How To Be Different

22 08 2013

When I think of all the people that I’ve tried to emulate, I have to chuckle. There have been numerous authors, Bible teachers, ministry leaders, and worship leaders that I’ve tried hard to duplicate.

To be honest with you, none of them were a good “fit.” Every persona felt awkward, which I find funny; one of the things I love to do is act. I’ve been in skits and dramatic readings several times. To slip into another part is easy for me – unless it is real life and I’m trying to be someone else.

Donna Frampton asked a question I’d never considered:

“If you’re pretending to be someone else, then who is going to be you?

I’ve considered her question many times since then, and I have to admit that she has a point.

It seems that if God wanted me to be like him or her, then He would have made me be them. To try to duplicate them leaves my own shoes unfilled.

God must have wanted one of me, or he would not have made one of me. 

Perhaps the reason that I pretend to be them is that they seem to be successful in their endeavors. I struggle with insecurities and a sense of lack regarding whatever it is I think I’m supposed to have in order to be “worthy.” By slipping into their shadow, maybe I think that I’ll be seen as “having it all together.”

I don’t know.

To stand on my own, be myself, feels risky. It feels like I am exposed – in danger of being an easy target.

When I’m being myself, I am decidedly different from those around me. Is that a good thing?

It’s only recently that I’ve realized that I’m supposed to be different.

God made me that way, and He likes me just the way I am!

There are things to be done that only I will be able to accomplish with my own unique personality and combination of traits. If I don’t do these things, someone else will be called in; however, it won’t be handled the way I would have done it.

No one else can fill my shoes – and I can’t fill anyone else’s.

As I’ve worked to become the person God planned for me to be, I’ve discovered freedom.

Fear has to go out the window, though. Without courage, I’ll soon go back to being an actress.

A hypocrite!

My faith in God, belief that He knows what He is doing must increase. Without it, I’ll hide again.

It’s for this reason that I am deeply grateful that God put Galatians 1:10 in the Bible:

Do I now persuade men or God?

Or do I seek to please men?

For if I still pleased men,

I could not be a bondservant of Christ.

Mmm. Baby, that gives me the license I need to let go of trying to be someone else –

to be myself.

I was created to be different.

I wonder, am I alone here? Is this something anyone else struggles with? I’d love to hear your story.

Actions

Information

33 responses

23 08 2013
kingintraining

Yes, I constantly think everyday how I am not good enough. My problem is I tend to compare myself to others which makes me feel even worse!

23 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Comparison is deadly – which is why the Bible says “Don’t.” I’ve learned that God’s “don’ts” aren’t because He wants to wreck our fun. It’s more like, “Don’t…you’ll get hurt.” I appreciate His care for us!

\o/

23 08 2013
beverley

I always wanted to teach my Sunday school lesson like the Sister who taught me Sunday school whilst in my youth. Or the seminary class teacher was also a good example to me. As it turned out, although i have learnt from them i teach my Sunday school class exactly as i am supposed to do, like me, like God intended me to do.

23 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂 As God’s masterpieces, each one of us is priceless. {sigh} That makes my heart light and brightens my day.

\o/

22 08 2013
Elaine

I also struggle with the same thing. I am learning that I AM worthy, I AM good enough, etc. by just being me, just the way God made me. I was just reminded of what I used to tell my kids all the time when they were growing up–Be the best you that you can be, not a replica of someone else. Hmmm should be taking my own advice I think! Thanks for the verse from Galatians. I will remember that one. and thanks for this great post!

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I need to have Galatians tattooed on my arm, I think! 🙂

You’re welcome. I was thankful to be reminded of this myself.

\o/

22 08 2013
findingmyinnercourage

AWESOME Word today! You have helped me more than you could ever realize! Amen to you and lots of Blessings! XOXO

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Woohoo! Go, God! 🙂

\o/

22 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

Tami, I went through something very similar when I was 10 or 11. I wanted to be just like Bruce “Buck” Stevens. He had the coolest flattop, the coolest expensive clothes that fit him perfectly. He carried himself with a swagger I never could copy. He was a star on the high school baseball and basketball teams, And he was dating the most beautiful cheerleader in the nation. I thirsted to be just like him. But, like you, I finally figured out God made me like He wanted me to be with my own personality and purpose in life totally different from Buck’s. Now, years later, I wouldn’t trade places with him and his life for anything on earth. Thanks for sharing this post. I read in one of my exchanged life books a statement that has become my mantra the past few years. “Jesus wants to live His life in you, through you and AS you! My aim in life is to surrender my life to Him, die to myself, and allow Jesus to do all He wants to do as He lives His life in me. God bless you, and thanks again for such a thought-provoking post.

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

When I realized that Jesus lived life as a man so we could see what life fully surrendered to God, and Spirit-led was capable of…wow! I have a very, very long way to go!

23 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

I want to share some thoughts on your comment, but in an email. I’ll be on a men’s retreat from church this weekend but maybe next week we can chat more. OK?

23 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Okay.

\o/

25 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

:o) This is the only smiley face I know how to make. Sometimes this is all you’ll see, especially if we’ve already chatted and replied to each other. I try to reply to all my comments. I like your \o/ too.

25 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Cool. 😎

\ 🙂 /

26 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

I am Sooooooooooo Jealous! :0)

26 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

{giggle} 8, dash, close parenthesis (no spaces) 😎

\o/

26 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

😎

26 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

Hey, I googled wordpress emoticons.
😀

26 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Great – maybe you could share the link in a post so the rest of us can be cool too!

\o/

26 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

Sounds like a good idea. I’ll do that.

22 08 2013
wordforlifesays

AWESOME WORD!!!! I love that question of if we are pretending to be someone else, then whose going to be you. “I’m free to be me,” one of the lines in Francesca Battistelli’s songs. Oh, if we would really and truly take that to heart and just focus on us for a change . . . . . . my God, what He will be able to do through us. #Learning

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh yeah! I wanna find out!

\o/

22 08 2013
cshowers

Tami,

You touched me deeply with this post. This is something I’ve struggled with my whole life, and like you, I’m an actress as well… But when I’m playing a part in a play, it’s believable. When I’m trying to be someone else, I don’t believe it, and no one else around me believes it either.

If I said that this is something that I’ve overcome, I would be lying. The truth is that this is something that I am overcoming, and I WILL overcome in Jesus’ name!

Much love to you and many blessings for sharing your heart with us.

Love,
Cheryl

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

For a while I wore a tag that said, “I can only please One person per day. Today is not your day…tomorrow doesn’t look good either.” Beneath that, I wrote out Galatians 1:10. If people started riding me because I wasn’t doing or being what they wanted, I just pointed them to my little tag. It’s hard for them to argue with God, so they backed off. In no time I was stronger – and they knew better! 🙂

You’re so amazing. The world has yet to see what you – being fully you – can accomplish. We will all miss out if you don’t step up to the plate and take your best swing! Go for it. 🙂

\o/

22 08 2013
cshowers

Amen, and Lord bless you for your encouragement.

22 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

No, you are not alone! I have know since I was around 10 that I was different, but could never figure out why. Now I know, I was set apart for use by the LORD. He made me different to do His Will. I am so glad I finally figured it out!

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂 Yeah, me to. I like you just fine!

\o/

22 08 2013
Bina

Realizing that I am who I am because He created me to be ME is so hard to hold onto…but the world we live in is always saying “you would be a better you if you were like her” so a huge part of it is filtering what we are exposed to and what we are focusing ON!!

Great post!!

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’ve decided that I like who God designed me to be – warts and all. They won’t last forever. 🙂

\o/

22 08 2013
Bina

Haha…true and me too!!

22 08 2013
Pure Glory

Accepting my uniqueness is an ongoing process. In my early years there was rejection as I was compared unfavorably with others. God is showing me that being myself is a good thing.

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I certainly think that your uniqueness is a good thing. 😉

\o/

22 08 2013
Pure Glory

😀

Your turn!

