Okay, You and You, But Not You

17 08 2013

Mary noticed the hushed conference between master and servant, their animated gestures, the panicked looks. She followed the servant back to the kitchen and discovered that they’d run out of wine. There were still several days of the wedding feast yet ahead.

“What to do, what to do!” the servant exclaimed.

Mary summoned Jesus and made Him aware of the situation. He seemed to mildly rebuke her, stating that His time had not yet come.

She knew her Son, though. To the servants she said,

“Whatever He says to you, do it.”

These are the last recorded words of Mary – and excellent counsel; but I don’t want to stop here.

Jesus instructed the servants to fill the water pots to the brim with water. Then He told them to take some to the master of the feast.

I wonder what the servants were thinking as they sought out this fellow.

However, I don’t want to stop there, either.

What caught my attention was the exclamation of the master of the feast: ” Every man at the beginning sets out the good wine, and when the guests have well drunk, then the inferior. You have kept the good wine until now.”

This is where we’ll park.

Who provided the wine?

Jesus.

At a feast where there’d already been plenty of drinking.

You see, a wedding feast was a week-long affair; the family provided wine generously, and to run out would humiliate the wedding party.

The guests had put away a large amount of alcohol – even more than their host had conceived they could. With free booze, we can assume that more than one person was having a “really good time.”

As I pondered Jesus’ response,though, I learned something new about the Lord.

Let’s make some observations:

First, He provided the best – not a watered-down, sorry excuse for wine. He didn’t substitute punch for the wine. It was wine – the master of the feast said so.

Next, Jesus did not gather the servants and instruct them as to who could have more, and who should be cut off.

Neither did He give limits as to how much any one person could have. The wine was theirs to serve freely – to whoever wanted more, no strings attached.

Jesus did not take advantage of the situation to preach a sermon on the evils of alcohol.

Finally, He wasn’t disgusted with them when they continued to drink – some getting drunk (or more drunk), and leave the party.

Conviction weighs heavy on my heart as I type. I have not been this Jesus to my fellow man.

You know the type…

They’re on every street corner with a sign: “Will work for food;” or “Anything will help. God bless.”

I vacillate between giving and not giving – mostly I lean toward not. After all, if I give them money, they’ll just buy alcohol or drugs.

Did you notice? Jesus didn’t give them money with which to purchase more alcohol. He gave them fine wine.

Why? Just to save face for the wedding party? To appease His mother?

Perhaps this is partly true, but I don’t believe it to be the whole truth.

Jesus loves people – you and me and every other living being on this planet.

We can give without loving,

but cannot love without giving.

Jesus demonstrated this truth.

Didn’t He know that because of his gift, arguments would break out between husbands and wives?

Didn’t He know that some were going to drink more than their fair share?

Then why would He do such a thing? His action seems highly irresponsible from our perspective.

It is my belief that Jesus gave because He knows the end from the beginning. He knew what the outcome would be.

He is the Alpha and Omega!

He had plans for every person present. While it was not His desire that they get plowed, He knew in advance that they would…yet, He provided wine for them.

As I stated earlier, this glimpse of my Lord convicts me. When it comes to giving freely, I fall short. I am generous when I see a need.

Unless…

…Unless you are standing on the side of the road with a sign.

…Unless you live in one of the homeless camps around town.

…Unless you are a drunk or drug addict and “ought to make better choices.”

Weren’t these the people Jesus went in search of…the lost sheep?

They weren’t an afterthought – someone He passed on the road and handed a few coins so He wouldn’t feel guilty.

He ate with them; spent time with them, loved on them.

Ouch!

With whom do I spend time?

With people whose presence makes me feel like a “somebody.” At this time, I do not have even one “disreputable” person in my circle of acquaintances.

How sad.

How unlike Jesus.

I knew a couple of young men who left wives and children to go to a nearby motel and party down.

In the meantime, I mounted my self-righteous high horse (I’ll be glad when that sucker dies!), and then criticized and condemned them. I wished all sorts of evil on them. I’m not proud of my attitude, but that’s what I did.

Would the outcome have been different if, instead, we had gone to them, bottle in hand, and spent time with them in Jesus’ name?

What might have happened had we loved on them, and talked to them about a drink they could have that would never leave them thirsty again?

I doubt it would have made a difference on that particular night, but I wonder if they would have been gone as long?

Would one of the fellows still be living on the streets, as he is now…years later?

This was my opportunity to “be Jesus” to people who desperately needed Him. Instead, I acted like a Pharisee. Oh, I still have much to learn.

Jesus’ time had come,

but this servant was unwilling to fill the water pots.

Just sayin’!

Actions

Information

28 responses

19 08 2013
vonhonnauldt

Sadly, too often His ways are indeed not our ways 😦

19 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Too true.

\o/

18 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

I have not been Jesus either, more like a pharisee. I am so grateful and humbled by your insights. They see through the shadow of our lives into the real heart of the matter. Love like Jesus loved and we will never go wrong.

18 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

This one really challenges me.

Enjoy your Sunday!

\o/

18 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Reblogged this on Prodigal Chick and commented:
Lord you have truly given me your eyes to see and your ears to hear! Thank you tami for this one!!

18 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Love, love, love this!! You captured my heart on this one!! Our hearts and lives don’t belong to us. We are to be reaching out and touching lives with Jesus!! It is a process to get here though. I look back over the last two years of turmoil, confusion and disasters of our life and see this is exactly where Jesus was leading us. I have known it but couldn’t overcome the fear of my comfort zone. This past weekend when my husband lost his finger it put me in high gear to rethink my mundane thinking and to drop the dividing lines of my heart and mind. My post “get it together, together” was a prophecy of sorts. Today in a weeks time I see what The Lord has been bringing us to. Our business now employs 2 young men out on appeal bond, 2 young men on probation, one young man on parole. I love and respect each one of them with a love beyond my human self. They are so bright, kind, loving and respectful. I have never had such wonderful employees to surround me, to help me and to love me, yes love me!! Two years ago I would have said, get out of town, I can’t have convicts and law breakers in my business! Now they are part of our family. We are so blessed and honored to have them in our lives!!

18 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Don’t you love what Jesus does to our hearts when we give Him permission?

\o/

18 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

It is amazing !! I am watching him unfold his story the way he wants it written!!! Very hard on my nervous system but with every turn of the page it is like, Wow…I would have never guessed it or dreamed it even. He writes beautiful love stories in the most twisted of ways. Yes, again I say He is the Great Way Maker!!!

18 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Kari said yesterday, “Godspeed is the best speed!” I love that!!!

\o/

18 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Oh the very best speed indeed!!! But then I always want it now and want all the details and whys in that vast valley. If I could get my but out of the way 2 years might have been 2 days and all 10 fingers in tact. I cling to my comfort zone which becomes the most uncomfortable zone possible.

18 08 2013
StephenWhoElse

And here I thought you were going to talk about how Jesus always gave the best…then, pow! we get hit by a painful reminder of Jesus’ non-judgemental love instead.

Thanks, I needed that…

18 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

His stories do tend to come with a twist, don’t they? 😉

\o/

17 08 2013
bluecottonmemory

Oh – yes – keep on “Just Sayin'” – I love the perspective. I’ve had a son come home from a church saying “If you drink, you’ll go to hell.” Well – how could that be when Jesus made and drank wine? Yet – I also really love how He gave the people a choice – let them use their free will – He didn’t feel like He had to take away our decisions because we were not as capable as Him. He trusted us to see the truth in Him:) So glad I stopped by!

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

This one twisted my head a bit. “Really, Lord? This is how You do things?” 🙂 Sure looks that way, doesn’t it?

Glad you stopped by, too!

\o/
Praising Jesus who gives us the freedom to choose!

17 08 2013
shadeakinbiyi

Yes, there is a lot to chew on this one….it’s switched on the light somewhere in me. Thanks for posting.

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome.

\o/

17 08 2013
dianarasmussen

Loooove this! Yes and amen. Thank you for the truth, I’ll get rid of my horse too. I have seen this happen too many times. And been on the receiving end too. I hate religious pride and arrogance. Nothing shuts doors With a seeker sooner than a “know it all” or a snooty look. Thank you for humbling me today.

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Stand in line. 😉 This humbles me every time I read it. Oh, I have a lot of growing up to do yet.

\o/

17 08 2013
dianarasmussen

Me too girl, laugh or cry…I’m gonna laugh! 🙂

17 08 2013
Mary

I want to be THAT Jesus! Thanks for stepping on our toes, Tami. I can’t speak for anyone else, but I needed it!

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m glad I only stepped on yours. Mine were stomped on! 😉

\o/

17 08 2013
Mary

Hahaha Awesome!

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

You say that only because they weren’t *your* feet. 😀

\o/

18 08 2013
Mary

LOL Tami, believe me when I say I am well acquainted with that pain. I too, haven’t arrived *sigh* Blessings!

17 08 2013
Pure Glory

Tami, thank you for another thought provoking post. 🙂

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I see it, and yet I don’t. I’m still working this one through in my own mind!

\o/

17 08 2013
nopew

I can say I never thought of Jesus’ actions here as grace, leaving how it would be used to those present. It does say it was the first (of seven) signs (wrongly translated as “miracles” in too many versions) recorded by John, and it caused the disciples to believe. It revealed His glory, the power to do signs. But did the non-judgmental example of love also have an impact, as you suggest? Fascinating. Thanks for making me think in a way I’ve never thought before. Let me go chew on this.
Peace

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m still chewing on it…after a couple of years. 🙂

\o/

Your turn!

