I Never Said That!

27 09 2013

“In Jesus” name, Amen.”

Here’s a phrase that we throw around. We tack it on the end of our prayers…and feel like God doesn’t listen if someone fails to end their directions to God with it.

Have you ever wondered what we mean when we say these words?

Well, you and I have been given “power of attorney” to act on Christ’s behalf (2 Corinthians 5:20). We are charged to keep His best interest in mind since He is not present in the physical sense of the word.

However, we first need to know His will before we can carry it out. Right?

Let me use a present-day illustration to make my point:

On March 4, 2005, my father, brother, and I arrived at the hospital – only to discover that my mother had suffered a major stroke and slipped into a coma late in the afternoon. Despite her Medical Directives, on file at the hospital, they put hooked her up to a ventilator.

As if on cue, the three of us looked at the machine, then looked at one another. There was one thing we knewΒ for sure:

She did not want this.

Over the course of many years, Mom told us that she did not want to be kept alive by artificial means. She threatened to come back and “haunt” us if we ever did so!

She didn’t mention it once or twice in passing, but she told us when we walked, when we sat, when we stood together, and when we laid down!

In other words, we were well aware of her wishes.

Mom had a medical Power of Attorney issued beforehand, which assigned us the responsibility of carrying out her will should she become incapacitated.

In addition, her Advanced Directives were on file at the hospital…in fact, she had an extra set taped to the kitchen cabinet “just in case” they were ever needed. She also filled out DNR orders (Do Not Resuscitate) when she returned to the hospital due to complications from the open heart surgery.

Because we were well-versed in her will, she was able to give us this responsibility with assurance that we would act in accordance with her desires.

That day there was no doubt in anyone’s mind as to what my mother wanted.

There was no hesitation in any of us when we told the doctor to remove life support. We acted on her behalf –

“in Gayle’s name.”

We were free of uncertainty and guilt when we did so. It was her will.

(Thanks for this, your final gift to us, Mom! )

The reason I chose to use this example is because it’s the one the Lord used to teach me about the words, “In Jesus’ name.” We are supposed to teach our children His Word when we walk, when we stand, when we sit, when we lie down, and when we walk in the way so that they know God’s will. (From Deuteronomy 6:6-9)

If we do obey this command, our children will know Jesus’ will in a given situation, and be able to pray in full assurance that what they are asking for is what He would request if He were physically present.

And if our parents taught us, then we also can confidently ask “In Jesus’ name.”

Oh how we need His frequent instruction. With His Word in our hearts, we can truly act in His name.

There’s a wonderful side-note to this teaching:

Months later, when the Lord showed me this truth, He went on to commend me for making the most unselfish decision of my life. He knew that deep in my heart, I’d rather have Mom’s shell here on earth where I could see and touch her. To let her go was the hardest thing I’ve ever done. With just a sentence, Jesus soothed the pain and gave me reason to celebrate spiritual growth.

Isn’t He so good to us?

As I review my prayer history, I realize that there have been many times when I’ve prayed for my will, and my desires to be fulfilled…and then tacked Jesus’ name on it – as if these were magical words that would secure my request.

“Dear God. Would You give me a T-Bird…metallic blue with Tuck and Roll interior? Oh, and I’d like to live in a really nice house. You said You would supply all my needs. I really need these things so I can show everyone how generous You are. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

(I imagine Jesus turn and look at the Father. “I never said that! If Tami knew me better, she would know that what she is asking is NOT my will. Disregard that prayer, please,” was His comment!)

Until the Lord showed me what it really meant to pray in His name, I had no idea. It was what “church” people were supposed to do…the “proper” way to sign off when talking to God. Today I understand what He is asking me to do, and His instruction has radically changed the things I pray for.

This is just another step in the transformation process as He renews my mind (out with the lies, in with the truth).

God is certainly very patient with me. πŸ™‚

Father,

Forgive me for the numerous times I’ve taken Jesus’ name in vain – slapped it on prayers that wereΒ my will…

…and not His. Help me to know His will so that I can be His ambassador.

I want to speak and act on His behalf…a worthy executor of His Power of Attorney.

This prayer is indeed…

…In Jesus’ name.

Amen!

Actions

Information

17 responses

28 09 2013
pastorpete51

Reblogged this on praise2worshipdotnet and commented:
I don’t usually re-blog other people’s thoughts but this is such a great telling of truth in a very few words. Thanks Tami!

27 09 2013
vonhonnauldt

This is why the Spirit MUST and does, thank the Lord, “”help our infirmities, because we don’t know WHAT we should pray for as we ought,” Romans 8:26. Too many people seem to consider God as some sort of heavenly Concierge and “in Jesus’ name” is the bell they ring to get His attention.

But “His name” is the name that every single knee shall bow to and every tongue confess to the glory of God. It’s not just some “abracadabra”.

Thanks for the reminder.

28 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Great addition to the article. Thanks so much for sharing! πŸ™‚

\o/

27 09 2013
TeachX3

Well said sister… may God’s Will be done, in earth as it is in heaven, in Jesus Name, AMEN! πŸ˜€

27 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚

\o/

27 09 2013
Michael

His name is connected to his promises–that’s rich. I love this reminder. Thank you.

27 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Funny – I missed this “connection!” Thanks for pointing that out. I tell my kids, “I am NOT the queen of the obvious!” πŸ˜‰

\o/

27 09 2013
Michael

Haha! But that’s not uncommon with us writers. We write one thing, but readers retrieve all kinds of nuggets. I had a chapel speaker once express how the preacher may preach one sermon, but the Spirit may be preaching as many different sermons through the one to all present. That’s rich!

28 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I keep thinking that it was on your blog that I read about the masking tape and the labeled dots. Yet, I’ve looked several times and can’t find it. Is this your story? If so, would you please give me the link.

The story was fantastic – much better as presented by the author. It was so good that I made a “fair” mock-up of the story for today’s post. I’d really rather reblog the original and delete my poor imitation!

Thanks!

\o/

28 09 2013
Michael

Hi Tami. Sorry, but that’s not my story. Cheers!

28 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Phooey! I was hoping. πŸ˜‰

\o/

27 09 2013
stockdalewolfe

Yes, an unselfish and hard decision made easier by your mother’s instructions. We were fortunate with our parents that they called the shots at the end and it was unanimous, they all chose to die. I understand a lot more now why they made this choice.
Although brought up Catholic and Presbyterian I never picked up this add on to prayers but thank you for introducing me to it and to its proper usage.

27 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m a Bapto-Presby-Methodi-Luthera-NonDenom…and I never knew this until the Lord explained it to me like this! You’d think that somewhere along the 40+ years of discipleship someone would have pointed it out! πŸ˜‰

\o/

27 09 2013
kingintraining

So true Tami! We see the best results when we pray within His will – even if it was not what we wanted in the first place

27 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

“Thy will be done” can be the hardest words to get out of my mouth sometimes. The results are always much better when I do so! πŸ™‚

\o/

27 09 2013
platinumdonmccoy

Kingdom Reality! I’ve said this before and I’d say it again: the Body of Christ needs more of these teachings. When we pray, we should simply go with the flow of God’s will. Only whatever is bound in heaven would we be able to bind on earth in His Name

27 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Grace and praying with the confidence that we are asking “in Jesus’ name,” these are the two strings on the disciples guitar that need to be played over and over and over!

\o/

Your turn!

