Get Off My Back!

7 08 2013

“That’s it! I’m putting my foot down. I’m not putting up with this another minute!”

Did you know that this statement is Biblical?

Check out Joshua 1:3: “Every place that the sole of your foot will tread upon I have given to you, just as I promised Moses.”

Read that, “Everywhere you say, ‘Enough!’ is new ground over which you now have control.”

God’s promises are as true today as they were back then, for God does not change.

Once we are about the business of taking territory that the Lord has given to us, we need to know that He has some helpful words in Isaiah 51:21-23. They are these:

Therefore hear this, you who are afflicted, who are drunk, but not with wine:

Thus says your Lord, your God who pleads the cause of His people:

“Behold, I have taken from your hand the cup of staggering;

the bowl of my wrath you shall drink no more;

and I will put it into the hand of your tormentors, who have said to you,

‘Bow down that we may pass over, and

you have made your back like the ground

and like the street for them to pass over.‘ “

Are we feeling walked on? Are we being tormented because of our faith? or because our “mere existence” has made us the target of an immature bully?

If we’re being persecuted because of faith, we can rejoice, for we are sharing in the suffering of Christ.

If we’re being abused because we deal with a bully, for heaven’s sake, we must GET UP!

If we are children ย of God, we are no longer children of wrath. Jesus took all punishment for our sin. God is not punishing us for bad behavior, and we are not glorifying Him by being weak!

For nine years, I believed that I was being submissive like a “good Christian lady” should. I also believed that the abuse I suffered was God punishing me for my wrong choices and my sin.

Just a few days after I was at the Women’s Refuge, the verses from Isaiah were part of my daily reading. To me at that time it was God saying,

“That abuse right there – that is NOT Me. Don’t be taking that, and then telling people that I”M doing that to you. No ma’am, that is definitely NOT Me!”

Shortly after that, I read verse three from the first chapter of Joshua (given above), and God connected those two passages for me:

“Child, you need to put your foot down. You set some boundaries and I’ll help you protect them. It’s time to change some things around here.”

This boundary setting thing has been a work in progress for me. I don’t set them very well – or very firm either. This is my current course of study from the Lord.

Having an out of control life has been, for me, a matter of not knowing

“When to say yes

How to say no

To take control of my life”*

An important note on the topic of putting one’s foot down. Be wise when deciding what the “this” is to which we refer. To set limits on the kind of treatment we will tolerate (tone of voice, the way we’re handled, etc.) is healthy.

However, if the “this” is, “I’m never going to let anyone get close enough to hurt me” …that “boundary” will take you places you don’t want to go – into loneliness and isolation; while feeling abandoned or rejected! That’s an unholy agreement – we are commanded to love one another. We can’t do this through walls.

Boundaries are demonstrated by Jesus Himself. Sometimes He withdrew when the people around Him began to press in! ย (Mark 1:37-38; 6:31-32)

May we be wise as serpents, gentle as doves and learn to lovingly say,

“Get off my back!”

*From the cover ofย Boundaries. If this is a problem area for you, I recommend this book.

Actions

Information

26 responses

11 08 2013
Kris

It is a difficult thing sometimes to discern when to turn the other cheek and when to stand the rightful ground we are given. There certainly does seem to come a time though, when a disservice is done for Christ, by viewing self as the earth’s whipping boy. The redeemed are strong, and lay down what is asked, but they are not trampled without consent. Knowing when to remove consent is often a tricky line. Thanks for another good post!

8 08 2013
Sheryl Wright Stinchcum

Amen! I love this post!

8 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

๐Ÿ™‚

\o/

8 08 2013
Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer

Girlfriend! You got it! We OWN our past… Not the enemy. Use it for God’s glory!
He has our Backs!

8 08 2013
Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer

Well of course I meant God not Hod! Hahaha! Typing on my Phone!!!

8 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

(I fixed it!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

\o/

8 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Only God could turn our nightmares into ministries. His ways are certainly higher than ours!

\o/

8 08 2013
walter bright

awesome!

8 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks. God is good!

\o/

7 08 2013
dianarasmussen

Now I know we are sisters! I was there too. I was so walled off I couldn’t even talk to myself! Great post Tami, you were born for such a time as this!

7 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m so glad that Jesus takes our crud and turns into others’ treasure! Thanks, Diana.

The last two posts were an attempt to answer your question, “How do we possess our inheritance.” Did I answer it?

\o/

8 08 2013
dianarasmussen

Yep…thank you sis! I’m getting my sword!

8 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Woohoo! ๐Ÿ™‚

\o/

8 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

That’s exactly what I said and believe!!!

7 08 2013
sevennotesofgrace

The Boundaries books are great – many good studies for group discussion on this topic too. Blessings!

7 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I bought the workbooks to go with both Boundaries and Boundaries for Marriage. So far they’re very good. I’ve got a few young women in mind with whom I’d like to go through the study.

\o/

7 08 2013
sevennotesofgrace

Great! I remember being all enthusiastic about having a bedtime – 945pm every night. Was great! Should go back to that, but difficult now I have three teens! Blessings, Ros

7 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Augh! The teen years. So glad those are behind us! This is the first time in 33 years that I haven’t had a minor child for which I was responsible. I’m LOVING it!

\o/

7 08 2013
tinabrenee

Say that!!!

7 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

๐Ÿ™‚

\o/

7 08 2013
Dana Bradley

Good one Tami! I love you sister.

7 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Dana. Love you too!!

\o/

7 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Oh my goodness did god ever raise you up for such a time as this!!! I feel like you are my very own personal profit, speaking answers, revelations and instructions right to my heart. Thank you sweet sister for loving god And all of us so very deeply. I ask our father to bless you in every special way possible!

7 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Wow! That was totally unexpected. It’s encouraging to know that God is using this blog to minister to others. May He get all the glory!

\o/

7 08 2013
Prodigal Chick

Yes all glory belongs to him!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

7 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Totally. ๐Ÿ™‚

\o/

Your turn!

