Of Words And Dandelions

14 08 2013

Words are powerful…

Able to build up

or tear down;

Able to inspire

or to deflate;

Able to encourage

or discourage;

They give life to another’s soul

or death.

Use the breath of those words

to talk about others

and,

like a dandelion,

their secrets are blown to the wind

never to be regathered…

taken back.

The final resting place of each bit of fluff

cannot be found

until the seed takes root

and grows anew

in another’s mind.

Be careful, little lips, what you say

for one day we shall all give an account

for every idle word.

Actions

Information

19 responses

16 08 2013
Wendell A. Brown

My spirit danced as it embraced your every word! Beautiful poem with such an inspiring message!

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I like that word picture! Thanks for taking time to comment. πŸ™‚

\o/

15 08 2013
nopew

This reminds me of the song “Words” by the Canadian gospel group “Hawk Nelson”. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anVweXDcxhA
Your words are important.
Peace

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for the video. I finally got a chance to listen to it this morning. Great song – and so true.

\o/

16 08 2013
nopew

Yes, and affirms your writing I thought.
Peace

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

It certainly did. I need to learn the song and sing it often…that will give me less time to use wrong words. πŸ˜‰

\o/

15 08 2013
Robin Claire

I wrote a post called “Wolves in Sheep’s Clothing” where I put gossip in the same class as murder and child abuse. I believe it’s that horrible.

15 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Completely undo-able, for sure. :\

14 08 2013
findingmyinnercourage

Amen my friend! I too learned the hard way!

14 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

:\

\o/

14 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

Amen!

14 08 2013
vonhonnauldt

An awesome (in the original meaning of the word!) thought – every word….

14 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Learned the hard way, I’m afraid. I still haven’t found the final destination of many of those dandelion seeds. 😦

Thanks, brother.

\o/

14 08 2013
greenlightlady

Lovely words to remind us to use our words for good…

Blessings ~ Wendy

16 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚

\o/

14 08 2013
Timothy Murray

Well said (and written!). The tongue has the power of life and death (Prov. 18.21). I don’t know why but that verse always reminds me of Josie Wales talking to Ten Bears!

14 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚
\o/

14 08 2013
Leon

Thanks for those great thoughts. Proverbs 18: 20 A man’s belly shall be satisfied with the fruit of his mouth; and with the increase of his lips shall he be filled.21 Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.

14 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for the verses. I also think of James 3 when I think about the tongue. A great forest can, indeed, be set afire with just a spark…and our neighbors’ yards covered with dandelions as well!

Have a blessed day!
\o/

Your turn!

