“There Will Be More Than One”

2 09 2013

At the same time, the Lord impressed upon me the need to get as many people involved as possible. It was important that no one person could be accredited with Brandon’s deliverance.

God alone was to receive the glory. 

(This was the same message Brandon received the day before at the rest stop, although we didn’t piece this together until later.)

Saturday was a wild day. Brandon and I had long conversations that were interspersed with prayer.

At other times, he had periods of silence when he was listening to the voices in his head. These were followed by crying jags and senseless statements.

At my wits end, and without thinking about it, I said, “Demon of confusion, in the Name of Jesus Christ and by the power of His shed blood, you have to leave. Go wherever the Lord Jesus send you.” Brandon’s thoughts instantly became clear.

I was stunned – and also encouraged.

The calm lasted about an hour, and then we were right back where we started.

As with Beth’s convulsions at the hospital, the children were completely unaware of what was happening with their father. Even Landon (who previously would not leave his dad alone), did not disturb us.

Over and over, I would remind Brandon, “Jesus is always victorious!”

The Lord gave me great confidence in this truth. He also reminded me of His words on the cross:

“It is finished!”

Oh Lord,” I breathed, “make it so for Brandon!”

I called a couple of people and described what I was experiencing. I was hoping for help, without actually asking for it. None was forthcoming because of the way I “hemmed and hawed” about needing assistance. I was on my own. I kept reminding the Lord that I was clueless and desperately needed His help.

One of the things Beth, my husband, and I prayed for was the assistance of warring angels to protect everyone involved. We needed all the help we could get!

Bedtime was a welcomed relief. I was on the worship team and had to be at the church early the next morning, so we all went to bed.

Beth later reported that during the night, Brandon cried out in pain. She began to sing over him and pray for him as she stroked his head. After a while, he settled down and went to sleep.

The next morning, I left a note on the table addressed to Brandon, stating that I hoped to see him at church.

Between sound check and first service, I saw Brandon being taken into the kitchen by one of the elders. Neither Wendel nor I knew he was at the church, and no one from our fellowship knew who he was or what was going on.

They saw a desperate man in need of prayer, and reached out.

After first service, and without knowing Brandon’s connection to us, the elder commented to me, “Man, that guy is really oppressed!” as he passed by me on his way into the sanctuary. I told him who the man was, and that we’d been praying over him since Friday night.

About that time, a deacon we’d called on Saturday arrived. We told him about the elder who had spent the entire first service in prayer with Brandon.

The elder and the deacon found Brandon, took him into the church’s kitchen and began to pray over him again. Another man joined in the battle for my son-in-law.

When the elder realized what the time was, he found Wendel and said, “I’ve got to go. I teach a Sunday School class. I’m should have already been in my room.” Wendel told him that someone else had already stepped in and taken care of his class for him.

The elder was now free to continue in the prayer session for Brandon. 

By the time I’d finished worship for the second service, the men had moved out behind the church. I was greatly concerned when I saw Brandon suddenly collapse onto the ground and get up, only to collapse again. This happened several times.

Remembering that both of Brandon’s hips were artificial, that he’d had back surgery the year before, and had two more disks that were deteriorating and would soon need surgery, I feared what these sudden impacts were doing to his poor body. I asked God to protect these areas and not allow more damage to take place.

Meanwhile, Wendel took Landon out the front doors of the church to the curb by the parking lot. Our grandson, who normally loves Sunday school, was screaming uncontrollably. At about the time the “last” demon was cast out of his dad behind the church, Landon suddenly stopped crying and sat peacefully in his grandfather’s arms.

In about five minutes, he was asleep. 

Brandon and the deacon stayed at the church until about two in the afternoon. They sat in the sanctuary where worship music still played over the speakers. It appeared that Brandon had been restored; however, as soon as they were out of earshot of the music, Brandon became like a little child. He kept running off in all directions. Wendel and the deacon kept redirecting Brandon to get him to the truck so they could come home.

We knew it wasn’t over yet.

If you think you dropped into the middle of a story, you’re right. It begins here: You Need to Read This

Part 2: Faith Like Potatoes

Part 3: Get Me Out of Here!

Part 4: Where God Guides

Part 5: Stranger Than Fiction

Actions

Information

18 responses

3 09 2013
Toni Sprandel

I am just so excited to see the actual physical release of the demons from Brandon. This is testimony that can not be refuted! Praise the LORD for all He does and will continue to do in all your lives!! 🙂

3 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Continue to pray for them. There are many strongholds to be dismantled yet. 🙂

\o/

2 09 2013
I HAVE A VOICE

Prayer is always necessary but I believe the joining of prayer & fasting is added power to hinder the Adversary ~ wonderful post!

2 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Prayer, fasting, and Jesus. Powerful combination to be sure!

\o/

2 09 2013
Pure Glory

Thank God for deliverance and those who listen to the voice of God and follow his lead. We wrestle not with flesh and blood but against principalities. Praise God that he rescues us and uses fellow believers. Powerful testimony!

2 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m still in awe of the Lord whenever I remember what He did two years ago. It was phenomenal!

\o/

2 09 2013
Pure Glory

🙂

3 09 2013
Toni Sprandel

AMEN & AMEN!

3 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

3 09 2013
Pure Glory

😀

2 09 2013
Prodigal Chick

Thank you Lord for the diligent and relentless hearts to free Brandon!!

2 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

In all, about 40 people answered the call to get involved – some directly, some by way of intercession and prayer covering. It was phenomenal to see!

\o/

2 09 2013
Prodigal Chick

:). I am going through same situation with my future daughter in law. Very beginning of the battle. I have been in warfare prayer. The demons manifested Saturday morning against me with a vengeance. She doesn’t even know what is going on. She is being treated for bi polar disorder and is seeing a psychiatrist. She is not saved. She says I am driving her crazy and I am the cause of her mental sickness. But we know it is the demons fighting their inevitable expungement!!! Please keep her in prayer, she needs Jesus!!!! Thank you!

2 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Will do. It IS you who is driving her crazy…actually, it’s Jesus IN you. Did you notice that in the NT demons manifested in His presence? That’s good.

Praying and praising Jesus for entrusting her to your care, and for the deliverance and salvation that He will provide through your ordeal.

I wrote, “Jesus is ALWAYS victorious” on my hallway wall where it was easily seen. It is my continual reminder to keep my eyes on the vertical – and not the horizontal!

Can’t wait for the praise report. 🙂

\o/

2 09 2013
Prodigal Chick

It is Jesus in me driving the demons crazy and jesus is leading the way!! Thank you for praying!! And yes we need reminders that jesus wins when it gets ugly!

2 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Woohoo! What a ride, eh? 😉

\o/

2 09 2013
nopew

It doesn’t happen often enough, but I am so delighted that an elder noticed (Step 1) and did something (Step 2) and kept going (Step 3). Also delighted that someone followed God’s call and stepped in to take that class so the deacon could follow God’s call in this process. Sometimes victory comes in a single, swift battle. Sometimes it takes much longer. “[Jesus] told them, ‘This kind of spirit can be forced out only by prayer [and fasting]’ ” (Mark 9:29 GW).
Peace

2 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

While our congregation may have other “issues” – wading into the briers and mud to rescue sheep isn’t one of them. That’s why we’ve stayed with them for fourteen years!

In all, the Lord called upon about forty people from our group to intercede and get involved in one way or another. Some who were invited declined the call. Their loss! Those who answered the call were blessed!

\o/

Your turn!

