Get Me Out of Here!

29 08 2013

“Mom, he’s acting crazy. I don’t know what to do. He reads and reads his Bible, and then tells me about his insights, but I can’t understand his point. I don’t think I can take any more of this.”

I reminded her again that God said Brandon was His “spud.” We needed to trust the Lord to work this out in His timing. In the meantime, we had to keep praying for Brandon.

In July, Terry, a friend of ours, tossed a book on our dining room table and said,

“You kids need to read this.”

The book was entitled, “What Demons Can Do To Saints,” by Merle Unger. Terry’s voice rang with authority – his was a command, not a suggestion. Wendel and I began to read it together during our morning reading time.

Unger’s book wasn’t our typical type of reading material, but it was very informative. In his book, Mr. Unger pointed out that there is no distinction between being “oppressed” and “possessed” by demons. The Greek word is diamonizomai. It means to be exercised by a demon. Through his writings we learned that strongholds give the enemy place to work through a person – born again or not.

The idea was more than a little unsettling, but important to know. Without this information, we would have handled the upcoming events as either mental or physical illness (or both).

It wasn’t until the end of August, when I went to attend the delivery of their daughter, that I began to see what she had been talking about. Beth was right. Brandon was acting very crazy. I could make neither heads nor tails of what he was saying.

Her labor was a frightening time of arguments between them, with Brandon coming and going due to agitation and who knew what else. Although he’d been excited that I was coming to join them, once I arrived I sensed that he no longer wanted me there.

This was awkward and scary. I wanted out of there in the worst way, but couldn’t figure out how to leave my daughter, who was in mid-labor, gracefully and go home.

When frightened, I tend to “turtle”; I pull into my shell and peek out once in a while to see if it’s safe to come out. “Fight or flight” hadn’t kicked in yet, I was doing my best to be invisible.

Late that afternoon, I overheard Brandon say, “You’re going to have to choose.” I gathered up my stuff and told Beth that I was going to get some dinner, and would return later.

I lied.

My intention was not to eat – I had no appetite. I didn’t know exactly what I was going to do, but knew that I could not stay in their home that night.

On my way out, the nurse stopped me to ask if there was any domestic violence in their family. I said that Beth never said anything about violence. She was very concerned about the way Brandon was behaving, and thought the authorities should perhaps be alerted. I stated that the situation would probably calm down if I made myself scarce.

I lied to her as well, saying that I would get something to eat, then hang out in the waiting room until the baby was born.

I desperately wanted to be safely tucked into my own bed that night – and had every intention of doing so.

“Flight” finally kicked in.

Back at their house, I tried to break in so I could get my laptop and get out of there. I understand that it’s easy to “jimmy” most doors – you couldn’t prove it by me!

It was more important for the two of them to be together during this time. I wasn’t an important player in this event. As I drove to their house, then back to the hospital, I discussed the matter with the Lord.

Confusion clouded my mind. What had I done wrong? Why was Brandon treating me like this? Lord, he and I have a good relationship. He was excited and eager for me to come. He carefully laid out the plan. Last night. he and I discussed the Bible until midnight (albeit incoherently). What changed after Beth was admitted to the hospital?

I racked my brain and tried to figure out what I had said or done.

Lord, I’m thankful that You are in control; that You know what’s going on here. Would You give me discernment and wisdom? Please help me get my belongings out of their house. Help me explain to my daughter why I need to go home.

His answer was obvious: “No.”

I went back to the hospital and settled myself in the waiting room. Brandon soon appeared and said that he was going to go get their other two kids. He would be back shortly – and Beth had asked for me.

I was greeted by a tearful daughter who basically said, “Get over it. Everything will be okay.”

Labor progressed and it was time for the baby to be born. I held her leg during pushes – watched the road for Brandon’s car between times. I ran out to the nurses’ station and told them to let me know the minute he arrived so I could tend to the children, and he could be present for the birth.

After only 5 or 6 contractions, Jordyn Grace arrived. Her daddy was nowhere to be found.

When the room was cleared of medical personnel, Brandon came through the door with the kids in his arms. He had a look of wonder on his face.

Whatever the problem had been, it was no more.

Read more of this story tomorrow!

If you missed the beginning of this story, you can find it here: You Need To Read This.

Part 2: Faith Like Potatoes

Actions

Information

28 responses

29 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

I think I wouldn’t have waited for the LORD to say “stay”, with flight kicking in, I would have taken off! You are incredible! 🙂

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Nope, Toni. I’m a chicken through and through. Any acts of courage were strictly by the grace of God. He infused me with faith like I’ve never experienced in all my life. It amazes me that I didn’t leave everything and run…that part, yeah, that’s all God!

\o/

29 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

🙂

29 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

That’s exactly why God snuck up on us in our pampers. He knew we were too chicken to make a decision to take authority but He also knew we have tenacity to stand in faith and go to battle if we are forced to! Haha, I didn’t know if I should poop or go blind I was so scared but I wasn’t about to let harm come to any of us! I will blog it, I’m sure you will see some similarity.

29 08 2013
dianarasmussen

Thanks Tami, just got that book on Kindle!

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hurray! Eldgredge’s stuff is all great. Enjoy yourself. 🙂

\o/

29 08 2013
Valerie Rutledge

Cliffhanger!!! Can’t wait to read more tomorrow 😉

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Dum dum dum…:)

\o/

29 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

WOW! What a story. What drama! What insight. Can’t wait for tomorrow.

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

29 08 2013
Pure Glory

You have mme waiting for more. There is always a battle when the enemy knows his time is short. Great job on letting us feel the tension of the battle!

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I was completely freaked out. I never wanted to get away from anything so desperately in my life…trying to break into my daughter’s house…really? That’s not something I’ve ever tried to do – even when maliciously locked out of my own house!

\o/

29 08 2013
nopew

“This is not a wrestling match against a human opponent. We are wrestling with rulers, authorities, the powers who govern this world of darkness, and spiritual forces that control evil in the heavenly world. For this reason, take up all the armor that God supplies” (Eph. 6:12-13a GW). Christians need to be reminded of this, and you have done that here.
Peace

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

What seemed to be the problem flew in the face of everything I’d been taught about demons. That’s probably why it took so long for me to recognize the situation and engage in the battle. People need to know!

\o/

29 08 2013
nopew

Absolutely!

29 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

I haven’t read that book but many others on demon possession and oppression. There is a fine line between the two. I’ve worked with alot of people with oppression and one with possession. I feel you on the flight…..that’s what I wanted to do. It’s that gift of discernment. Those demons know that you know and they fight against you.
Looking forward to your next segment!!

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

We were present for Brandon’s baptism. We’d seen evidence of regeneration. This was the beginning of great confusion for me…what seemed to be the problem was impossible, based on what I’d been taught for years. The learning curve during this season went straight up!

\o/

29 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

I hear you!! The Lord put a possession in my face when I was very spiritually young and in pampers! I knew what I was sensing although I didn’t know how or what to do about it. That demon knew I sensed his presence, it manifested, and tried to intimidate me, he claimed he was Lucifer himself. I didn’t know what to do and was very scared and confused by what was unfolding in front of my very eyes. Even though I was petrified I didn’t let that demon see any fear, All I knew to do was to bind him in the name and the blood of Jesus and it silenced him! Nothing like these crash courses to really get our attention onto God’s Word!!!

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Were you taken aback when he was silenced? I certainly was! Then I sensed the Lord ask, “Don’t you believe My Word? That question took me to a whole new plane of faith!

\o/

29 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

I was!!! Especially since I didn’t know anything at all as to what or how to do. But what I did know is the power of the Blood of Jesus and the name of Jesus and that is what I put my faith in that moment of the deer in the headlight moment!! You don’t know how many conversations I have had with the Lord over that entire situation and why He didn’t prepare me for such a huge undertaking with me in my diapers!!

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

{Laughing}
Those were the only two weapons I had in my arsenal as well – the name of Jesus, and His shed blood.

If you wouldn’t mind praying, I’m having computer issues “all of a sudden” – inability to access the blogs I write for, etc. Weird stuff…a problem this time, but not that. I smell sulfur. There are those in the unseen realm that do not wish to be exposed. I finally learned that I don’t have to “take it” just because they’re dishing it out. I can expect interference, but I don’t have to roll over and play dead! A little reinforcement wouldn’t hurt though. 😉

\o/

29 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Absolutely I will pray!! I’ve been having the same interferences. The devil is working overtime to stop progression!!

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I used to say, “Oh, I know opposition is coming. It’s gonna stink. Pray for me” (spoken in my whiniest voice. No more!

I’m praying for you, too!

\o/

29 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

🙂 thank you so very much!!

29 08 2013
kingintraining

Wow!

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

All of this was so far outside my “box.” I can’t even tell you what it was like to have a front-row seat. Lots of growth occurred as a result – and faith? Man alive, I’d always “claimed” to believe the Bible. During this time I had to put my full weight on the truth of God’s Word.

Guess what? It really is true!!

\o/

29 08 2013
kingintraining

Hehe I can imagine! Often takes strenuous and challenging moments like that for us to have an “aahhh so THIS is what you meant in that verse!” 🙂

29 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

Your turn!

