Follow the Leader

21 08 2013

The best commentary on the Bible is…

…the Bible.

Explanations for one part of Scripture can be found in other books of the Bible.

For instance, take Proverbs 3:5-6:

Trust in the Lord with all of your heart,

and don’t lean on your own understanding.

In all of your ways acknowledge Him,

and He will direct your paths.

This is excellent counsel, but clarification helps.Β For that, we turn to Matthew 11:29-30:

Come to Me all you who labor and are heavy laden,

and I will give you rest.

Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me,

for I am gentle and lowly in heart,

and you will find rest for your souls.

For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.

With a little knowledge of animal husbandry, we can quickly see what the one has to do with the other:

When oxen were used to plow fields or pull carts, the easiest way to train a new one was to yoke it to an older, experienced one. The more mature beast was stronger and could pull most of the weight – and couldn’t be pulled around by the younger animal.

Although we are being trained to be spiritual “beasts of burden” that will bring others’ needs to the Lord, we will never be required to do this in our own strength.

The beauty of following Jesus is that He will forever be in the yoke with us, doing the lion’s share of the work (mixed metaphors, I know :)).

For this reason, if we find our burdens are too heavy to bear, it is most likely because we are straining against the yoke –

– instead of following the Lead Ox.

Actions

Information

20 responses

23 08 2013
nopew

Yes, it’s not my understanding to figure things out that makes life better, but living for the One Who makes life better that makes life – better, and I’m not “lion”… Sorry, I can’t resist puns.
Peace

23 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚

\o/

22 08 2013
lollyp2

Awesome! at least knowing that I have a greater force to break my yokes, makes it easier for me to live… I’m happy to be Jesus’ child, His person gives me daily hope to live and help others live too..Weldone dear.

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

What would we ever do without Jesus? πŸ™‚

\o/

21 08 2013
Pure Glory

Amazing Jesus who paid the price to set us free and who does the work while we are yoked to him! Amazing.

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

He is so gracious to us. Gotta’ love Him!

\o/

22 08 2013
Pure Glory

Absolutely!

21 08 2013
findingmyinnercourage

Amen, excellent timing for me too!

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Me too! I need this reminder almost every day! How you holding up?

\o/

21 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

So, so true!

21 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Talk to you tomorrow – yeah? I can’t wait!!

\o/

22 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Toni – I really enjoyed our chat today. I’m looking forward to the next time we can do that!

\o/

21 08 2013
lumpster71

This is very good. Thank you. Sometimes understanding is the biggest hurdle.

21 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

That’s very true. Knowing truth is what sets us free, eh?

\o/

21 08 2013
walter bright

Amen! He is stronger, wiser, more powerful to carry us through any situation. All we need to do is come to him and stop trying to carry our stuff by ourselves.

21 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Finally figuring that out…took long enough. I trust your respite was relaxing & your soul is now restored! πŸ™‚

\o/

21 08 2013
walter bright

yes indeed! thank you…

21 08 2013
Chrystal

Amen to all of that! Thanks….

21 08 2013
Chrystal

So timely for me right now. Not sure how to help someone & have felt soooo overwhelmed with her need & my inadequacy. She keeps asking ME what she should do. I keep TRYING to point her to the One who can fix it…and THAT is what He has been telling me this week. That it’s not mine to fix & that He is the fixer. Please pray that I can be “the beast of burden” for her & others that He’s calling me to be….in HIS strength & under His yoke.

21 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Sometimes God’s timing seems so…late. We “see” what needs to happen, and how. But He moves at a different tempo than we – for reasons known only to Him. Who knows what else He’s after in the process?

Godspeed is the best speed! Trust His timing and love her. He makes all things right in His time. πŸ™‚

\o/

Your turn!

