerful PR that came from it? Does it mean God orchestrated what happened in Eden, human rebellion, just to be able to sacrifice Jesus?
I guess it sounds too hyper-Calvinist, that humans have no freewill because God controls everything, and in the end humans can say, “God made me do it for your own good”, which I have heard abusers and religious bureaucrats actually say!
We are more than conquerors in the eternal scheme of things, but does that mean evil can never derail us or affect the details of how things unfold in this world where Satan is the Prince?
And if we are the only ones that can prevent God’s will in our lives does that mean when we are destroyed that we take the blame? We should have been more faithful, more something?
I struggle with this…
Peace

1 10 2013
Cindy Powell

I happened to see this comment, and–since I have struggled with some of the same concepts–thought I would jump in. This may be grossly oversimplified (He often makes things simple for me because I need them to be that way! 🙂 ) but this is how I believe the Lord has addressed this particular issue with me: The ultimate “reward” for my life on earth will be determined absolutely, 100% by my responsiveness to Him (in my unique life circumstances) and in the way I keep my heart before Him–absolutely no one (but me) can prevent me from “finishing the work He’s given me to do” in that regard. However, I don’t think it is any contradiction to say that I also believe the ultimate “fruit” of my life here on earth is absolutely impacted (positively or negatively) by the choices and actions of others. He simply calls us to be faithful, which may or may not equate to anything resembling success from an earthly perspective. It looks different for each one of us. For some, great faithfulness is required to simply get out of bed and face the day once more, for others faithfulness is going out and changing the world.We’re responsible for what He reveals to us, not what He reveals to someone else. This is what He spoke to Tami, so she is responsible for it in her life. In sharing it, she is making it available should He choose to use the same words to impact someone else. However, if there are other “someone’s” that it doesn’t resonate with, they have the freedom to set it aside. My two cents.Much grace and peace to you!

1 10 2013
nopew

I am honoured that you would take so much time on this. What you say is sensible. However, I think my struggle is over how much leash God gives the devil. My experience leads me to think God works things out for good, but doesn’t impose horrible things to make us heel. I guess, saying that, I see God more as picking up the pieces of human/demonic activity rather than using a choke chain like we use to train dogs.
Thank you again for your contribution to sorting out my brain.
Peace

1 10 2013
Cindy Powell

Ha, ha – not sure anything I say would ever help anyone sort out their brain (have enough trouble sorting out my own) but I understand the struggle. Blessings to you!

3 10 2013
nopew

It’s a good thing that we can reply in spirit, by The Spirit, which can bypass the brain (sometimes) and go straight to the soul! I do truly appreciate your input. It is a treat to have people aid and abet the search for truth rather than the school of sharks who, smelling blood, rip and tear…
Peace

1 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m with you 100% on this. I USED to believe that God had me on a choke chain and would give it a good yank if I so much as looked at something the wrong way.

This belief was debunked for me about eight years ago. In fact, I do my best to show others from the Word that this is a lie.

I’m not sure what I wrote that gave this impression. Could you point out the phrases. I’d certainly like to reword them…or just delete the entire post if necessary. It would break my heart to lead anyone back into bondage. There are enough lies circulating about my Father. I definitely do not wish to add to them.

Thanks for your thoughtful read and comments. I truly do appreciate and value your input, dear brother. I count on those of you who have formal training in doctrine to point out the errors in my theology. I still have a long way to go (as you can see!)

In Him,
Tami
\o/
Praising Jesus for His grace!

3 10 2013
nopew

It was the “up to only you”. I realize that I stay in God’s will by my own choice, but somehow my life suggests God’s ideal will can be derailed. God’s next plan is my choice to follow, but it may not be how God meant it to be if there was no opposition from evil and its disciples.
Peace

1 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hi, Cindy. Thanks for “weighing in.” Yes, I think you got the gist of what I was trying to say…maybe it’s a “girl” thing. You know, stated in “pink” rather than in “blue.”

I agree. What the Lord is asking me to do in faith is my responsibility alone. At this point, I cannot blame anyone from my past. Yes, they derailed me with the things they said and did to me, but I can choose to forgive them, and let that go. It’s a new day and He’s reopened some opportunities for me. I can choose to risk stepping into His call – or not and miss the blessings He has for me in that regard.

None of this has to do with salvation…just what He purposed for me all along. In fact, He stated that what appears to have been a detour helped prepare me for this time.

Does that make sense?

Thanks again for your comment. 🙂

\o/

1 10 2013
Cindy Powell

Makes total sense to me :-). Thanks for being faithful to share what He puts on your heart.

1 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome. I hoped it would make sense to someone. 😉

\o/

5 10 2013
Prodigal Chick

Tami I can’t help but comment on your comment. There is no doubt or sway in me that The Lord has raised you for such a time as this. You have no idea how much your posts have encouraged me, strengthened me, taught me and humbled me in my own struggles of the past and of the now. Your obedient heart to share what The Lord speaks to you is changing lives and making Gods army stronger and ready for battle! You my friend are gods precious and priceless cargo of his arsenal of the army of The Lord. I don’t say this to puff you up but to encourage you that god truly took all your pain, suffering and brokenness of your heart – used it to make you strong and impenetrable, PLANTED you at the front line to lead His army forward to the finish! I pray you see what I see and that He did what He said He would do……
Love you sister!!!!

5 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Your words give great encouragement. The “Struck Down” post was one I really struggled with putting out there. It felt like I was getting “too big for my britches. Loud protests of “who do you think you are,” and “You’re way out of your element” screamed at me, and so I dragged my feet, and looked for something else to post.

Nothing else would come, so I finally gave in and tapped it out.

I sense that part of my purpose is to be a “Joshuana,” a princess warrior. Your comments and those of others seem to confirm this. To say that I’m shaking in my high heels would be an understatement. I’m more of a Gideon, hiding to keep out of trouble, than a fearless leader. Oh dear!

Thanks for strengthening the hands that hang down and the weak knees of this sister. May the Lord bless you in your endeavors, dear one!

\o/

5 10 2013
Prodigal Chick

It is a struggle to find the balance of a humble heart and a warriors fighting spirit. You surpass me in that realm. Ha but I believe I surpass you in cowering and hiding. I have been paralyzed to move forward with what lies ahead in my assignment. The heart is such a deceitful thing. I have been writing but not posting for I know the next steps after and I have zero confidence in myself. Which is good and yet I count the ways I am capable of failing The Lord and His important business. I am trembling with reverence and trying to wrap my mind around the vastness of this assignment. I recall 4 years ago I prayed for God to increase my territory and widen my tent. My cup runneth over and He gives me an entire city and state of social and judicial reform consisting of dirty cops, prosecutors, judges, city officials and the Supreme Court. I tell you I feel very small in the vastness of it all but I know I’ve been called and must act in spite of my shaking and shivering.

5 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

What? Do you read my mind and then type it out? 😉 I was thinking the same thing about you.

Note: The heart, your heart – a gift from God – is a good heart. Your pre-Christ heart was deceitful, but God don’t give junk. This is an error that is taught throughout Christendom. (Check out: https://lessonsbyheart.wordpress.com/2013/09/19/god-dont-give-junk/).

Zero confidence in ourselves is the first requirement for Kingdom work. You’re in a good place…a God place. 😉

Oh, and a righteous man falls seven times…and gets up again. Utter (complete – 7) failure can’t stop us!

Woohoo. Your assignment is such a necessary one. It seems like everywhere we look corruption abounds. Keep me posted on how things are going – and how I can pray for you, k?

\o/

5 10 2013
Prodigal Chick

Thank you sweet sister for your encouraging words…it seems we have been yoked together for this journey and we are planted on the same playing field. I’ll be sending out my posts I’ve been sitting on. I’m sure you will know what to pray. They are the leading up to and the now. Some are also the foundation to the press release drafts. Bless you sister!!!

5 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Go get ’em, Tigress! (You may need to change your gravatar photo ;))

\o/

1 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hi, No Pew. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

It’s obvious that I didn’t communicate very well. I threw this up in a hurry – this week’s posts are all of that nature, for the lady I’m caring for will probably go Home within the next day or two. No excuse for sloppy writing, but I am a bit distracted.

If there’s anything I’ve learned from God, it’s that He demonstrates submission by allowing us free choice. Sometimes He does intervene supernaturally, but for the most part merely allows the consequences of our choices to teach us how to make better ones in the future.

We are free to choose what we will and will not do – for me this is critical right now because there are things that I KNOW God has ordained for me to do. He’s made that clear – but it will require courage to do what He is asking of me. Like those people I mentioned, I can put my faith in Him and move forward…or continue to be a coward and miss the blessing of obedience. I won’t be punished for declining. Jesus took my punishment on the cross.

James tells us that every good and perfect gift is from above. No good father would heap abuse on the child he loves. Nor do I believe that God is the “Agent” of any evil committed against us. As with Job and Peter, He may grant permission to shake us, but our enemy does not have free reign.

Evil can – and has – derailed me for decades. God, however, is a pro at giving back the years the locusts have eaten. In my case and at my age, this seems preposterous. All the glory will go to Him. I will be unable to take any of the credit myself. That works for me.

I don’t know if that clarifies what I was trying to say or not. I hope so.

Now, on to your next comment…
\o/

3 10 2013
nopew

I guess I see 2 things at play: 1. when I choose not to do God’s will; 2. when evil and its allies kill and steal and destroy so that God’s will takes on a different shape.
Sorry, I see blogs are difficult framework for extended discussions. I did mean my comment to be that your post opened up a can of worms (relatives! 🙂 ha!) and I just wanted to get it out.
Thanks for taking so much effort to engage me on this.
Peace

3 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

I appreciate the interaction more than you know.

Having been a recipient of much evil and opposition, this is a topic of great interest to me…trying to see how it all fits together. Things that I thought I was “supposed” to do were driven underground or stolen from me altogether.

I believe that God has to approve everything the adversary wants to throw at me. This, of course, causes tension in my understanding of God’s goodness…a crisis of faith, and a realization that I don’t know all there is to know about God.

Yeah, this is a huge can of worms – one I take out now and again to try to untangle. If I can straighten out even one worm, I’m excited!

I have pages and pages and pages of handwritten stuff as I try to work through the concept of God’s will for me.

For instance, if evil kills, steals, and destroys, does God’s will take on a different shape, or had He already taken that into account and plan to use this to position me for what He had in mind all along?

Better “men” than me debate this issue. I’m not interested in joining their numbers. I just want to make sense of it for my own little life and come to an understanding of what took place and why it was permitted.

To think that God had a purpose for me, but evil happened, so He had to ditch that plan and come up with a different one…makes God appear to be less than omnipotent.

On the other hand, I’ve begun to understand that God is far more humble than we realize and exemplifies submission by allowing us to choose, rather than forcing us to do things His way. Craziness, I tell you!

Just thinking out loud. None of my theology in this area is set in stone. I mull this over from time to time…but it takes a lot of effort and makes my head spin!

Yeah, when it comes to extended discussions, blogs are mostly a frustration. I thoroughly enjoy pondering such deep things as this in face-to-face interactions. Unfortunately, I do not have people around who care to do so. So much is missed when using written communication. It’s for this reason that I do not text folks. Many a conflict has been the result of a misunderstood message! 😉

Thanks for taking time to help me sort this out.

\o/

3 10 2013
nopew

And thank you for raising it and pursuing it. One note: Omnipotence, as religion teaches it, is God can do anything. Spiritually, it means God is strong enough, wise enough, NOT to do everything. My kids would be vegetables if we, as parents, had done everything for them. Jesus didn’t fill the disciples net with fish; He told them to throw it on the other side. That’s God!
Peace

3 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

“God is strong enough, wise enough, NOT to do everything.” That’s where omniscience comes in, eh?

There’s so much I have yet to learn about Him. It’s a good thing we have forever. I have a feeling that won’t be long enough. 😉

Amen!

\o/

1 10 2013
Prodigal Chick

Wow!! How awesome!!! Tami thank you for sharing this with us. I can’t think of a better way to start the day than to read this first thing in the morning!!

1 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

Glad to have been of service! 🙂

\o/

1 10 2013
Prodigal Chick

🙂

1 10 2013
platinumdonmccoy

This is a confirmation of what God has been telling me. Very, very timely. Thank you for sharing.

1 10 2013
lessonsbyheart

For me, too. Now to put it into action!

\o/

Your turn!

