Let’s Go To The Other Side!

13 08 2013

There is an intense battle being fought for my family. Evil seems to be winning at the moment.

At the moment.

At the right time, God has provided a way of escape for me from the temptation to believe what I am seeing with my eyes. It is this:

You shall know the truth, and the truth shall set you free. John 8:32.

My way of escape is truth!

The truth is that there is nothing taking place that God is not allowing. My enemy does not have free rein with me –

or my family.

He has to get permission from God for every trap and snare he sets.

The truth is that I am more than a conqueror through Christ Jesus. Colossians 2:15 tells me that Jesus disarmed principalities and powers. He made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them in it.

The enemy is not more powerful than God,

he’s just good at what he does – speaking lies in such a way that he is believed.

The battle, I realize once again, is not against people…not against flesh and blood. The battle is for my mind. The battle is for truth.

Isaiah 54:17 reads, ” ‘No weapon formed against you shall prosper, and every tongue which rises against you in judgment you shall condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is from Me,’ says the Lord.” This isn’t a truth for Israel alone. It is a truth for us…we are servants of the Lord.

This train of thought takes me to Ephesians 6 and the armor of God. I have the Belt of Truth, the Breastplate of Righteousness, the Helmet of Salvation, Shoes that prepare for the Gospel of Peace, the Shield of Faith, the Sword of the Spirit (the Word of God), and Prayer.

As I consider this list, I realize that it begins (Belt) and ends (Sword) with Truth. The Belt of Truth is the foundation for the rest of the armor; but I have to know truth before I can be set free.

My own righteousness is as filthy rags, but God has given me His Breastplate of Righteousness.

Resisting the devil is not a matter of sweat and toil. It is as simple as naming the lie being whispered to me and inserting the Truth in its place. This is what Jesus did when He was tempted by Satan in the wilderness. Only three of their encounters are given in the Scriptures, but this went on for forty days. In each instance, He exposed the lie and spoke Truth.

Why do I keep forgetting that the battlefield is my mind –

and the minds of those I love? I see what’s “wrong” in their lives and want to fix it. This has never worked. At last I understand why. Their behavior is not the problem; what they believe is the problem.

What I believe is for them is also the problem.

It affects how I pray for them. I have prayed against what they were doing, when I needed to aim my prayers against the lies they accepted as truth.

Revelation 12 tells me that I overcome the adversary by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of my testimony. I now know that the most powerful thing I can do is to tell others, “These are the lies I once believed, but know I know that the truth is…”

For instance, I used to believe that I had to work hard every day to be as perfect as possible in order for God to like me or to be happy with me.

The truth is that I don’t have to do anything! As a believer in Christ, I am accepted just as I am – loved unconditionally, and invited to come boldly before His throne whenever I want. When God looks at me, He sees me “in Christ.” His sacrifice paid the penalty for my sin. The judge has already ruled. His verdict?

NOT GUILTY

Despair is a lie. “Things are never going to change. You’re going to have to live with their behavior for the rest of your life.”

(This has already been proven to be a lie. Much changed since I first penned this piece a few years ago!)

Jesus lives to intercede for us. He knows the Father’s will perfectly, and prays in accordance with that will.

This means that the answer to His prayers is YES!

Hmm. Interesting. Even Jesus’ prayers don’t always receive an immediate response! But every promise in Christ is “yes,” and in Him “amen!”

Although the time has not yet come to tell this story, what we are going through right now is in God’s hands, and will work out for the good of all. Some loose ends are being tied up, but it’s not a fun process.

I wrote this piece a few years ago (some things never change!). It came up today on my queue of articles to post – go figure! I am strengthened by the words here, and pray that it will strengthen you in whatever battles you are facing right now as well. God is good…always good!

Thank you for your prayers. We are experiencing peace and support like never before from all quarters. Yes, God is good!

“With Christ in the vessel, I laugh at the storm.” 

Christ said, “Let us go to the other side”…

…not…

“to the middle of the lake and be drowned!”

(Dan Crawford)

Actions

Information

19 responses

14 08 2013
hope4theheart

This is great! “It affects how I pray for them. I have prayed against what they were doing, when I needed to aim my prayers against the lies they accepted as truth.” I come into agreement with you for all of your family to be set free with truth because of who Jesus is and what Jesus has done.

14 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

It makes a difference, doesn’t it?

\o/

13 08 2013
nopew

It is so hard to trust God to do what needs to be done, to believe God will do what needs to be done, to accept that God is doing what needs to be done. But when we do we find that peace that goes beyond understanding, a spiritual oasis in a desert storm of evil oppression. Some days I just jump right to the peace of being held in Jesus because the first part is too hard!
Peace

13 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Did that today, in fact, and I agree; that works much better.

Phase one of our situation is over and God granted favor! The next phase is in two weeks. We’re asking for His favor then, too.

He’s so good to us. Sometimes I shake my head in wonder. 🙂

\o/

14 08 2013
nopew

Be comforted – be blessed.
I rejoice with you in this good news in the love of Christ.
Peace

13 08 2013
inthepottershands988

Thank you for this post, Tami! I need this cuz I’m going through the same battles with my family and a few friends. All I can do is pray but it can get so discouraging because I see how some family members continue to believe a lie. I try to confront them with the truth but it only seems to backfire so I say nothing and just pray. Mostly, I need to keep on the armor of God and not let myself fall into despair just as you said. Great post!!

13 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Don’t forget to stand firm!

\o/

13 08 2013
inthepottershands988

Thanks, Tami!! Standing firm under His grace. 🙂

13 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

I needed this today! Thank you tami!!

13 08 2013
tinabrenee

Your post reminds me of my post entitled, “Your Place or Mine”, as once you decide to ‘take down a hornet’s nest’, you will undoubtedly be bombarded. Nonetheless, it needs to come down if true and absolute freedom is to be realized. Every day – through your posts – people who have been teetering in limbo for years, people who have pitched their tents under looming clouds of hopelessness – are making the decisin to get up, to gird their loins, to take up their swords and fight. They are laying claim to and pursuing all that is theirs in Christ. Do you really think that a tool (or should I say weapon), such as yourself would go unnoticed by the enemy? He is out to make you look stupid, to bring upon your mind doubt, to make you believe that your resilience is nothing more than a mind game. You are more than a conqueror – you are a woman of God! You are a vessel of Truth! You are a leader! You are unstoppable and I praise God for you every time you share with us. It’s okay to lie down for a minute and say, “this sucks!”. But to pitch a tent and live there? No way! The Lord has done so much in your family – let Satan be reminded of each and every victory, large and small. He’ll have to go back to his quarters and begin to devise another plan. This one ain’t workin’! Now’s the time to push even harder!

13 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Tina, thank you so much for your encouragement and for equipping this saint! Your words bring light and hope.

Tommy Walker has a song, “I Have This Hope.” It has been running through my mind non-stop. I think I’ll see if it’s on YouTube and post it today. The words are fantastic, and the melody is catchy! Y’all ought to be enjoying it, too!

Have a blessed day. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment!

\o/

13 08 2013
tinabrenee

Just listened to it and loved it! Nothing like the truth repeating in our heads to flush out the devil’s crud! Thanks for sharing and I cannot wait until you share the victory in the story you currently find yourself in the middle of!

13 08 2013
Sarah

Yes! The devil has been defeated! Be blessed.

13 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Can’t wait to tell the story – God has been showing up “bigtime” through this entire ordeal. He is amazing!

\o/

13 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

(By the way, he lost round one today. Only two more rounds to go. The ordeal will be history in nine days. Thanks for your prayers!)

13 08 2013
Sarah

Love to hear that! Think David and Goliath! Goliath has got to come down!

13 08 2013
Pure Glory

Tami, you are victorious hidden in Christ Jesus! He fights your battles as you rest in him. Praying for you and your family.

13 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Rowing…bailing…rowing…rowing… 🙂 God is good!

\o/

13 08 2013
Pure Glory

🙂

Your turn!

