No Solicitors! Really??

20 08 2013
(Originally posted on A Needed Word 8/6/13)

We’re busy watching our favorite movie, or cleaning, or whatever, and

– the door bell rings.

Who is it now? We ask on our way to the door.

What happens next, though, may be a good indication of whether we’re earthly-minded or heavenly-minded.

Whether it’s another annoying door-to-door salesman or someone trying to “convert” us, how should we respond?

That depends upon the goal we have in mind when we answer their knock.

If we just want to get rid of them, we say, “No thanks,” avoid giving a reason for our disinterest (an arguing point for them, I’ve learned), and quickly close the door.

On the other hand, if the goal we have is to make the name of Jesus known, the scene plays out very differently.

What if it’s not an interruption…but a Divine Appointment?

What if Jesus sent them to your door because He knew you would be His ambassador and treat His “guest” well?

It’s been my experience that about 60% of the folks who come to the door are hungry for Jesus! Many of them end up chatting about God over a glass of water – and forgot their original intent when they knocked on the door!

*****

With this in mind,please pray for Anthony. Jesus sent him from Indiana to my door in California simply so I could tell him about the Lord who loved this young man so much that He took all the punishment due him. We will meet in heaven, of that I have no doubt!

*****

…now about those annoying phone calls…!

(After all, they called us – we don’t call them. ;))

*****

Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making His appeal through us.

We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.

2 Corinthians 5:20

Hey, check it out! Kathleen wrote a post like this. You can read it here: What Am I Wearing?

Actions

Information

15 responses

27 08 2013
Moore to ponder

I loved this post!

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

It changed how I respond to interruptions by door-to-door folks!

Thanks for taking time to read and comment. 🙂

\o/

21 08 2013
Degrees of Separation | Captive Dreams Window

[…] am not sure what got me to thinking about this the other day; I attribute it to the blog I read: https://lessonsbyheart.wordpress.com/2013/08/20/no-solicitors-really/ Please bear with me as I […]

21 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks. Glad to have been of service!

\o/

21 08 2013
Kari Anne Dorstad

I have been thinking of putting a” no solicitors ” sign by my door but I’ll pray about it.

21 08 2013
Eddy

Unfortunately many have decided to knock at my door, rather persistently I might add, at nine o’clock in the morning. Seeing as I haven’t had my cup of coffee at that hour, I simply let them speak while I look at them with a very “You Woke Me Up For This” Look.

Luke 12:40 You also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.”

21 08 2013
Kathleen

HaHa next time invite them in for that first cup of coffee– that will throw them! And depending on how good you make coffee, you might get less visitors…

21 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

It’s the weirdest thing, sometimes I open the door and they start to walk right in, catch themselves, apologize, then state their business. I’ve had some of them in for coffee or ice water while we chatted. It’s kind of fun. Try it sometime!

\o/

21 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂 Yeah, and we’re also supposed to be ready to give a word in season…and out. That can be a challenge sometimes.

It must be nice to sleep so late. My hubby and I get up at 5:30. I like it when morning starts at the crack of noon. 😉

\o/

20 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

I loved this. And I never had thought about answering the door that way. Next time I get someone at my door I will try to be Jesus.

21 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Jesus gives us such fun adventures. I wonder how many of them I miss because of my lousy attitude? I’ve been trying to do this more myself. 🙂

\o/

21 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

🙂

20 08 2013
Kathleen

I had a post similar to this a few months back called What Am I Wearing (http://coming2him.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/what-am-i-wearing/) talking about the need to be “dressed” in Him when people come to the door. I wonder if really 100% are hungry for Jesus, that 40% doesn’t even know it! This is such a good reminder, Tami, to stay focused on Him, “Jesus, who have you brought to my door?” Thanks for confirming our marching orders! 🙂

20 08 2013
vonhonnauldt

You’ve “talked” to Rachel, too, huh! 🙂

20 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

What opportunities await us if we have the eyes to see, and are willing to be interrupted. It’s a challenge to keep people as the main thing – and not my fussy schedule.

Have a blessed day!

\o/

Your turn!

