Freakin’ Miracles

23 09 2013

From the stage, I spotted the gentleman. He sat just a couple rows away, and looked familiar. He was tall and lanky, with graying hair and a warm smile. His slacks and suit coat hung in a way that looked relaxed, but not over-sized.

“I know him,” I thought to myself.

After the service, I made a beeline for the fellow. He talked with the pastor, whom I knew, so being drawn into their conversation would seem natural.

By the time I made it to where they stood moments before, they were gone.

With quickened steps, I headed to the foyer. He was surrounded by several men I knew. One of the guys broke away and moved in my direction.

“Hey, Bob, who is that?” I asked.

“Oh, that’s Dr. Mann. He just started coming here,” he replied.

Dr. Mann!” I exclaimed. “Excuse me. I need to go say, ‘hi.’ ”

He was about to leave when I caught up with him.

“Dr. Mann? It is so good to see you!” I reached out to shake his hand.

“Excuse me, but where do I know you from?” he asked with a quizzical look on his face.

“I doubt you’ll remember me. You were called in on my case when I was pregnant back in 1979.

“I was hospitalized during the fifth month of my pregnancy, dying from Severe Bone Marrow Suppression and Congestive Heart Failure. The plan was to give me blood transfusions weekly until I reached the 7th month. At that time, I was to be taken to Davis and my son delivered by C-Section.

“I was told that because of oxygen deprivation, he would be severely handicapped.

“A few days later, I was discharged from the hospital.

“I came to your office for my appointment the following week. Blood was drawn to test for hemoglobin and hematocrit levels.

“When you entered the exam room, you had a confused look on your face and asked what I had been doing.

“I thought I was in trouble, so I shot back that I’d taken your pills and drank the Ensure as prescribed.

“‘What’s the problem?’ I asked, an edge in my voice. I was sure that I had done something wrong.

“You said, ‘Oh, no problem. Your blood work is within normal limits. I just wondered if you’d done something else. A change of this nature can’t be attributed to medicine.’

“I thought a minute, then stated, ‘If this is unusual, then the only thing I can think of is that some pastors stopped by and asked if they could pray for me.’

“When you brushed off my explanation, I let it go.”

As we stood in the foyer, a smile broke across my face. I said, “Not only was my son born by normal delivery – two weeks late – but he turned down an intelligence job in the Air Force because he didn’t want to keep secrets from his wife.”

The doctor reached out and grabbed his companion by the elbow, while he said to me, “Hey, would you mind repeating your story?”

Turning to his friend, he said, “Listen to this!”

I told my tale a second time.

As I finished, Dr. Mann became animated and exclaimed to us both, “God performed so many freakin’ miracles in front of me that I couldn’t deny His existence! There was no other way to explain how people were healed. I wasn’t a Christian at that time, but after dozens of them, He won me over!”

Later that day I thought about this episode in my life.

At the time, I was very angry with God, and with my husband who had moved to another state when I told him I was pregnant.

No doubt, he expected me to follow him, but I was so hurt by his reaction that I wanted nothing more to do with him.

I was confused, scared, and in great turmoil. It should have been no surprise that I ended up in the hospital nearly dead, the baby within me dying as well.

When the pastors stopped in for a visit and asked if they could pray, I’m embarrassed to say that I wasn’t very cordial.

My response was more like, “Do your thing – then go away and leave me alone!”

I was a professing Christian at the time, but don’t think I’d ever heard Romans 8:28 which reads:

“And we know that God causes all things work together for good to those who love God,

to those who are the called according to His purpose.”

I doubt that knowing this verse would have made a difference to my immature Christian mind. Today it is one of my “anchors” when trials come.

The beauty of this story is that while I went through the trauma and stress of my illness, God was using my trial to reach the doctor who attended us.

We got to be one of His Freakin’ Miracles!

Many of you are dealing with illnesses and diseases that cause you great pain and concern. Know that God is using your circumstances to reach out to people around you.

There’s a surprise coming after you slip through the gossamer-thin veil that separates this life from the next…those who are waiting to thank you for being a showcase of God’s love, mercy, and grace. People who might not be there…

…if it wasn’t for you!

(Thanks for the inspiration, Prodigal Chick!)

Actions

Information

47 responses

25 09 2013
Toni Sprandel

OMG, AGAIN! You are truly an inspiration! Your testimony goes way beyond affecting you, look at that Dr! You were his freakin’ miracle! And he came know Jesus! Woo HOOO! All I can say is, you just keep a writin, sister, and I will keep on a readin’!! Love you!! 🙂

25 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Today I explained why God showered me with so many “supernatural” experiences. In my mind He had a “rap sheet” that was longer than my arm. He went way beyond out of His way to prove that I was wrong about Him. That humbles me.

\o/

25 09 2013
Toni Sprandel

Over and over again, He proves His unconditional love for us!! 🙂

25 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

25 09 2013
StephenWhoElse

There’s a book I read a long time ago titled “God has never failed me, but he’s sure scared me to death a few times”. For some reason, your testimony reminded me of this book, even though it’s not the point of your post.

God is simply amazing beyond our comprehension!

(If you do find that book somewhere, buy it!)

25 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Good news! You can buy it here for $1 plus $2.48 shipping (if you live in the US)!

Abebooks.com is my favorite place to buy books!

He IS amazing beyond comprehension! 🙂

\o/

25 09 2013
StephenWhoElse

🙂
Although paying more for shipping than the cost of the book is a bit weird…!

25 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I completely agree…but a book for a buck? 😉

23 09 2013
God is Good

Hi there. I just reblogged this at godtestimonies.wordpress.com …. It’s such a great testimony. Thankyou for writing it up!
Blessings God IS Good!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re most welcome – and thanks for the reblog!

\o/

23 09 2013
God is Good

Reblogged this on God is Good and commented:
Here is a fantastic testimony that I had to re blog!
Thank you Lessonsbyheart!
It is a testimony of someone in dire straits who is miraculously healed and whose healing becomes the tipping point for a doctor to come to faith ….
Are you in need of a miracle? Get or let someone pray for you … Your miracle may be someone else’s “Freakin’ Miracle” …
Do you know someone needing pray … Pray for them … You never know … Your prayer may unlock a miracle that saves a life (or lives) and becomes another “Freakin’ Miracle” … in a pre-believer’s life …
Give God a go … Pray for someone and the world will see that …
God is Good!

23 09 2013
God is Good

LOVE THIS!
The story lost what the dr said after you told him … What did he say?
I stopped by to say “hi” and I got whammed with a God IS Good story … Thank you soooo much I loved it … Have you prayed for people with the same condition? If not start … In sure you will walk in an authority to see this healed in others lives!
Bless you!
God is Good! X

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

He brushed it off. I guess I didn’t include that because there was – literally – nothing to include. I don’t think he even acknowledged my comment.

(Thanks for pointing that out, though. I’ll go back and insert this info. ;))

\o/

{Oh, and thanks for the reblog!}

23 09 2013
God is Good

No – I went back in and found what he said … At the church … It’s al there! Apologies. X

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

The extra short sentence fit in perfectly – and was needed to give it a better flow. Thanks for your help. I always want to do my best for my Jesus. 🙂

\o/

23 09 2013
God is Good

No – it read brilliantly. It was the sentence at the church that my version did not show the first time … But it did the second … It was the doctors statement about yours being the last miracle on his way to conversion that was missing …

23 09 2013
God is Good

I’m so sorry for the confusion I caused! And I LOVE the story!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for the fine-tuning. We work for the King of kings; let’s give our very best…and equip one another to do likewise. 😉

\o/

23 09 2013
God is Good

It didn’t need find tuning – sometimes words are hard … I mucked up … The comment was in your story perfectly, it just hasn’t shown up … It was the comment at the church from the doctor … Your story didn’t need fine tuning … It was perfect just as it was! My reader didn’t show it properly xxx!!!

24 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

{It’s okay, really!}

I went back and added this sentence: “When you brushed off my explanation, I let it go.”

That addition gave closure to the account I gave to Dr. Mann, which it needed. Otherwise it was an awkward transition; so thanks!

23 09 2013
Mary

Awesome story and a great reminder of Romans 8:28!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

We just never know what the Lord’s up to. Best to simply trust that Father knows best. 😉

\o/

23 09 2013
Steven Sawyer

WOW! That’s all I can say. WOW!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

God’s awesome, isn’t He? 😎

\o/

23 09 2013
Steven Sawyer

Awesome is the best our language can do. He’s so far past awesome, really, that we don’t have a word for it do we. Thanks. You and I need to talk again. Can you and I talk, or would you rather have Rhonda on the call with us. It doesn’t matter to me. You and I just seem to have lots to say back and forth.

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I use all the superlatives I know…and that still doesn’t begin to describe our amazing God!

I’m good with calls either way, and available on Wed or Thurs this week. Tomorrow is my hubby’s birthday, and I’m going away for the weekend to meet up with a lady I met through blogging…but mostly to spend time alone with the Lord. I leave right after work on Friday.

\o/

24 09 2013
Steven Sawyer

I’ll be out of town Thursday through Saturday, so maybe we can talk next week. We can skype or phone. We’ll talk again before then and decide.

24 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

k 😉

\o/

24 09 2013
Steven Sawyer

😎

24 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Tellin’ ya…ya gotta use the dash –

(oh, and make sure you have Settings: Writing set to “change emoticons to graphics on display”)

Then you get this: 😎 , and not this: 8)
(I fixed yours!)

\o/

23 09 2013
walter bright

Wow! that is just moving! He is still in the miracle working business…

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Amen, and you know it! 🙂

\o/

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh, and He doesn’t limit them to one per customer, either. He’s blessed me several times with miraculous interventions.

Why? I’m clueless, but I’ve written several posts to tell about just a few of them.

Maybe it’s because I was like that doctor – with such a horrid understanding of who God really is. I dunno, and I’ve given up trying to figure it out! 😉

Thanks for taking time to read.
\o/

23 09 2013
Tanya M.

Wow! Amazing and awe-inspiring testimony. What a wonderful reminder that there is a purpose for our pain. God uses circumstances to reach out to people around us. Indeed!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

It’s easy to miss the forest for the trees sometimes, isn’t it? 🙂

\o/

23 09 2013
Prodigal Chick

Gods freakin miracles are freakin awesome!!! When He makes a plan there is no stopping it!! They become protected plans – hence my tag line “journey’s of protected plans.” Don’t we know that the path is sometimes rocky and confusing to say the least but He uses every bit and morsel to the greater good of His plans. I love your story and testimony, it is full of insight and inspiration. I see the intricacies of God’s workings!! So wonderful and uplifting!!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I wonder if anyone else was watching at that time? My mom, for sure.

It was fun to finally get to talk to the doc – and to discover the impact my story had on his life. I had no idea!

\o/

23 09 2013
Prodigal Chick

I love it when God reveals and rewards our trials this side of heaven. It is encouraging now to see that our hardships are going toward marvels and changed lives forever and ever!!!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂
\o/

23 09 2013
Prodigal Chick

Oh forgot to say….God was watching with sheer excitement!!!! This may seem odd to you but I relate Harry from Harry and the henderson’s to God when he is happy and excited by his awesome workings!! That’s what jumped in front of my eyes when you said I wonder who else was watching. I giggled with joy!!!!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I LOVE Harry! I can see his silly grin as his eyes dart from side to side! Great visual, gave me the giggles, too!
🙂

\o/

23 09 2013
Prodigal Chick

Yea when he is kicked back in the recliner with the dog watching tv he gets so tickled that he forgets how big and powerful that he is, laughing and smacking the recliner!! I see God that way watching us, we are outrageously funny entertainment for him when we run around trying to fix everything that he already has under his complete control….I tell you I have deep belly laughs right this minute just thinking about God getting that tickled at us !!!!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh, man. You need to make a post out of that. I’ll reblog it every couple of weeks if you do. We need that kind of perspective – a real reality check!

23 09 2013
Prodigal Chick

Ok it’s a deal!!! 🙂

23 09 2013
Pure Glory

God has a way of ambushing us with his love. There is no way we can avoid it. His love changes us and melts our frozen hearts. Thanks so much for sharing your miracle!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

To remember this miracle lifts my spirit through the roof!

\o/

23 09 2013
Pure Glory

🙂

Your turn!

