Death Does Not Wait for the Mailman

3 08 2013

For the second time in as many months a “thank you” letter was left unwritten. The intended recipient is gone – not as in moved away or went on vacation, but gone as in dead. I hope I have finally learned my lesson.

Jack Kinsella was an author and prophecy buff. He moderated a chat room on Hal Lindsey’s website many years ago. In 1999 and 2000, I spent hours every day discussing some of the “wilder” things that are going on in our world behind the scenes. I know things that would make your hair curl!

One day, to my great surprise, I received a private e-mail from Jack encouraging me to become an author. He complimented my writing skills and ability to organize my thoughts and convey them in a way that was easy to understand.

I thanked him for his kind letter – but did not actually begin writing for another six years. In 2009, Lessons by Heart was born. I considered sending a copy to him by way of a “thank you,” then decided that it was silly – that he wouldn’t care – and so I never did.

In March of this year (2013), for the first time since the publishing of my book, I resurrected my blog, which reminded me of Jack. If it weren’t for him, I would never have dared to post anything on the Internet.  I went to his website (The Omega Letter), to look for contact information. Once again, the thought of being foolish took over, and the letter went unwritten.

About two weeks later, he was gone. 😦

In February, I returned from Nicaragua. One of this year’s milestones was the recording of a CD entitled Above All. It was made specifically for Alice, one of the Nicaraguan nurses.

We were privileged to go to Israel in 2010. While on the trip we met David Hughes and his wife, Hazel. When he learned that I’d written a book, he bought a copy…then he bought about 15 more to give to the women in his family for Christmas presents!

Because he went to our church (where I’m on the worship team), he would make kind comments about my voice. He encouraged me to record songs for others to enjoy.

After our trip to Nicaragua this year, I thought about contacting David and giving him a copy of my CD. There was that still small voice, though. “When are you going to get over yourself? He’s not going to want your stupid CD. You’re going to embarrass yourself.”

No phone call was made…no CD given. No “thanks” extended.

One morning in May, my husband read David’s obituary to me.

Both parties got ripped off!

Never again!

The prayer challenge I wrote about yesterday came from the book, If You Want To Walk On Water You Have To Get Out Of The Boat by John Ortberg. It was called the “Bob Challenge.” He said to pray for a ministry for six months. If at the end of that time nothing amazing happened, write him and he would refund the cost of the book.

I bought his book at a second-hand store for ninety-five cents. Was I willing to risk it? 😉

There are some things that happened that I cannot tell publicly. Suffice it to say that when you ask the Lord to give the people you know a deep desire for clean hands and pure hearts, brace yourself. Their confessions and the consequences they willingly face will break your heart.

The “experiment” was a great success. It was a cleverly disguised invitation from the Lord to enter into a deeper relationship with Him. He’s so cool.

John’s challenge finished with instructions that if something amazing happened, we had to write and tell him about it.

If one more unthanked person dropped dead, I was going to be ruined for life! Right after David’s funeral I sat down and wrote to John Ortberg. I thanked him for the challenge, and followed it up with six type-written pages of the outcome of my time with Jesus.

All of this to ask you:

Is there someone to whom you owe a thank you note or phone call? If the Lord brings someone to mind, get busy for…

…death does not wait for the mailman!

(This post came to mind to write because I’m on my way to say “farewell” to Jerry, my dear friend. He is another person to whom I owe a debt of gratitude. It was he who gave me “Grace” – my twelve-string guitar. You can find the story in the menu bar above.

He will be meeting Jesus face-to-face very soon. Please pray for his family. They’re really hurting right now.)

Actions

Information

23 responses

5 08 2013
Chrystal

Thank you for the reminder. 🙂

5 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome!

\o/

5 08 2013
buttrflygrl14

Thank YOU! Dear Sister!

5 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

4 08 2013
walter bright

I heard Bishop Garlington say these words a few years ago: opportunity of a lifetime must be ceased in the lifetime of the opportunity. Do it now, take that step of faith now, you never know what will happen tomorrow. thanks for the encouragement to act now.

4 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

To act now is encouragement I often need myself. 😉

Have a blessed week!

\o/

4 08 2013
journeyofjoy

Oh’ how rich Tami?! These are the exact sentiments of my heart. I’ve been caught in this same space a few times. Especially last year. It seriously caused me to make the resolve to write living tributes. I’ve done a few in 2013. So glad to see you’re doing the same!!

I love your writing! I LOVE the title you chose! I love your sensitivity to the voice of the Holy Spirit!

Keep going…
Marlene

4 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I’m certainly not going to let the dust settle under my pen when I sense there’s a note to be written. 🙂

\o/

4 08 2013
cshowers

This was excellent, Tami. It really shows us when the Spirit says, “Move,” we must move. I, too have felt the Spirit urging me to do something, and when I obeyed, I was always thankful, and when I failed to obey, I was sorry that I hadn’t, while at the same time, I was grateful for the Lord’s mercies, and His patience with me.

Much love to you,
Cheryl

4 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

He is merciful and patient, isn’t He? I’ve thoroughly tested Him on these points. 😦

\o/

3 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

Thank you Tami for: a) your blog, b) your music ministry, c) your loving, giving and soft heart, d) your willingness to do just exactly what the LORD calls you to do. I love you dear sister, you are such an inspiration and friend to me. Thank you!

3 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Aww, thanks, Toni

My daughter and her family just finished moving from our home to their own. My heart is sad. 😦 So your kind words are like a balm. Thanks.

\o/

3 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

Just received your CD in the mail, I can’t wait to listen!

3 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Wow! That was quick. Hope you enjoy it.

\o/

3 08 2013
Pure Glory

All is not wasted, Tami, because you are causing me to think who I need to write thank you notes to. Thanks!

3 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yay! 🙂

\o/

I asked Jesus to extend my gratitude to Jack and David. I’m sure He did!

3 08 2013
Pure Glory

Agreed!

3 08 2013
nopew

My days serving as an Anglican priest (for 4 years with the Bishop’s special license) came to mind, the confession:
“Most merciful God, we confess that we have sinned against you in thought, word, and deed, by what we have done, and by what we have left undone. We have not loved you with our whole heart; we have not loved our neighbors as ourselves. We are truly sorry and we humbly repent. For the sake of your Son Jesus Christ, have mercy on us and forgive us; that we may delight in your will, and walk in your ways, to the glory of your Name. Amen.”
Peace

3 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Mmm. Amen and amen.

\o/

3 08 2013
greenlightlady

Thank you for the reminder to refresh others with a word in season.

Blessings ~ Wendy

3 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome.

\o/

3 08 2013
Peg

Thanks for sharing, Tami. Praying for the comfort of Jerry’s family, and praising God for His grace in your opportunity to see Jerry one more time this side of Heaven. “Grace upon grace . . . ” May God bless your time.

3 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you, Peg.

\o/

Your turn!

