Stranger Than Fiction

31 08 2013

Write this.
Write what you see.
Write it out in big block letters
so that it can be read on the run.
This vision… is a witness
pointing to whats coming.
It aches for the comingit can hardly wait!
And it doesn’t lie.
If it seems slow in coming, wait.
Its on its way. It will come right on time…”

(Habakkuk 2:2-3)

The nearer Beth and Brandon got to our home, the more agitated he became. He began to say things like, “I don’t think this is a good idea,” and “Maybe we should just go home.”

They stopped at  a rest area about half-way between our houses. Brandon ran to the fence and jumped over it – no easy task for a man who’s had back surgery and both hips replaced, who lived with excruciating pain.

Brandon later told us that he’d seen a great light in the field and had to run toward it.

(It took several weeks to piece together what took place in that field. He later told us that a voice came from the light and said, “There will not be just one name.”)

When they were about thirty miles from our home, Brandon took off his seat belt and began to open the door…

…on the freeway.

His “fight or flight” mechanism kicked in, and He was trying to run away.

Beth told him to get his seat belt back on.

Confused, he asked, “What?”

She pointed to the buckle in his hand and told him to refasten it. Surprised to find his seat belt off, he obeyed.

They arrived at around eight-fifteen that evening. Our company was just leaving, so we introduced everyone the kids to our guests.

Brandon was agitated; face flushed, and eyes wild. He heard voices and thought we were “in his mind,” talking to him. He paced continually. He left the house on foot for a couple of short walks, then returned to tell us his new “understanding” from his contemplation.

Nothing he said made sense.

 We also noticed a strange attachment between him and his three-year-old son, Landon. It was as if the boy had some sort of power over his dad. Landon would lead him all over the house. Every so often, Landon picked up one thing or the other and dash it on the floor while his dad looked on – then Brandon picked up the pieces and set them back in place. It was bizarre.

Eventually, we got Landon to sleep. We talked with Brandon, and prayed over the situation.

We had no idea what to do.

 My own prayers were of the, “Oh God, if You can help us, please do so,” variety. I excused myself and headed for my room when I saw Corrie’s book. It’s title stared me in the face:

JESUS IS VICTOR

Of course!

Dear Lord Jesus, You already won this battle on the cross. What am I thinking? Here, I’ve been saying “if” You can. Forgive me. You are already victorious. Help us to take possession of what You have done! You are always victorious.

 A sense of great anticipation and faith flooded my being. I clapped my hands together for joy. I told Brandon that Jesus had already beaten the enemy – that this visit was no coincidence, and I couldn’t wait to see what God was going to do.

I felt confident trust in the Lord…

…and had peace that passes all understanding!

Don’t miss the next chapter in this story. It will continue on Monday.

If you missed the beginning of this display of God’s power and glory, you can find it here: You Need To Read This!

Part 2: Faith Like Potatoes

Part 3: Get Me Out of Here!

Part 4: Where God Guides

Actions

Information

28 responses

20 09 2013
stockdalewolfe

You hooked me and had me. A gripping story. Scary and inspirational at once. Must have been very hard.

20 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Life with Jesus is never boring, that’s for sure! 🙂

\o/

31 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

This is getting sooooo good! I too am so glad you are sharing it here on your blog. Especially if anyone else is going thru something like this, your testimony can really help them. Have a great weekend!

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

There are some of my kids’ friends who will be in church tomorrow as a result of reading this story! That’s exciting, to be sure.

\o/

31 08 2013
Kari Anne Dorstad

Thanks for sharing. I’m still learning more about mental illness and how demonic forces play a major role. I do know that Jesus is the only answer.

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yes, they can. Not always, to be sure, but one Preacher I heard said, “Rebuke first, ask questions later.”

Wendel and I have adopted this approach. If Jesus gave us authority over all the power of the enemy, He surely must have thought that we’d need it.

\o/

31 08 2013
obiamaka onyebum

Wow! Praise God, just reading this and I’m scrolling for the entire series. Awesome God. We are more than conquerors through Christ. Alleluia!

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Isn’t He amazing? How good of Him to give us authority over all the power of the evil one, eh? And all the help we needed to get through in one piece. We were so clueless!

\o/

31 08 2013
findingmyinnercourage

Thank you for sharing such a fascinating series that indeed has captured my heart! I am hooked anxiously awaiting the next in the series! God is good!

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

We’re halfway through the story. Thanks for sticking with me! 🙂

\o/

31 08 2013
findingmyinnercourage

Oh I’m not just sticking with you I am literally glued to this! : )

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

{giggle}

Spoiler alert: God wins!

\o/

31 08 2013
findingmyinnercourage

Noooooooo, no spoiler alerts! {giggle}

31 08 2013
Mary C Wilson Andrews

Looking forward to the next post! Glad you are sharing~Mary

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

What a privilege God is providing for me to share this story. Friends of theirs are coming to church as a result!

\o/

31 08 2013
Mary C Wilson Andrews

I love that by sharing this story, “God is working all things out for His good” (Romans 8:28). Rock on!

31 08 2013
Heidi Viars

Is that what happens when you leave the blog world for a few weeks??? Argh…. making my way back through your blog, sister 🙂 You got me hooked!

31 08 2013
Heidi Viars

whew… all caught up … and how excited I am for it! Sister, you have a wonderful way of capturing our hearts … can’t wait to hear what God has done for you and your family~

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

God is in the process of taking care of the last details. It’s been a wild ride, that’s for sure!

\o/

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

31 08 2013
Robin Claire

This story has me on the edge of my seat. I can hardly wait til monday to see what happens next.

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m so thankful I obeyed the Lord’s prompting and wrote everything down when it happened. This isn’t my “best recollection” of a two-year event. It’s real-time documentation. God is good!

\o/

31 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Great post. Sad we won’t get another till Monday!! Love you sister!!!

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Love you too!

\o/

31 08 2013
Pure Glory

Yes, Jesus is victor! Looking forward to the next installment.

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂
\o/

31 08 2013
dianarasmussen

Loving this series, what a testimony!

31 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

What a God!

\o/

Your turn!

