Hope – Spread Some Around

14 09 2013

To the cupboard I went in search of hope,

For that last little bit in the jar.

There it was in its own little niche

But I’d long ago emptied that jar.

*

“Where, oh where can I get some hope?”

(It can’t be bought in a store)

“I needed so little,” I frantically plead,

“Please tell me where I can get more.”

*

“If you will just trust Me and rest in My care,”

I heard that small voice in my head,

“I’ll lead you and guide you to where you must go.

On your plight some light I will shed.”

*

“Then lead me,” I cried, “and I’ll surely go.

As you see my heart’s full of despair.

My own strength and hope I’ve completely used up.

I’ve no choice but to trust that You care.”

*

As we went on our way He gently explained,

“There is no hope to be found

In stores, or in cupboards, or within yourself.

This you know for you’ve looked all around.

*

“If you’re to find hope I know just where to take you.

To others, who just like yourself,

When searching to find their last little drops

Found a mere empty jar on their shelf.”

*

“If their jars are empty, then why do You lead me

To them?” I cried, “You said, ‘trust!’”

“But their stores are no longer vacant,” said He.

“To go to them is a must.”

*

“For you see, when they found their jars to be void

Of hope…they found the key.

Another shared how her life had been brought

From the depths – to heights walked with Me.”

*

“It’s only through caring and sharing, you know,

That another’s hopes will be raised.

Then when your hope-jar is filled to the brim

There’s only Me to be praised.”

*

And the things that thou hast heard of Me among many witnesses, the same commit thou to faithful (wo)men, who shall be able to teach others also.

2 Timothy 2:2

Actions

Information

Your turn!

