Where God Guides He Provides

30 08 2013

An hour after the delivery, Beth was sitting up on the bed, holding the baby. Suddenly her face went white and she said she felt like she was going to be sick. I quickly took the baby from her arms and laid her on the bed between Beth’s feet, then reached for a bag to catch any vomit.

Suddenly, Beth’s eyes rolled back in her head, she began to convulse and foam at the mouth.

I rushed to the head of the bed, and told Brandon, “Grab the baby.” I pulled the emergency light and yelled for a nurse, then gathered Beth in my arms and said,

“Lord Jesus, You’ve got to help us.”

To my astonishment, Beth sat straight up in the bed and asked, “Why did you say that?” Then she began to convulse again.

That was weird!

The nurses rushed in and checked her vitals. They couldn’t figure out what was wrong.

About ten minutes later, this happened again. When I told the nurse that Beth was convulsing, she assured me that she’d only passed out. I explained that I knew the difference between the two, but she dismissed me as an over-reactive mom.

While all of this was taking place, Destiny and Landon were sitting only a few feet away from the bed. They were completely oblivious to the flurry of activity in the room – nurses and doctors rushing in, the alarm going off. It was as if angels were there with their wings spread to shield them.

This was no place for the children, so I told Brandon that I’d take them home and put them to bed (it was ten p.m. by then). Although I wanted to stay to manage Beth’s health care, I knew that this must be left in the hands of her husband.

It wasn’t until midnight that I finally left Beth in the care of my more-than-capable Father

(where she had been all along),

and went to sleep.

Brandon came home to get the kids in the morning. Although Beth had gone through a few more episodes the night before, they were over, and so were his

– or so it seemed…

That evening, Brandon stayed home with us, and we talked. Although he spent enormous amounts of time in the Bible, his understanding of it was very strange. He often didn’t finish his sentences – and what he said made no sense. His Bible readings were punctuated with foul language. This indicated that something was very wrong. Mid-conversation, he would get up and go outside to read his Bible again. It was very unnerving.

The next morning, Beth and Jordyn came home from the hospital. As soon as they were settled, I high-tailed it for home.

Over the next week, Beth and I talked often on the phone. She was very concerned for Brandon. His behavior continued to deteriorate. He was more and more excitable, and made little sense. He wasn’t being aggressive – just agitated, and spent most of the day and night pacing, reading his Bible, and taking tons of notes.

Meanwhile, I discovered “Sermon Index” on the Internet. One of the speakers was Corrie Ten Boom. Hers is a fantastic story, her love for the Lord an inspiration. One of her messages was entitled, “Our Authority Over Demons.” I was curious about what this elderly woman had to say on the topic, so my husband and I listened to the podcast.

Her text was Mark 16. There we are told that we have been given authority to cast out demons. I decided that if that sweet little old lady could obey the command of the Lord, and cast out demons in His name, then I should tuck away this information. Then I could be strong if I ever ran into someone with a demon.

Corrie said, “I believe God’s Word, and if He says I am to do this, then I need to obey.”

Little did I know!

She talked about some books she’d written about her experiences as she followed this command. I ordered several of them from Abebooks.com. “Jesus is Victor” is one of my favorites. I laid the book where I could read the title and be reminded of all Jesus did on the cross.

On Tuesday, I went to a thrift shop. They had a book of Israeli maps that I wanted.

Since I was paying by card, I needed to spend another four dollars in order to avoid a service charge. I looked around in the “Spiritual” section and found a book by Ron Phillips entitled, “Vanquishing the Enemy.”

Wendel and I finished Unger’s book, read one by Tozer, then read another book by Unger on demonization. As stated earlier, this isn’t a normal interest for us. We spend our time reading the Bible or commentaries.

Beth called after Jordyn’s two-week checkup on Wednesday. The doctor was dissatisfied with her weight gain, and told Beth to supplement with a bottle.

This was the hand of God, making preparations for the next week.

On Friday at three o’clock, Beth called to say that Brandon wanted to come down for the weekend, to her surprise. I told her that we’d be happy to have them. She said,

“That’s good, because he’s already packing the car.”

Don’t miss this continuing story tomorrow!

If you missed the beginning of this showcase of God’s power, you can find it here: You Need To Read This!

Part 2: Faith Like Potatoes

Part 3: Get Me Out of Here!

Actions

Information

20 responses

30 08 2013
Robin Claire

Is Brandon bipolar? or is he being demon-possessed?
I’m bipolar and this sounds just like me during a manic attack.
I might be demon-possessed though, as I came from a house full of demons running the family around like lunatics.
Is the story still unfolding or has it completed itself?
blessings always,
robin

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh, Robin. This story will probably take at least another week to tell. At that point, it will be told only through two years ago. God is still at work – but now it’s to wrap up the loose ends.

Keep reading. It’s pretty amazing! 😉 (Taking Sunday off, though).

\o/

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

If you’ve never been through The Seven Steps to Freedom by Neil Anderson, I would recommend it – especially considering your history. You can e-mail me for more info, if you want. batransformed1@yahoo.com

\o/

30 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

This is really getting good, I am waiting for the next part! 🙂

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Tomorrow – taking Sunday off!

\o/

30 08 2013
I HAVE A VOICE

Bravo ! BEAUTIFUL writing and intriguing !

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

As I told Valerie, I didn’t have to dress this up or try to sensationalize it – it had enough of it’s own. What a wild ride!

\o/

30 08 2013
Valerie Rutledge

You’ve got me hooked, Tami! I know this isn’t just a “story” but you are an awesome story-teller 😉

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m glad that it’s readable. I don’t have to sensationalize – this was the craziest thing I’ve ever been through in my life. It gets weirder! 🙂

\o/

30 08 2013
Kari Anne Dorstad

I was just thinking truth is stranger then fiction! Thanks for sharing your family ‘s story.

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome. Sometimes it certainly is! See you tonight. 🙂

\o/

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

That’s funny, Kari. You’ve given tomorrow’s title away. 😉

\o/

30 08 2013
Ed

If I were a husband or doctor and I heard my wife did that at the hospital, I would be concerned….

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Her reaction when I asked Jesus for help was what threw me. If there hadn’t been so many other bizarre things going on at the time, I’d have jumped in with some spiritual warfare on the spot. All of it together was so overwhelming and seemed so hopeless.

But God…!

\o/

30 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Oh my goodness tami!!! This one tells me just what the next week is going to entail. I will leave it at that so to not spoil it for everyone else! But Immediately my reaction was to fall on my face and cry out to god for ….!!
I am on the edge of my seat awaiting the details!! Mercy!!

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

There’s one more post for this story tomorrow. Sunday I’ll give it a rest, then continue on Monday.

I’m telling you, my weird-o-meter doesn’t even register where things went from here!

\o/

30 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

I have a good idea where it went!! I love how you call it the weird o meter!! I have felt weird, different and not made of this world since I was six years old which I am going to post the first of my story this weekend. Oh girl can’t wait to read your post tomorrow!!

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m looking forward to yours as well. I felt the same way when I was very young – like I didn’t fit somehow. Get to writing, would ya? 😉

\o/

30 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

I feel you completely and better yet The Lord put you and I together as help mates. Who better to understand and lift up but someone that has walked and lived it!! I will keep you in prayer in the days to come for those lying lip voices to cease operation and to desist from speaking into your ear any longer!!! Yes mam I am writing but The Lord keeps adding to my first post, if he is willing later today I can publish!! 🙂

30 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yay!!! (And thanks 🙂 )

\o/

Your turn!

