You Need To Read This

27 08 2013

Over the next several days I am going to unfold a true story. It ranks about a 50,000 on my “weird-o-meter,” but every bit of it was recorded as it happened so that in the years to come I would have my account to stand as a reminder that Jesus is always victorious.

The more I come to know the Lord, the more amazed I am by His great love for us.

Who are the problem people in your life? Who are you praying for; waiting for them to either come to the Lord, or to come back to Him? I’d like to tell you about one of mine – and the faithfulness of our Lord.

This story began in 2005.

My oldest daughter, Beth, moved to a town about 2 1/2 hours away from us. I’m still trying to figure out how she decided to move there, and so is she. At the time she was pregnant, but not married.

After a couple of months, Beth called to say that she’d met a very nice man. He was a jet mechanic for the International Guard. Shortly after, they moved in together. They came to visit over Thanksgiving, and he seemed like a nice enough fellow.

When it was time for Beth’s baby to be born, I went to be with her. I arrived at the hospital where she and Brandon were settled. Shortly after my arrival, he flipped through the channels on the TV, selected “The Silence of the Lambs,” curled up on the couch, and went to sleep.

Not wanting to start off on the wrong foot with him, I began to ask God to either break the TV or encourage one of them to change the program. Within a few minutes, Beth glanced at Brandon and saw He was asleep. She said, “Mom, you can watch something else if you want.”

Thank You, Jesus!

Destiny was born later that evening. The next morning I stopped in to say, “Good-bye,” and returned home.

We only saw them a couple of times that year. Brandon was shy – or so we thought. Consequently, he was rarely around whenever we visited.

I observed many things in their home that caused alarm – much of it occult in nature (books, movies, etc.).

In August of 2006, life became very hard for them. Brandon injured his back; and had surgery on it in September. He was in continual pain. Pills didn’t help, so he began drinking.

They were married later that year.

In 2008, Brandon’s right hip began to crumble. His doctor performed a special procedure in hopes that a hip replacement could be avoided.

That was the year their son, Landon, was born.

What a day that was! After a night of labor, with Beth’s blood pressure dipping dangerously low, it was time for her to deliver.

As soon as Landon’s head was out, his predicament became clear. The umbilical cord was cinched around his neck three times. It was so tight that the skin of his neck protruded over the top and bottom loops.

Although he’d given a feeble cry as his head came out, he was now silent. How the doctor managed to get scissors between the cord and his neck is only by the grace of God. There had been no time to clamp it, so when she cut, blood sprayed everywhere.

The doctor handed his limp, dark blue and lifeless body over to the pediatrician. Brandon took one look and bolted out the door.

My stomach felt like I’d swallowed a bag of lead balls.

Beth looked around the room and asked, “What’s going on, Mom?” Wearing my best poker face, I lied. I assured her that everything was fine.

Meanwhile, in the background, I could hear the team around Landon: “One, two, three, four, five…One, two, three…”

Β Oh Lord, please don’t take this baby,Β I breathed.

After what seemed like an eternity, Landon cried…and so did I.

The baby was swaddled and given to Beth to hold for only a few seconds before they whisked him off to NICU. The doctor explained that Landon had lost a large quantity of blood and would need a transfusion and extensive care. We were advised that he would be kept in the NICU for a few days until his condition stabilized.

As soon as I could, I called our prayer team at home and asked them to pray for Landon and his parents.

To our amazement and delight, he was brought to Beth’s room at dinnertime that evening.

With the door of opportunity wide open, my husband and I talked with Brandon that night. One of the things we covered was his eternal destiny. We said, “Brandon, if your son had not been resuscitated, he would be in heaven right now.

“If you’re in a wreck on the way back to the hospital and die, where will you go?”

Brandon and my husband talked late into the night.

Both Beth and the baby were discharged the following day. Excitement was high when we got them settled into their home.

Brandon and Beth began attending a local church. We were thrilled when we were invited to their baptism and the dedication of Destiny and Landon.

Things were looking up…

…but not for long.

Β This amazing story of the grace and power of the Lord continues tomorrow. Don’t miss it!

Actions

Information

42 responses

24 09 2013
Jo Yule

Thank you for your visits to my blog and the encouraging words you leave behind. I love reading your thoughts as well.

24 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for the visit!

\o/

20 09 2013
r

How are you..its been awhile…

20 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Been having problems with my e-mail delivery of new posts. I think it was the Lord lightening my load right now, but I’ve really missed the good messages. πŸ™‚

\o/

20 09 2013
r

Yeah the same with me..

20 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

This seems to be a problem for several I’ve seen complaining for the last few weeks. I wonder what the deal is?

\o/

7 09 2013
msinop1

Wow, what a story! I can’t read the next installment!! God Bless πŸ˜‰

7 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

All of the parts are now available on my blog, and they’re in order so you don’t have to try to figure out which comes next. Hope that helps. πŸ™‚

\o/

10 09 2013
msinop1

πŸ™‚

7 09 2013
lenwilliamscarver

Our
God
Is AWESOME!!!!

7 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

Absolutely!!!!

7 09 2013
dianarasmussen

Reblogged this on Prayers and Promises and commented:
A true testimony of the DELIVERANCE of GOD!!!! Thank you Tami!

27 08 2013
walter bright

wow! what a great story… I am glad that you wrote it down as it unfolded. Isn’t that what we are supposed to do – write it down – record it so that we can look back and see how far He brought us? I think the name Destiny is beautifully prophetic.

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

God said to write it down. I’m thankful that I obeyed (for once).

To hear these three children (7, 4, and almost 2) run around the house singing, “One way, Jesus, You’re the only One that I could live for,” lifts my heart like you can’t imagine. (Of course, I realize that this comment is sort of a spoiler! ;)) I agree. I think her name is prophetic, too.

\o/

27 08 2013
dianarasmussen

I’m hooked! You know that’s a good thing! See you tomorrow! πŸ™‚

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

The post is locked and loaded! God is good, you know?

\o/

27 08 2013
Rebekah L

Oh man, you know how to keep your audience hanging!! I can’t wait to follow this story through to it’s conclusion! πŸ™‚

28 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

The display of God’s glory throughout this story is better than the most exquisite fireworks show! The words almost feels to sacred to type!

\o/

27 08 2013
Pure Glory

God is amazing! He loves us in our mess and never gives up on us. He places people to pray and war in the Spirit over our lives. He sees the end and changed lives before we do. He loves, loves and loves us! Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to the sequels.

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

His love is so amazing – the lowest of the low are the ones He specializes in!

\o/

27 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

Can’t wait!!

28 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚

\o/

27 08 2013
inthepottershands988

Oh!! You left me hanging!! πŸ˜› I can’t wait to hear the rest of the story…I know it’s a God story!

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh yeah! It’s all about Jesus. He utterly amazed me!

27 08 2013
inthepottershands988

Woot! Woot! πŸ™‚

27 08 2013
cazehner

Looking forward to reading more. Thank you for sharing your story.

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

This story completely rocked my world – and taught me so much about Jesus. We learned what victory looks like. πŸ™‚

\o/

27 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

God is always working behind the scenes even when he is more silent than our comfort can appreciate!! I can’t wait to hear the rest of the story!!!

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hey, we went to the fair in Ferndale on Saturday. In the poultry building I saw your whole family! {giggle}

I wanted to take pictures, but forgot my camera in the car. 😦

Yeah, this story gets pretty out there. I can’t wait to finish writing it. Last night the Lord said that it’s time to tell it.

\o/

27 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Ha ha!! I saw them too at the Hartford fair here in Ohio, it was just so much fun!!!
I love hearing about the mighty and unsearchable things that God does under cover. It seems that god is wanting a lot of us to tell our stories right now. He has been urging me to tell mine so I have begun. I have to do small segments otherwise it is too lofty for the human mind and spirit . It is a journey that only god can endure and relay with understanding. I am still trying to wrap my mind around it all and I lived through it!! Stay tuned for the telling while I anxiously await the rest of your story!! Love you and blessing above to you and yours !!

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I sense that same urgency in telling this story. The telling will take several days, and I hope folks don’t get bored and skip reading. Recounting it strengthens my faith immensely.

It isn’t over yet, by a long shot. However, God has proven Himself very strong and mighty. While bits seem overwhelming and hopeless, I know that is just the enemy. He can take a hike, for Jesus will reign victorious over this mess!

I can’t wait to hear your story. Hearing of the great things God does causes my heart to rejoice and gives me hope for the many unresolved issues in my own life.

It is good to remember that we overcome our enemy by the *word of our testimony* and by the blood of the Lamb. Tell on, dear sister. Let’s kick some butt!

\o/

27 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Yes, yes and yes!!!! I’m not out of the woods yet either and I don’t know all that The Lord is preparing for me although I have some glimpses of things. What I do know is He is growing me strong and giving me challenges that I never thought I would be involved with to resolve, never even imagined I had the nerve. Your story and other’s give me strength and encouragement to stand firm. And yes we overcome by our testimony and the Blood of the lamb!!!!! I’m watching for your sequence posts! I posted my first Sunday, http://prodigalchick.wordpress.com/2013/08/26/lost-n-found-what-a-difference-you-made-in-my-life/

I’m ready to kick butt with you!! πŸ™‚

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Great testimony, Chick! You write so well, I wonder that you mostly re-blog. Let us hear more of God’s mighty work in your life!

\o/

27 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Thank you. I am obeying now and writing as instructed. But I so love and appreciate every one of you and your messages!!!

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Read 1 Peter 4:10-12. That’s our commission. πŸ™‚

\o/

27 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Oooooook!! Thank you for keeping me obedient!! πŸ™‚ Love you!!!

27 08 2013
kingintraining

Exciting Lord, yeah!

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

My unspoken prayer request involves these two. It gets crazy before it gets great!

\o/

27 08 2013
melanie jean juneau

wow

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚

\o/

27 08 2013
Shelly

Can’t wait to hear the rest of the story! What a blessing your faith was to your family. Blessings!

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m thankful for every trial I had to go through in order to be prepared for this part of my life. Without all of what I thought was just “junk,” happening, I’d never have faith that God could bring us through this one. Then, right when I needed it most, He injected me with an extra helping of faith.

He is so good to us!

\o/

Your turn!

