Shhh! God’s Little Secrets

2 08 2013

Last year I chose several ministries to pray for on a daily basis for six months. After a few weeks, my prayers began to change. God began to reveal His heart toward those I prayed for, and to give me specific things to pray on their behalf. Some of the things I requested turned out to be exactly what was needed – and I had no way of knowing this apart from prayer. It was an amazing experience.

For instance I knew of a pastor and his wife from a neighboring town who seemed to be greatly concerned about people-pleasing. I prayed against the spirit of fear, and asked the Lord to break it’s grip.

After about a month of praying for them, I suddenly envisioned them as shepherds (who were also sheep) with a flock of angry, unruly sheep. The Lord began to show me how this couple had been verbally attacked by congregants who didn’t like the way this or that was done in the church. After washing their mouths on their shepherd – in effect biting him and his wife – they gave them a swift kick and left. As a result, the two of them were head-shy, torn, and bloody.

My prayers changed at that point, and daily I imagined scooping up these two wounded ones and placing them in the Lord’s lap.

Oh, dear Jesus! Just look at this one. His little ear is just about torn off.

Look at the other one – this gash here looks like it’s getting infected. You simply must bind up their wounds and heal them.

I no longer stood in judgment for their inability to stand against fear and people-pleasing, but began to have a deep compassion for all the abuse they’d taken for years…and their faithful service despite their wounds.

In the same way, God gave me insights and information about nearly every other person for whom I prayed. In every instance, the result was increased compassion and love for the person(s) or ministry. At the end of the six-month period I discovered that my petitions had changed. At the end I was accurately praying for the needs of those on my list!

One thing I learned from my experiment was that because I spent time with the Lord daily to discuss these requests, I got to know Him better. We became confidants – good friends. What He taught me during that time spills over into how I pray for others today.

It is a great honor and privilege to participate in what God is doing by way of prayer.

The Lord’s invitation to “help” in this way reminds me of when my kids were little and we were going on a trip:

Our suitcase was heavy, but one of my little ones was determined to carry it to the car. I knew it was too much for him, so I wrapped my hand around the handle and then said, “Oh, this is sooo heavy. Would you help me carry this?” He put his little hand on mine and “together” we hefted the bag.

When we got to the car, I thanked him and praised his ability to carry that case…even though he’d really done nothing more than rest his hand on mine!

God is like that with us. There are burdens we want to carry for others, but truly lack the strength to do it. God “wraps His hand” around the handle, then asks for our “help.” When the task is completed, He thanks us – and rewards us – for being such good little helpers! Amazing. 🙂

I challenge you to choose one person, ministry, or country for which you will pray daily for six months. As you faithfully pursue the Lord’s favor day by day, expect to hear the Lord’s heart for them…

…and to be let in on some of God’s little secrets!

Actions

Information

21 responses

8 08 2013
ithabise

Wonderful! I’ve had this experience, and I’m glad to find someone else who understands the intimacy and depth of prayer. It really amps your faith when you follow God this way.

8 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Mmm. It sure does! Thanks for the follow, by the way.

\o/
Praising Jesus for more than I could type right here! 🙂

8 08 2013
kingintraining

Ah great post Tami, and so encouraging!! Thanks for sharing!

8 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

My pleasure. God is good, isn’t He?

\o/

4 08 2013
journeyofjoy

This was so good. I’m in such a difficult place a church I love with SO many grievous things going on within the leadership. I have tossed about this in great wrestlessness for quite a while now. The illustration you gave at the end and how big a task this is for us was it for me. I needed to read this today. Thank you so much. I’ll try the 6months, I’m confident I’ll have a change of heart and they a new season of ministry.

God’s Best to you Tami!

Marene

4 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yay, God! I can’t wait to hear the results!

What happened during the challenge was so amazing. I began praying for one thing (what I “thought” was the issue), But God…changed my perspective and my requests.

In the following months I discovered that often what I ended up praying was the true issue. It was fantastic, and so good of the Lord to teach me to listen to His heart.

\o/

3 08 2013
Heidi Viars

thanks so much for your challenge … I need the Lord to show me again … give me the words and heart to pray …

3 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

3 08 2013
Mary

Love this! You are such an inspiration, Tami!

3 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Then I’m doing my job. 🙂

\o/

3 08 2013
inthepottershands988

Loved this!! It encourages me to keep praying for people. I really don’t know how to pray for the person so I ask God to help me pray for them. I tend to get discouraged with those long term prayers requests that don’t seem to get answered. And I’ve got a few of those going on now. Some of them are complicated issues. I accept the challenge! Thank you for this post!! 🙂 Blessings to you, Tami!!

3 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

What I loved most about the prayer challenge was that I was given a glimpse into God’s heart.

\o/

3 08 2013
inthepottershands988

Yes! That is pretty awesome!

2 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

I will try your challenge. I ask only that you would help to hold me accountable by checking to make sure I am staying on task. Thank you for caring enough to challenge us to draw nearer to the LORD’s heart.

2 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Woohoo! Youbetcha!

(You could add me to your list. Life is an uphill climb right now!)

\o/

2 08 2013
Toni Sprandel

I remember you each morning during my prayer time. I will continue to uphold you each day! You will be my ministry to pray, really pray for each day! Thank you Jesus for answering my question of WHO to pray for!

2 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m truly honored – and very appreciative!

\o/

2 08 2013
nopew

Normally I get anxious when I hear/read someone “brag” about their prayers, but your article keeps Jesus at the centre. I affirm you for this.
I find your illustration wonderful. I’ve done that sort of thing so often, and completely missed its teaching of grace!
Peace

2 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

It’s a relief to know that. I learned a long time ago that I have no power to save anyone. It’s my great desire to keep eyes focused on Jesus – the true Savior.

2 08 2013
Pure Glory

Prayer changes things, especially us!

2 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

Your turn!

