New Life – Same Old Enemy

6 09 2013

Because Brandon and Beth would live with Nanny until their house was ready for occupation, the couple sold or gave away almost everything they owned. They took only personal possessions, their bed, and a few other things. They were delighted to be a blessing to friends who needed the things they couldn’t take with them.

The court date concerning their overdue medical bills arrived. Brandon explained why they hadn’t been able to make payments. He stated that his family was moving and would need all their available cash for the trip. The judge – as well as the representative from the collection agency – agreed. Brandon was ordered to make small payments as soon as possible. The judge let it go at that.

Their assets were ordered unfrozen. Because they had not been able to access their money, they now had all they needed to pay for the trip across country. We saw the Lord’s hand in this.

Brandon’s Uncle Tommy flew out so he could drive one of their vehicles to Pennsylvania. Being the more experienced driver, he drove the van which towed the U-Haul with their remaining possessions. Brandon, Beth, and the children followed in their SUV.

Everything went well until they got to Wyoming. Shortly after they got on the freeway, they found themselves in a blizzard. The van hit a patch of black ice and began to spin. Brandon and Beth watched the vehicle make a “720” (circled twice!) in the meridian. Amazingly enough, Tommy was not hurt. Neither the van nor the U-Haul were damaged either. They were thankful that the road was clear of any other traffic.

Beth called with the news while they were waiting for a tow truck. We contacted our prayer team, and began to ask the Lord to blow the bad weather away before them. The next morning, all storms between them and Pennsylvania cleared.

Except one.

On the last leg of their journey, Beth called me. She said, “Mom, the battery in my camera is dead. I can’t take a picture.”

“A picture of what?” I asked.

“This is the craziest thing ever, Mom. The road we are driving on is as dry as a bone. All the cars going the other way have their windshield wipers on because it’s pouring on that side of the freeway,” she exclaimed.

God answered our prayers with a beautiful show of His sovereignty.

*****

I wish I could say this is a “Happily Ever After” ending to this story. It’s going to be, but is not so just yet.

Brandon’s hometown experience was much less than he’d hoped for. Churches who do not believe stories like the one I’ve been telling are of little help to someone who is in the process of being delivered by the Lord. The folks there loved them, but were not equipped to come alongside them and show them the way to freedom. They were mostly on their own.

One week before I was scheduled to present the story you’ve just read, Brandon went to a friend’s house and got drunk.

Not just a little bit, either.

His blood alcohol level was 533.

He should have died.

Because he didn’t have identification (again), when he was taken to the hospital, they ran numerous tests to figure out what the damages were.

Among them was another MRI. His brain…?

Completely intact!

*****

Strongholds do not always go away in an instant. The heart is new, instead of the old stony one, but the mind needs renewal, and that is a process, as I’ve learned from my own life. The Lord has work yet to do, and is faithfully working on Brandon’s complete transformation.

In July, the Lord moved them to my town. Once again, God’s hand was visible in their finances.

Beth worked in Pennsylvania as a bus driver. Unwittingly, the company only paid her for two of the three days per week that she worked. The error came to light only weeks before they hoped to make the move to California.

A check was cut – exactly what was needed to pay for a U-Haul trailer!

When Beth’s final paycheck was deposited into their account, they watched their pennies. It was going to be a very lean trip…there wasn’t much money for gas or food.

Brandon went to the bank to withdraw a bit – then called Beth to tell her that there was more money than she thought…by a few hundred dollars. Confused, she called the bank to point out their error.

When the bank assured her that no error was made, Beth called her boss. He said, “Surprise! We gave you a bonus for your excellent work!”

Where God guides, He provides. Why do we expect Him to do anything less?

Now that they are here, many wonderful men have come alongside him and are being used of the Lord to lead Brandon into all truth.

My unspoken prayer request from last month is for his upcoming court appearance for prowling, resisting arrest, and stealing a patrol car. I didn’t mean to be dramatic, but had not been released to tell this story at that time…and prayer IS needed for the situation. There are other strongholds that need to be destroyed, as well. Thank you for your prayers for this family.

Although I can’t see the end with my eyes, I have faith; which is the assurance of things hoped for, and the evidence of things not yet seen.

God never begins anything He doesn’t intend to finish, so this isn’t over…

…not by a long shot!

for

Jesus is always victorious!

This is my "God Box," my heart-shaped potato, and my prayer shawl.

This is my “God Box,” my heart-shaped potato, and my prayer shawl.

This story has left us all with much to digest. On Monday, I’ll give a recap of the things we learned along the way. This was, by far, the greatest lesson learned by heart at the feet of Jesus, for there was no other way we would have made it through these events without His ever-present guidance and encouragement. Thank you for letting me share our story with you.

We serve a mighty God! This story begins here: You Need to Read This

Part 2: Faith Like Potatoes

Part 3: Get Me Out of Here

Part 4: Where God Guides

Part 5: Stranger Than Fiction

Part 6: There Will Be More Than One

Part 7: Not Over Yet

Part 8: Our Tenacious Enemy

Part 9: What On Earth?

Actions

Information

49 responses

1 06 2015
isaiah41v10

This was great to read – praising God! I have also experienced demonic oppression, but now can recognise when it happens and can ask others to pray for me or pray myself. This happened a few weeks ago when I got very angry with my family and was about to leave the house – just wanted to get away. It came out of the blue and I suddenly realised, “This is not right.” I turned away from the car keys and said to my husband, “Will you pray for me?” He did, and whatever it was left immediately, and I was fine and at peace once more. I think a lot of things we blame on psychological problems have a spiritual root. Another very useful book is “Inner Healing through Healing of Memories” by Betty Tapscott.

1 06 2015
lessonsbyheart

We are praising God as well. My son-in-love is a different man today. God has done (and continues to do) a mighty work in this young man. I’d never have guessed we would be so crazy about him, based on what he was like nine years ago. God is good!

It’s easy to forget the spiritual side of life…especially that we have an enemy who wants to destroy us. For a while, hubby and I wore stickers that read, “I am not the enemy.” It sounds silly, but helped us to remember who was instigating our conflicts.

Thanks for taking time to read. Good to “e-see” you again. I’ve been away for a bit while God is doing some renovating on my heart! He has been changing the way I look at things, for sure.

\o/

21 09 2013
sagescenery

I read all your 9 posts last night…couldn’t stop ’til I was done!! Yes, write a book!! I just finished reading, The Veil by Blake Healy…we do have authority over darkness, if we’ll bring Jesus’ Light with us-in us wherever we go! I also read Pastor Bill Johnson’s book, When Heaven Invades Earth…both books made me say, “Oh, yes…we’re finally getting it!!!”

We have always portrayed demons/darkness in our dramas…because we ministered to teens…and now we outreach in communities…some parents have an issue, but we’re in no way worshiping them…we’re saying, “Hallelujah, Jesus has power over any oppression or possession!! Our Lord always wins!! Amen!

21 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Crazy story, eh? I’m so glad God led me to write it down at the time so I wouldn’t have to write my “best recollection.”

Go for it! May the Lord lead you in how to teach others about the authority we’ve been given.

We, in no way, went looking for this stuff. God brought it to our house! We had no choice in the matter. Thankfully, He had been preparing us for this fateful episode! 🙂

\o/

21 09 2013
sagescenery

I agree…people are always saying, ‘Why me???” But as a Christian, we have to say, “Why not me?” Because obviously God knows we’ll obey, and do what He asks!!! In my life…I have found…He asks hard things sometimes!!

Yes, you were ready…and obedient!! Amen!

21 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Well…mostly scared out of my mind! If it wasn’t for the Lord assuring me that He was with us every moment, I’d have buckled! As it was it took me almost 24 hours before I would even talk to my poor son-in-law. He was scary – and I’m a chicken at heart (but becoming stronger, thanks to the Lord!).

We’re still watching this story. Brandon has a court date in a couple of months. We’re praying that the Lord would have the charges dropped and Brandon would be exonerated from everything. We’ll see what God has in mind. 😉

\o/

22 09 2013
sagescenery

Saved to Serve!!

Brandon will have quite a testimony when God is finished with what He has planned…think of all the people he will help…and the souls he will help snatch from Hell!!!!

22 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

So true. However, the enemy is hard at work at the moment. One of his proteges from the Air Force was out star-gazing with his girlfriend. Mid-sentence he stepped backward…and off the edge of the cliff they were on. It was accidental…and a 900 foot drop.

Brandon’s pretty broken up over the incident, and angry with God. He’d been hoping to see the fellow and tell him about what the Lord has done in him. 😦

\o/

23 09 2013
sagescenery

Oh my!! Isn’t that just like the lying enemy of our soul!! He seeks..he kills…he destroys…but I always say when he’s trying so hard…it’s because God has something miraculously awesome waiting to happen for us right around the next corner…and the enemy knows it!! He knows God’s going to win and we’re going to stand!!

I’ll be right here praying!!!!

23 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Glad to know you’ve got our backs! 🙂

\o/

24 09 2013
sagescenery

Yup!! Prayer warrior…at attention!!!! Ready to do spiritual warfare in the strength of God!!

24 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Fantastic! Don’t miss the prayer request I posted today. The young woman was raised in a Christian home, but rebelled after leaving home to go to college.

The “thief” is hard at work, but he can’t have this one! 😉

\o/

24 09 2013
sagescenery

Yes, I will agree with you in prayer…Our Good Shepherd will leave the ninety-nine to find His lost sheep! Amen!

24 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Amen!
\o/

7 09 2013
I HAVE A VOICE

magnificent faith promoting!

7 09 2013
Chrystal

I haven’t been around too many folks who REALLY believe this could happen…in LITERAL strongholds. I’ve experienced a few things that I’ve told only a few people…and I’m not even sure if those few people really believe it. So consequently, it makes me doubt myself….we have a new pastor…maybe I’ll talk to her….

7 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Believe it – it’s real…and far more prevalent than we want to think. Keep talking to believers until you find some who DO believe. DO NOT engage the enemy with half-hearted help. They’ll get their rear ends kicked! One fellow who assisted us had nightmares for weeks afterward.

God bless you as you go after this POW. We need more like you!

\o/

7 09 2013
Jubilee Journey

Reblogged this on Jubilee Journey and commented:
This is a powerful story of God’s love and goodness. It shows that no matter how hopeless with Jesus nothing is impossible. There are nine posts in this story and each kept me spellbound.

7 09 2013
Jubilee Journey

I just finished this whole story (glad I found it late…I would have gone nuts waiting for the next installment.) It gives me chills & thrills to see the power of Jesus at work. We certainly do serve and awesome and amazing God. Thank you for sharing. I look forward to more.

7 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for taking the time to read. It was tough to break the story up into bite-sized pieces, but seemed best if I wanted folks to read it (which, of course, I did!).

Jesus showed Himself to be far more powerful than I’d ever dared hope to believe. Wow. We don’t begin to understand His mighty power. 🙂

\o/

7 09 2013
Moore to ponder

I have been reading all of the parts to this checking each day to see if there was a new part to read. So they are in California now. I forgot where you lived. My nest has recently become completely empty for the first time.

I can’t imagine what it must be like to have your child far away…especially when there is so much difficulty. My heart goes out to you and your family.

I understand about churches tendencies to be more like little businesses than “Good Samaritans”. For this reason my husband and I have been hesitant to affiliate since 2008. The blog world has been my most consistent place to “assemble” since then. I am also interested in what some people call organic church. I am praying for you and your family. Please do the same for us.

7 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for your sweet comments.

I certainly will pray for you and your family. We’re fortunate to have a congregation that is more like a family. We’re about 500 members strong, and of them, probably 80% are involved in ministry of one sort or another.

We also attend “home church” – which happens to meet at our home on Mondays. We have a fantastic smaller family of about 15 – 20 people. More ministry to one another takes place in the smaller setting than we ever see on a Sunday in the big group. Where I’d have been without them during this episode with my son-in-law, I do not know. They were vital, and involved in the entire process. I love ’em!

Having the kids whisked away by the Lord to PA immediately following Brandon’s deliverance was very hard. I wasn’t completely confident that he was in the clear, so I had to rest in Jesus’ ability to care for them.

How thankful I am to have them close at hand now – and Brandon has a fantastic godly mentor here, too. I can’t wait to see the end of this story. 🙂

With kids – I know what you mean. I have 7, and last year was the first time in 33 years that I had an empty nest. It was very weird. By then. most of them had moved away from our home town. My oldest son is in Florida with his family, Beth was in PA, her sister in Oregon, my second son in Vegas, and the others sprinkled about.

I talked to the Lord about my “blessed full quiver” (now empty – and said, “This doesn’t feel very “blessed.” He pointed out that the object of an arrow was to shoot it out so it could hit its mark. I instantly got what He was saying – and was put at ease with their absence since then. 🙂

Have a wonder-full day!
\o/

7 09 2013
Moore to ponder

“He pointed out that the object of an arrow was to shoot it out so it could hit its mark.” There is something so profound about that statement. I have read the verse about the quiver, but never heard that other thought. I got goosebumps when I read it.

Blessings,
Theresa

7 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Isn’t that cool? I’ve learned that when Jesus speaks to a situation, everything changes…and becomes okay! He is awesome.

\o/

6 09 2013
Pure Glory

God never gives up on us. Brandon demonstrates this truth. God hears and answers prayer. His destiny as a powerful man of God is to destroy the works of the enemy and bring many into the kingdom of God. This is why the battle is so intense! Praise God!

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I wish I could fast-forward to the end and see the outcome. It will be fun!

\o/

6 09 2013
Pure Glory

Oh, the results will amaze you! God is redeeming what the enemy meant for evil. Enjoy the ride!
🙂

6 09 2013
Kathleen

This reminded me of a book I read with my kids years ago called And The Word Came With Power. Satan and his minions are very real- Jesus dealt with them Himself! It is amazing that the 21st Century Church has been duped into not acknowledging his presence, thereby loosing so much power. Thank you for sharing your family’s story. It has been quite a journey following the past 2 weeks as we read along! God is being glorified and He will be glorified in Brandon’s life, Beth’s life and in the lives of your grandchildren. He promises that.Thank you for calling all of us to join you in praying for them.

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for taking time to read. I’m going to look up that book. It sounds good – and perhaps helpful. Other incidents like this have reared their heads since this happened two years ago, just not as dramatic.

\o/

6 09 2013
Toni Sprandel

Amen, we do serve a mighty God! I am so happy they are back out there with you and Wendell to help them. God is so good! 🙂

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yes, with us and with many other good and godly people who have a form of godliness…and do not deny the power thereof. God is good!

\o/

6 09 2013
tinabrenee

Looking at that God box gives me absolute chills. You had no idea of neither the fury nor the fight that your seemingly small act of obedience would unleash, yet you would not turn back one single moment of it. For in the end, a beautiful soul is being salvaged and the other unwitting story participants’ thinking is being transformed along the way. From the day Brandon was delivered into that little red box and up until he has accomplished every piece of the plan for his life, The Lord will continue to get all the glory. I am going to be praying specifically for both Brandon and Beth as my spirit leads. She must be just as strong and determined as her mama! Keep it coming! You bring tremendous strength to your readers and I thank you for that.

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

We all appreciate your prayers. The change in Brandon is simply amazing! He “dresses up” real good. 🙂

The things God uses to achieve His purposes, eh? Who’d have thought? I preserved that potato in resin so I have it as a forever kind of reminder!! 🙂

\o/

6 09 2013
nopew

Worse than sad that some “Christians” deny demonic activity. A possessed woman spearheaded my eventual suspension from ministry, and when we prayed for her a formerly strong supporter turned against me – no such things as demons, and the religious bureaucracy increased their assault because I used the “d” word. But demons are real, and I’m glad you have told the story in detail, because we do not fight against flesh and blood, but against powers…

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

What’s wrong with that picture? Being suspended for engaging in spiritual warfare…really? That grieves my heart.

Until recently, these kids lived in different states from us. They attended five different churches, seeking help. The minute the “d” word was introduced, they were treated like lepers. Not one of those churches recognized the demonic activity as such – just saw them as “more work than they were worth.”

Pathetic.

Getting a proper perspective on this changes how we approach difficult situations. Instead of hating people, we can see the forces at work through them, and battle against our true enemy.

Oh, how I wish we “got” this. 😦

\o/

6 09 2013
nopew

I’m with you.
5 congregations, eh? I just don’t get that…

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Me neither!

\o/

6 09 2013
Lisa Vanderbilt

This is an amazing story. You should write a book when the time is right.

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

That’s a great idea. I’ve only told about 1/10th of the story. So much happened during that week alone. God certainly expanded our horizons as far as the spiritual battle goes!

\o/

6 09 2013
Marijo Phelps

You would totally LOVE my publisher too – they are full service, pray about everything and love to help Christian writers – feel it is their calling! AND they are all writers (most of the whole team). http://stonebridgepublications.com/

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks! All I need at the moment is time to write a book. 😉

\o/

6 09 2013
Lisa Vanderbilt

When you write the book, just let me know and I’ll be glad to review it for you. 🙂

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Lisa. I appreciate that. 🙂

\o/

6 09 2013
Marijo Phelps

Cannot wait for more! I was an alcoholic when I got saved and it took our Jesus 3 weeks to totally and completely deliver me – other areas took longer and some went ever faster than the drinking… PRAISING HIM all my life long!!!

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hallelujah! He is so good to us! 🙂

\o/

6 09 2013
journeyofjoy

Amen!

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

And amen!

\o/

6 09 2013
Heidi Viars

Thank you so much for your faithful posts. May He be glorified. May your faith continue to carry you today and tomorrow, as it has in the past … He is the Alpha and Omega … Blessings!

6 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Heidi. I’m thankful that God knows the end from the very beginning…that He sees us all as finished work. He is faithful to us, although I can’t for the life of me understand why – I can be so faithless.

May the Lord’s face shine brightly upon you today!

\o/

Your turn!

