God’s Customer Service Reps

19 08 2013

When I have an issue with a product or service, a customer service representative can make or break my business with that company. If the person is caring, compassionate, and helpful, I’ll continue to purchase their goods.

If, on the other hand, they are rude, short, and have a “sucks to be you” kind of attitude, I’m done. Not only that, but I’ll be sure to let my friends know of my dissatisfaction, and encourage them to take their business elsewhere.

While not using this terminology, the Bible states that we’ve been given this role. In 2 Corinthians 5:20, we are called “Ambassadors for Christ.” If you think about it, the job description is very similar.

What kind of customer service rep are you?

Are you the sort that points to the six-step, eight step, or fifteen step process for the “customer” to follow, wish them well, then dump them as quickly as possible?

Or are you the sort that puts them on a conference call with the Boss and mediates between the two; the sort that walks the “customer” through the steps to get resolution for their issue, supporting and strengthening them throughout the process so that if the problem should arise again, they are knowledgeable and can do more of it for themselves?

Being God’s “customer service representative” is a high honor. One He bestowed upon us so that there will be mostly satisfied customers of His grace, mercy, and love!

I did not come up with this idea all on my own. Steve Austin wrote an excellent article that sparked this post. You should read his as well!

Actions

Information

27 responses

20 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

Loved it!

21 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂 What an honor we’ve been given to represent the King of kings and Lord of Lords. (Personally, I wonder if He really thought this through! ;))

\o/

21 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

Agreed! Some days I belong in the “trash” can! So glad He keeps me around in spite of me!

21 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

19 08 2013
annabachinsky

This is so good Tami. Often times we forget that we are God’s children so we need to represent Him well here on earth and His love and character needs to be reflected in our actions towards others.

19 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

If folks don’t see Jesus, then what’s the point? We can’t be a savior to anyone, can we?

\o/

20 08 2013
annabachinsky

Exactly!

20 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

No we can’t!

19 08 2013
I HAVE A VOICE

I’ve been focusing on the golden rule~ I ask myself: “Would I do this to Jesus?” that’s helped me a great deal.

19 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Ooh – “do this TO Jesus”… Great point of view!

\o/

19 08 2013
findingmyinnercourage

Excellent Blog! Such an important point, with such a powerful impact! “Life isn’t all about me; life is all about Jesus” Thanks for sharing!

19 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

He’s the only One worth living for.

\o/

19 08 2013
findingmyinnercourage

Amen!

19 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

Excellent.Great post! I always reward or notice good customer service. When a clerk helps me out, I often call the clerk’s manager and make sure the manager know his or her employee has done a great job for me. Sometimes, depending on the sense I get from the manager and the clerk, I jokingly tell the manager the clerk deserves a raise. :0)
I get your point, and I agree. It is very important that I represent God by allowing others to see Jesus in me.

19 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I sure don’t want to be called on the carpet for being a bad service rep.

\o/

19 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

I don’t think you would be.

19 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh, if you only knew. :- | Some days I really blow it. How I long for heaven when I can leave this old earth suit behind and be like Jesus. What a day of rejoicing that will be, eh?

\o/

20 08 2013
Steven Sawyer

I’d love to chat with you when we get to heaven for a decade or two. Oh, I forgot, no clocks up there. Well, let’s just chat and sing praises to the Lord then for however long we want. Wow!

20 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Won’t that be fun? Just thinking about heaven is like a breath of fresh air! I get so “Homesick” sometimes.

Since I began blogging in March, I’ve been inviting folks from Blogtopia to a “Meet and Greet” at my place in heaven. It will be fun to put faces with the names. I wonder if we’ll need name tags?? Oh, it’ll be a potluck, so bring your favorite dish to share!!!

I’ve been “decorating” my home there for years. It’s my “way of escape” when life gets hard. I’ve asked for moss instead of carpet, vines instead of plasterboard, am thrilled with no need for glass to keep out bugs and burglars. There will be so much to do there, I don’t want to spend my days vacuuming, washing walls or windows!

Right now we’re traveling through the Valley of the Shadow with several people. My bro-in-law passed away in May, my father-in-law on Friday, Jerry (who gave me the guitar on my gravatar – and has been like a father to me) will be leaving us within the next month or so, and the lady for which I do in-home care isn’t looking so hot, either. She sleeps most of the time. Imagining what heaven will be like – and what we’ll be doing a million years from today – lightens my spirit considerably.

At this point, I’m so thankful that it’s only the “shadow” we see. That’s as close as death can get to us. Jesus promised that “this mortality shall be swallowed up by life.” I like that! There’s so much hope in those few words.

Thank You, Lord, for giving us imaginations. They keep us from losing our minds!

I’ll have the coffee on – unless you prefer tea!
Tami
\o/
Praising Jesus who made heaven possible!

20 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Won’t that be fun? Just thinking about heaven is like a breath of fresh air! I get so “Homesick” sometimes.

Since I began blogging in March, I’ve been inviting folks from Blogtopia to a “Meet and Greet” at my place in heaven. It will be fun to put faces with the names. I wonder if we’ll need name tags?? Oh, it’ll be a potluck, so bring your favorite dish to share!!!

I’ve been “decorating” my home there for years. It’s my “way of escape” when life gets hard. I’ve asked for moss instead of carpet, vines instead of plasterboard, am thrilled with no need for glass to keep out bugs and burglars. There will be so much to do there, I don’t want to spend my days vacuuming, washing walls or windows!

Right now we’re traveling through the Valley of the Shadow with several people. My bro-in-law passed away in May, my father-in-law on Friday, Jerry (who gave me the guitar on my gravatar – and has been like a father to me) will be leaving us within the next month or so, and the lady for which I do in-home care isn’t looking so hot, either. She sleeps most of the time. Imagining what heaven will be like – and what we’ll be doing a million years from today – lightens my spirit considerably.

At this point, I’m so thankful that it’s only the “shadow” we see. That’s as close as death can get to us. Jesus promised that “this mortality shall be swallowed up by life.” I like that! There’s so much hope in those few words.

Thank You, Lord, for giving us imaginations. They keep us from losing our minds!

I’ll have the coffee on – unless you prefer tea! Tami \(^o^) / Praising Jesus!

Follow my blog:Lessons by Heart – Learned at the Feet of Jesus, Shared with You!

The will of God will never take you where the Grace of God will not protect you.

________________________________

19 08 2013
cazehner

I want to thank you and Steve for this important message. I sure want to be that representative who draws people to the Lord instead of chasing them away! It is such a privilege to be God’s ambassador.

19 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

What a wonderful Lord who doesn’t “do it all” for us, but invites us to join Him, giving our lives purpose..then rewards us to boot! 🙂

\o/

19 08 2013
Mary C Wilson Andrews

I’m glad I found your blog, it was a recommendation and now I see why! I think we might be kindred spirits on this journey with the Lord. I am now following you and your journey. If you would like, check out my blog, (http://eccentricallynormal.wordpress.com) and hopefully find some encouragement. I try to find a “story” in all that I see and it seems that the Lord is teaching me so much through all the every day experiences that I have. Blessings to you, Mary

19 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for the invite, Mary. I’ll be back to see you soon!

\o/

19 08 2013
Mary C Wilson Andrews

🙂 Looking forward to reading more of your posts, too!

19 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m still working on “Life isn’t all about me; life is all about Jesus.” Takes a bunch of dying!

\o/

19 08 2013
nopew

A helpful take on an important point.
Peace

Your turn!

