Macy’s Doesn’t Carry This

24 08 2013

I have a “past.” By that I mean activities that make my face flush when I recall what I’ve done or said. I mean memories that make me feel dirty and unworthy.

How about you? If you can say, “no,” I envy you.

That’s not to say that I was the “worst” of sinners, but there is a lot in my past that I would love to go back and erase.

I find it interesting – and unscriptural – that humans tend to view sin as if on a bar graph:

A “little white lie” would barely show on the graph – if it showed up at all – while murder or sexual abuse would be off the top of the chart altogether.

God has no bar graph for sin.

He views our behavior from above 

Like black spots on our timeline…

“Sin, Sin, Sin.”

Then, as if my behavior wasn’t bad enough, I have an enemy who tells me what a failure I am. He loves to throw my past into my face every chance he gets. He knows that I won’t seek God’s face when I’m feeling damned. Like Adam and Eve, I hide from Him whenever I’m feeling sin’s weight on my conscience.

The best antidote for this, I’ve learned, is the Bible. As soon as the truth of Scripture washes over me, I feel the burden of past guilt lift off me like a ton of bricks.

One verse that I often quote is Romans 8:1:

There is now, therefore, no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus,

who do not walk according to the flesh, 

but according to the Spirit.

Another favorite is Colossians 2:14:

He cancelled the record that contained the charges against us.

He took it and destroyed it by nailing it to Christ’s cross.

Because I now trust that Jesus’ death, burial, and resurrection paid the penalty for my sin, there is no condemnation for me. There’s not a shred of evidence of any of my charges. The record was destroyed.

No wonder it is called “Good News”

My record was destroyed over 2000 years ago on the cross…ALL of it!

Yet…

…too often I find myself “clothed” in the shame of my past. Sometimes I forget that Jesus paid it all, and fall prey to the devil’s accusations.

It is then that I sense the Lord ask, “Why are you wearing the tatters of a leper? I bore your shame on the cross and have given you a clean, white garment.

I recently discovered a verse that I’d seen before, but never thought to apply to my self-condemnation. It is Acts 10:15:

Do not call anything impure 

that God has made clean.

Anything…

…hmmm

People called me unclean. And I was.

But that was before Jesus washed me from my sin. He cleansed my “leprosy of the heart,” and

He calls me clean!

If this resonates, and you’re a child of God, then I implore you: Do not let our enemy deceive you into believing that you’re condemned for one more minute.

After all:

Jesus paid it all

All to Him I owe

Sin had left a crimson stain

He washed it white as snow.

We must throw down the memory of our old, dirty garments for good – and put on the righteousness of Christ. We can walk with our heads held high, for we are sons and daughters of the Most High God.

Dressed in His robe of righteousness, let’s point our behind toward our pasts and press on toward the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

This garment can only be received from Jesus –

You won’t find it at Macy’s!

Actions

Information

38 responses

27 08 2013
vonhonnauldt

Yet, so often, at least for myself, I seem “content” with the leper’s rags. Too much me, and not enough Him!

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Why is that, do you suppose? Some days I’m like a dog rolling around in my favorite blanket. Makes me sick. 😦

\o/

27 08 2013
vonhonnauldt

Because, to use the trite comment, we’re still a work in progress. That’s true, but I’m afraid that often it’s just an excuse.

I remember seeing a truck a few years ago with two bumper stickers. One said something about his favorite Daniel’s brothers: Jack and I don’t remember the name of the other one. The other sticker said: “Be patient. God isn’t through with me yet.”

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

26 08 2013
StephenWhoElse

Amen!! It’s awesome that we can start from a clean slate, with no baggage of past sins weighing us down 🙂

Praise Him for his grace!

26 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

All praise and glory and honor to our Lord!

\o/

26 08 2013
beverley

as long as we repent, but i agree i haven’t seen any at Marcy’s or any of the UK stores either 🙂

26 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

The Macy’s thing is funny. I don’t shop there at all! I think I remember the slogan from a very old commercial. 🙂

\o/

26 08 2013
beverley

no TV, no Macy so i’m ok 🙂

25 08 2013
Sarah

Beautiful entry, thanks for sharing your heart!

25 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

My heart belongs to Jesus! You’re welcome. 🙂

\o/

25 08 2013
K Cutler

I love this so much. The devil’s cruelty lies in convincing us “it’s not so bad” before we sin, then saying “it’s so bad, God will never forgive you.” Thank you for sharing ❤

25 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

What a wonderful day it will be when we no longer have to factor him in.

\o/

24 08 2013
Skye @ TheSanctuaryofMyHeart

God bless you…this is an amazing post! Big hugs!!

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Remembering that Jesus paid it all can be so hard…and there are many who do their level best to make us forget. I’m putting on my robe right now!

\o/

24 08 2013
Skye @ TheSanctuaryofMyHeart

Me too!!! One size fits all!!! 🙂 xxxx

24 08 2013
Peg

My chains are gone, I’ve been set free!
My God, my Savior has ransomed me!
And like a flood His mercy rains,
Unending love, Amazing grace!

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Love that song! 🙂

\o/

24 08 2013
Eddy

Now to remember that, thanks for reminding me!

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂 I needed this reminder myself all morning! God is good to us.

\o/

24 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

YES, YES, YES! Loved it! 🙂

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

24 08 2013
Elizabeth Yalian

Well said, Tami!

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh that I would remember what to wear every day!

\o/

24 08 2013
robbyefaye

Thank you, I needed this today!

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂 God is good!

\o/

24 08 2013
Kathleen

Hooray! Not only is it not at Macy’s but you don’t have to go into debt to purchase it! Great Post 🙂

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Great point! 🙂

\o/

24 08 2013
Elaine

Thank you for the great reminder. Our God is truly a good and wonderful God!

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

When He said that the lilies of the field weren’t dressed as fine, He wasn’t kidding…and He supplies our clothes, just like He supplies theirs! 🙂

\o/

24 08 2013
nopew

Weird that we work so hard to remember stuff God has erased! This news about past wrongs being gone is really Good News, as you say. Hurray!
Peace

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Never thought about it like that. Weird indeed!

\o/

24 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Perfect in love!!! Excellent message for all of us children of God!!

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

God is so good to us! 🙂

\o/

24 08 2013
cazehner

Amen! Thank you for this beautiful post and for reminding me to rid myself of the tatters of a leper when God’s already given me a clean garment, washed in his own blood. So thankful Jesus!

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

He’s the best! 🙂

\o/

24 08 2013
loopyloo305

Thank you Lord that You forgive us for what we have done, and forget it as well! God bless and great post!

24 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I love the “Sea of Forgetfulness!”

\o/

Your turn!

