Gleaned Lessons – Your Call To Engage

10 09 2013

Prior to our experience with Brandon, we had never been involved in anything like what I described through the series You Need To Read This. As I told many of you, the episode ranked high on my “weird-o-meter.” If I hadn’t seen it with my own eyes, I doubt I would have believed the story!

It is my understanding that spiritual warfare can’t be reduced to five points and a poem. However, I believe there are some things that can be gleaned from what happened. It is my intent to boil each post down to simplest terms that have value as far as application goes. After all, if there’s no takeaway, then all I’ve done is provide you with a thriller.

Someone needs this breakdown of our story. Perhaps you have an “impossible situation.” You may want to review this information often and adjust it to your particular situation. You read this story for a reason. This was no coincidence.

Let’s begin with Part One – You Need to Read This:

We saw Brandon as a hopeless cause. In God’s mind, there is no such thing.

Every person has value in God’s eyes. After all, He made them. If someone in your life seems worthless, then ask the Lord to give you His heart for them. Ask Him to show you that person through His eyes.

Expect Him to do this. It is His will, so you can ask, confident that He will say, “Yes.”

Seek to find God’s fingerprints at every bend in the road. They are there for the one who has eyes to see. For us, it was my stillborn grandson which the Lord graciously returned to us. Ask Him to give you words to speak to those around you at such times. We used this opportunity to talk to Brandon about his eternal destiny.

Ask the Lord what He wants to do in you through this experience. If there wasn’t something for you to learn, you wouldn’t be in this position.

Utilize your church’s intercessors. That’s what they are there for. Call on them to “stand in the gap (Ezekiel 22:30).” Spiritual warfare is nothing to be ashamed about, or to worry about what others might think. You’re dealing with a person who has been taken prisoner by an enemy who makes Hitler look like Shirley Temple.

Be prepared to hunt for people who are “on the same page” when it comes to this type of battle; for those who are willing to wade into the mess to rescue a lost soul.

Part Two – Faith Like Potatoes:

Listen for God’s voice concerning your POW. For me, He spoke through the movie by the same title. It stretched my faith, and caused me to say often, “I believe; help me with my unbelief.”

Return to the vision God gave you for that person; rehearse it often – especially when things look bleak and impossible. Ask Him to show you how to release the person’s behavior and focus on loving the person. For me it was my God Box. The inspiration He gives you may be very different from mine, but act on what He tells you to do.

LOVE. True love for the person is vital to the success of your mission. Without love, you will be just so much noise and a bunch of hot air. (1 Corinthians 13). Do not actively engage with the person if you can’t do so from a position of love. God will give you the love you need if you ask Him (James 4:2-3).

Remember that this person is GOD’s masterpiece – not yours. If you keep “digging up” your spud, he will not grow. He or she is not your project. but God’s (Ephesians 2:10).

Part Three – Get Me Out of Here:

Keep your eyes on Jesus, not on the problem person; on the Lord, not the waves! Keep reviewing the vision God gave you for him or her.

So long as there is no domestic violence, support the spouse (if there is one). Fill them in on what God has shown you, and keep this truth (for it is truth) before them when things get tough or all seems to be lost.

Teach the spouse about “carpet time.” Get them on their face before God, hands extended with palms up…the problem person in the palms of their hands and offered up to the Lord. Beth spent lots of time in this position!

If someone tosses a book at you and suggests you read it – especially if the topic is out of the ordinary for you – read it! God prepares us for our battles if we are sensitive to His Spirit and leading. Unger’s book, What Demons Can Do To Saints was vital to our understanding of what later came our way. If we’d dismissed this book as silly, the battle would have been much more difficult for us.

Before you dismiss something as bizarre and “too Hollywood,” be sure you search the Scriptures to see what the Bible – and NOT your favorite Bible teacher – has to say on the topic (Acts 17:11).

Keep asking God for help. Believe that He hears your every word…and gives His answer to your cries. Watch for His direction. EXPECT IT (James 1:5-8).

Part FourWhere God Guides He Provides:

If you are seeing demonic oppression in one spouse, be alert for more of the same in the other one. In this instance, my daughter was temporarily overtaken as well. I completely missed this – even though it stared me in the face. Watch for it in the children as well.

Remember that God cares about this person far more than you do. Refuse to carry the burden of their deliverance. You are not their deliverer…merely the hands, feet, and mouth of Jesus. He’s invited you along for the ride because He wants you to learn that “greater is He that is in you than he that is in the world” (1 John 4:4).

Like Corrie, we need to decide, “I believe God’s Word, and if He says I am to do this, then I need to obey, pertaining to Mark 16.” (Disregard the “Bible Version Wars.” All they do is cast doubt on every version of the Bible until your faith becomes weak that any version is reliable. That causes you to enter the battle with a dull knife rather than a sharp Sword! Your doubts will weaken your ability to stand firm. Not good.

Get excited! Jesus is always victorious. You’ve been given the honor of seeing Him at His finest – and to be a participant, if you so choose.

You would not risk open war?

Open war is upon you whether you would risk it or not!

~ Strider from the Lord of the Rings series.

Check back tomorrow for more gleanings!

Actions

Information

14 responses

11 09 2013
Reilly Irvine

Thank you so much for writing this. It is, in a way, relevant to what I have been going through. I would be so grateful if you could read the post I just wrote today and give any help you could. God bless!

11 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m on my way over to your blog now. 🙂

\o/

11 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I reblogged your request. I know that some of my friends here in Blogtopia have experience in this as well.

The peace of the Lord Jesus Christ encompass you today.

\o/

10 09 2013
walter bright

i have that movie – “faith like Potatoes” we’ve watched it so many times – I have stopped counting.

10 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

God used that movie to convince me in my “knower” that no matter what things looked like, or how impossible His promise was, that it’s going to be okay. I can’t describe it (obviously). I was infused with a faith that is indescribable. Today I am watching that story come to pass inch by inch. I stand in awe of our Lord and His faithfulness – not to mention His incredible patience with us.

Do be in prayer for our families. Since I’ve been sharing, we are being attacked on many, many fronts…physical, spiritual, mental, emotional…you name it. The enemy is working overtime to bring division as well. I knew I was kicking a hornet’s nest, but the Lord asked me to do it. How could I refuse?

Thanks!

\o/

10 09 2013
walter bright

you know very that obedience is better sacrifice… so you let Him have his way. It is all for a reason… so that someone will know how good and faithful He is. You know you are in my prayers. Stay blessed and refreshed… no weapon formed shall prosper… in Jesus Name!

10 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

10 09 2013
walter bright

incredible…

10 09 2013
Skye @ TheSanctuaryofMyHeart

You have no idea what it a blessing your shared words are to me. I always find something to take away. Thank you!

10 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

So glad to be the messenger! 🙂

\o/

10 09 2013
Chrystal

Thanks for putting your “gleaned lessons” in this format for us. And believe me, some of your words and phrases are nearly identical to what the Spirit’s been telling me in my heart or Scripture or circumstances or whatever He has chosen to tell me so I can “get” it. Thanks, Tami.

10 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome. I had a fantastic time comparing stories with a Care-a-Van driver today. He had some freaky stuff to add to my pile of the wondrous acts of our Lord. What an honor to be chosen to share this particular one. 🙂

\o/

10 09 2013
StephenWhoElse

This story is simply too amazing , yet it is true. Hallelujah! What an incredible time you have had! It must have been breathtaking and frightening at the same time!

God gave you this life story as a testimony of his power and faithfulness, keep sharing it!

10 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Stephen. If we overcome the adversary by the word of our testimony and the blood of the Lamb, then we simply must tell our stories, and of Jesus’ victory.

God is good all the time! 🙂

\o/

Your turn!

