I Want It NOW!

16 08 2013

For the vision is yet for an appointed time; but at the end it will speak,

And it will not lie.

Though it tarries, wait for it; because it will surely come,

It will not tarry.

Habakkuk 2:3

Waiting has never been my forte. Six drawn-out pregnancies have proven this. Nine months is a long enough time to wait for the gift you know is coming; however all six of my children were two weeks “late” by man’s calendar!

Packed and ready to go at the end of each pregnancy, I impatiently sat day by day, waiting…waiting.

In my impatience, I did some silly things to try and speed things along – including jogging! Nothing helped. They all arrived in God’s time – not mine.

A couple of decades later, I began to consider this “waiting” thing. I realized that much of our lives entails waiting.

We wait in lines at the store.

We wait for traffic lights,

And we wait for the weekend.

In the grand scheme of things,

We wait for our loved ones to come to the Lord.

We wait for life to improve;

And we wait on promises we’ve yet to receive from God.

Sometimes the waiting seems endless.

To wait isn’t easy in this “microwave world,” where companies promise that we can have it our way – now. There are many things we can have right now. All we have to do is fill out a little paperwork, and sign away our paychecks for the next ten or twenty years.

Instant gratification isn’t cheap – but at least we don’t have to wait!

Unfortunately, the ability to acquire what we want right now only works for “stuff.” It doesn’t work that way in relationships. There are no shortcuts or “easy payment plans” for troubled marriages, wayward children, unemployment, or health issues. For these matters to be resolved, we must wait.

Back in 1989, the Lord gave me specific promises regarding my spouse, my children, and my own life. Some of them were fulfilled shortly thereafter.

For instance, He moved my children and I into a beautiful new home (after living in a broken-down mobile out in the middle of nowhere), provided all our needs (we had been poverty-stricken), and gave us peace. Other promises concerning my family are only now beginning to come to pass. Like I said, decades later.

I begin to see that waiting on the Lord is very much like being pregnant. The outcome – delivery – is guaranteed. The baby will not stay inside its mother forever. The difference with God is that He does not give us a specific “due date.”

The long wait between conception and delivery has a purpose, though.

First, it provides time for the mother to build an attachment to the child within her. Good thing. I don’t know many women who would hang onto a squalling infant that is going to involve sleep deprivation, continual attention, and the investment of a boatload of money…especially if the baby was dropped on the doorstep unannounced!

The Lord knew this, so He planned a nine-month gestational period as the means by which a bond would be formed between mother and child.

Second, prior to the baby’s arrival, many preparations must be made: diapers, clothing, diapers, furniture, diapers, and career decisions – oh, and diapers! To have several months gives ample time to make the necessary acquisitions.

In the same way, God built “the wait” into His other plans for us. It gives Him time to change us while we await the “birth” of the new thing He is doing in us and in those around us.

With God’s promises, we can be confident in the outcome. He will deliver what He has said. We just don’t know His timetable.

Therefore, if we know that all His promises are “Yes, and in Him, amen,” (2 Corinthians 1:20), then the promised thing is not the issue. It is the process that is His focus. It is what we become while we wait on Him – more patient, faithful, trusting – or some other character trait that He desires to develop.

As I consider this, I realize that to “wait on the Lord” involves keeping focused on Him and resting in His faithfulness. By recounting the many times that God has been faithful in the past, my trust in Him is renewed.

When I take my eyes off the situation and thank Him for working things out in His time, my faith is strengthened.

When I remember God’s faithfulness, and couple it with gratitude for all He has done, to “be still,” and trust Him becomes easier.

Waiting has a new meaning for me. I see it as a “gestational” period, during which God prepares me to receive the gift of His promised “yes.”

His “yes,” then, is about whom I am becoming as I wait on His timing.

But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength:

They shall mount up with wings like eagles.

They shall run and not be weary

They shall walk and not faint.

Isaiah 40:31

Though it tarries, wait for it;

Because it will surely come!

\o/

Praising Him for His faithfulness!

Actions

Information

27 responses

17 08 2013
shadeakinbiyi

This is divine…..thank you!!!

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome!

Thanks for dropping in. 🙂

\o/

17 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

I love all your posts but this one is soooo me! I reblogged it! Thanks! 🙂

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks Toni!

\o/

17 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

Reblogged this on thinkinaboutjesus and commented:
Oh, this blog is sooooo me! I hope you enjoy it too!

17 08 2013
nopew

I had to wait until I had the time to read this. It was worth the wait. As the father of 3 daughters I became an expert at waiting!! But it struck me that a young person I work with often can’t “wait” for the weekend, or the end of shift, or whatever. I usually make a comment (we get along really well). I wonder if we are so busy waiting for the promises to be kept the way we want that we miss the blessings we live in now?
I, too, was raised in poverty, and I remember when things changed when I was 15. We’ve never had a lot of money, but as my wife reminds people, “God looks after us”. Sometimes, however, we have to wait for it…
Peace

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Guilty! Too often do I think I’ll be content when…, which is sad because there isn’t a thing wrong with life right now. I am blessed beyond anything I could have imagined, yet there are promises that keep my mind focused on tomorrow and what’s coming instead. 😦

My greatest and most difficult wait is for the day when we get a brand new world and face-to-face time with Jesus!

\o/

17 08 2013
nopew

Now that is worth waiting for! Actually, we do get glimpses of it already here (Luke 17:21).

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

That’s the fuel that keeps me going.

“The kingdom of God within us” – now that’s something you ought to write about. I’ve only ever heard that taught at one of the “far out” churches…and I’m positive this doesn’t mean what they said! I’d dearly love to know what Jesus meant by that statement.

Have a wonder-filled weekend!

\o/

16 08 2013
worthless_romantic

It’s easy to feel like life is passing you by as the world receives what you’re praying for without even caring what truth they try to hide from. I usually feel that way when I compare myself to others instead of comparing this life against forever.

17 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yeah, J, I hear what you are saying. I often feel that way, too. Why them, and why not me? Keeping my focus on forever (where things will all come together), helps me deal with “now.”

\o/

16 08 2013
Tlhumphries

Wow! I needed to read this tonight. Thank you so much for sharing this insight. I immediately started hearing the song, “While I’m Waiting” by John Waller
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bb7TSGptd3Y
Blessings to you.

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for the comment and the song. I really like John Waller – this song is one of my favorites by him. The other is “Our God Reigns Here.”

\o/
Praising Jesus who makes the wait worthwhile!

16 08 2013
tinabrenee

Absolutely!

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

16 08 2013
Kari Anne Dorstad

Encouraging words for those of us that are learning to wait on God and not get in the way, I’v done some ridiculous moves to help speed God up. Godspeed is best.

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I like that, Kari…Godspeed IS best! If I were a “tweeter” I’d certainly be putting that comment out there for everyone!

\o/

16 08 2013
findingmyinnercourage

I enjoyed your viewpoint in this Bog!

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I didn’t when the topic first came up. My behavior wasn’t my fault…it was theirs! It had to be, since I am perfect – NOT! 😉

\o/

16 08 2013
denacyd

Such timely words for me. Thank you. I spent my evening crying over a promise that seems so slow in coming! I know He is building an unshakeable faith, but I find myself weary and doubting. My precious daughter prayed over me with such amazing, childlike faith–not asking God to answer, but asking God to give us patience while we wait! Oh to have her childlike faith again!

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

What a gift. Yeah. I want a lot more of that childlike faith myself! 🙂

\o/

16 08 2013
Lyn

Now you’re singing my song! I love your perspective…waiting as a gestational period of growth. Perfect! Thanks so much.

Lyn

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

May your delivery be an easy one, the labor short, the baby healthy. 😉

\o/

16 08 2013
Lyn

LOL…no, wait. I’m not expecting now, I’m relating to the waiting part of the four long pregnancies I already had and the waiting room we are in while we watch for the fulfillment of God’s word to us now.

Lyn

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I was talking about the birth of the new thing the Lord is doing in you – not a real baby. 😉

Four…yeah, after six of my own I can truthfully say, “I feel your pain!”

\o/

16 08 2013
Lyn

Whew! Thank you for the blessing, and the clarification, hahaha.

My goodness, it’s hot in here, lol
Lyn

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Now you know how I felt when they told me I was five months pregnant. The baby was only seven months old! Phew! 😉

\o/
{still giggling over your comment!}

Your turn!

