“Mini-Me” and Me

25 07 2013

To discover that there are two of you living in the same mind, and that the other “you” doesn’t like you very much is, to say the least, disconcerting. This came to my awareness a couple of years ago. I called her “Mini-me:” Jesus called her “Babycakes!”

Back when I thought I knew it all, I believed that I had Multiple Personality Disorders (MPD – aka Dissociative Identity Disorder, or DID) figured out. It was very simply “demonization.” Therefore, when I began to be aware of a second person inside my mind, I attributed this to demonic activity, renounced my involvement, and quit doing the things that “we” did together.

For instance, when working on embroidery I would find myself saying things like, “Now we’re going to use this color here. Let’s see, we need to tie off this other color, then we will thread the needle with the new color and begin sewing here.” I came to the conclusion that embroidery must be a sinful waste of time that had opened a door to the enemy, and quit sewing.

During one of my visits to Barbara (my pastor’s wife), I asked her about the “we” thing, and explained what I was experiencing. She asked me what I made of it, and I gave her my “knowledgeable” assessment – demonic activity.

Then Barb did what she always did in that instance, and said, “Let’s ask Jesus about this.”

“Lord Jesus, is this a demon that Tami is dealing with?”

We waited.

Suddenly I began to remember other sessions where Jesus had taken me to some very painful memories and spoken truth to me in each memory. (When Jesus shows up, healing happens! Luke 4:18,19) In those memories, I was always a small child – about 2 or 3, dressed in what looked like an adult’s white T-shirt.

He reminded me of one particular time when He’d picked up Mini-me and twirled her around. With a warm smile, He said, “I love you so much, Babycakes. I wish I could take you with Me, but I still have work for you to do.” With that, He set the little “me” down, patted “me” and sent “me” on my way. At the time I assumed it was me as a little tyke.

In an instant, I understood the “we.” There wereย two of “me” in my mind: me and “Babycakes.”

It is important to know that MPD/DID is not a result of demonization.

If you’ve seen Borne Identity, you have a bit of an idea how a personality “splits.” Something traumatic happens to a person – something with which their mind cannot cope without breaking apart. At that moment, the mind splinters, and a new personality is “born” in the mind. It is this new “person” to whom all the atrocities are assigned, as if they happened to another person altogether.

Sometimes the “host” personality is aware of these “alters,” and sometimes (as in my case) they are not.

Demons can attach to the “alters,” but are not the cause of them. This is important to know when working with an SRA/MPD/DID/Schizophrenia victim. It takes a lot of discernment and wisdom from the Lord to minister to people who suffer with these mental issues. Additionally, sometimes these things can be caused by organic issues such as chemical imbalance.

This sounds like something from a science fiction or horror movie. It’s not. It’s real. There are actual people who’ve made a career out of this sort of thing…

…and it happened to me

…when I was two.

The “who” and the “what happened” are not necessary to divulge. For a long time, the Lord protected my mind by allowing this schism in my mind.

Now the time had come to make her presence known. She was the “Babycakes” to whom Jesus had spoken a couple of years earlier. Her work was not yet completed…

…she carried dark secrets of evil acts committed against me.

*****

If you came into this post “cold,” and are wondering what kind of kook I am, you should read the previous post, God Blew Up My Box.

To find out how this story ends, read, “Out of the Dark and Into the Light“!

Actions

Information

14 responses

27 08 2013
Leslie's Illusions

I agree with you. I have DID and I’m certain it is not demonic.

I haven’t seen Bourne Identity–I will have to check that out, thanks!

27 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for stopping by and commenting. ๐Ÿ™‚

Concerning Bourne – it grieves me that humans do this sort of thing intentionally for their personal benefit…military or otherwise. Hollywood is rife with this sort of thing. Sad.

Have a blessed day!
Tami
\o/

27 07 2013
Mary

Your post is so helpful. Immediately someone came to my mind to share this with! Thanks for sharing, Tami.

27 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Glad Jesus could help!

\o/

25 07 2013
Toni Sprandel

Babycakes is one of the endearing terms we used to call our granddaughter when she was little! I love you dear sister and I am so in awe of how the LORD ministers to you! Can’t wait for tomorrow!

25 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’d never called anyone that in my entire life…don’t know that I’d ever even heard anyone use the term.

His love is so tender. ๐Ÿ™‚

\o/

25 07 2013
Mark in Sumpter

First, to be aware of what was happening to you is an amazing blessing…then to be aware of the healing that Jesus is doing with you is even more amazing! And to be humble and open enough to share it all with the world….means that he is giving you great peace and strength….waiting for tomorrow! God bless!

25 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for the encouragement. It’s a little scary to make this public, but how can I not? Jesus has done some amazing restoration work in me. I am in no way the same person I was eight years ago. To Him be the glory forever and ever amen!

\o/

26 07 2013
Mark in Sumpter

giving the glory to God for your restoration is the main thing…..to give him glory by sharing your experience with the world….is the final step!

26 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh, you and me both! I hadn’t thought about sharing being the final step, may that be so! He has done so much in my heart, soul, and mind. Sharing was scary. I expected some dissenters, and was surprised that there weren’t any – at least any who posted. Thanks, Lord!

\o/

25 07 2013
Tanya M.

Oh, Tami! You had me at… โ€œI love you so much, Babycakes.” That just says it all. This really speaks to who we are and who He is – and what unconditional love really looks like. Thank you for sharing your heart on this important subject, and making the unconditional love of Jesus known. I’m on the edge of my seat, waiting for tomorrow’s post… ๐Ÿ™‚

25 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

He totally had me at that point! This memory still makes me cry!

\o/

25 07 2013
Valerie Rutledge

I feel like I’ve just read a “cliff-hanger”!! I’ll be back tomorrow to see how this story ends.

25 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

๐Ÿ™‚

\o/

Your turn!

