God Blew Up My Box!

24 07 2013

How big a box do you “allow” God to work in when it comes to your life? Mine was not very big at all. I liked a God who was predictable; manageable – tame even.

God had other ideas for me.

My church background is basically conservative. I grew up in a Baptist Church where God was nice and answered prayer if we were “good enough.” If we stepped out of line, He was waiting to pounce on us and whip us back into shape.

Jesus was cool. He loved me, this I knew for the Bible told me so.

The {Holy Spirit} whispered because we kind of pretended that He didn’t exist, played a very small part in our lives.

As an adult, I attend a fairly conservative church. We are by no means “on the fringe.” We don’t go looking for the supernatural, but don’t discount that God can do whatever He chooses, in whatever way He deems best. We’re a fairly “calm” church, you could say.

(I love my church, and I am not knocking it by any means. It’s been my home for almost 14 years!)

You need to know this because in my next few posts I am going to relate some experiences with God that may seem “out there.” Whether you agree does not alter the reality, for I was there and I experienced what I experienced.

Jesus introduced His ministry on earth in Luke 4:18, 19 like this:

 “The Spirit of the LORD [is] upon Me, because He has anointed Me to preach the gospel to [the] poor; He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to [the] captives and recovery of sight to [the] blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed; to proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD.”

(Other versions read, “The year of the Lord’s favor;” and “the year the Lord acts on your behalf.”)

This statement is Jesus’ quote of Isaiah 61:1,2.

Because of a lifetime of abuse and evils committed against me, these words gave comfort, but I took them as a sweet sentiment, but nothing more.

Today, my understanding of these verses is very different. I’m “foolish” enough to believe that Jesus meant every word because He has done all of this for me…in some very “outside the box” ways.

I don’t go looking for the supernatural,

but on the other hand, I serve a supernatural God,

so I expect to see the supernatural from time to time!

It is not outside His character to do so.

Over the past four months, I’ve  read many blogs written by people who have been deeply wounded; those who are struggling to make sense out of what happened to them; those who hope for “some relief” from their pain. There is a lot of carnage. This breaks my heart.

As I read what Jesus said in Luke, I don’t find anything to indicate that He meant, “I will help you to have a tolerable life;” in fact He said that He came to give life to the full!

My prayer is that as you read about what God did to heal my destroyed heart, mind, and soul you will be strengthened, encouraged, and willing to remove the limits of what you will allow God to do in order to heal yours.

Or that you will begin to believe that He really can – and wants to – heal your soul.

If you are reading this post, it’s not by accident, but because God wants you to know that He works in many ways that we cannot explain. Sometimes we are inclined to attribute the inexplicable to our enemy. The proof is in the fruit, however. Read my blog, inspect the fruit, and then decide “who” was responsible for my healing!

If you’re one of the wounded ones who desperately needs a healing touch from the Lord, be sure to read the next few blogs (I’ll link them together when they’re done so they’re easy to find).

Note that this is 2013, A.D. – The Year of Our Lord.

THIS IS YOUR YEAR!!!

The year of the Lord’s favor for you!

The question is:

Do you want to be made whole?

Should you have any questions about what I will relate, feel free to e-mail me.

May this be the year that…

…God blows up your box!!

To find out what God did to “blow up my box,” don’t miss tomorrow’s post,Mini-Me and Me.”

Actions

Information

20 responses

29 07 2013
Robin Claire

Hi Tami,
You know, there are so few other bloggers like me; that talk about seeing super-natural acts of God performed right in front of them, and that truly believe that they can hear Him. Its so nice to know I’m not alone in my spiritual weirdness.
love you dear friend,
robin

29 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hey, Robin!

Now you know why I told you not to sweat it! 😉

After “watching” Jesus (in the gospels), and “hearing” Him say that all He’d done and more was within our grasp, I’m beginning to think that we’re not the weird ones! Didn’t Jesus say that His sheep **hear** His voice? I guess that settles it – we’re sheep. 🙂

I think I’m done worrying about what others think about my walk with the Lord. It is what it is, and I wouldn’t give it up for anything!

Have a blessed day, sweet sister!

\o/
Praising Jesus who created one of you and one of me and one like every other person on the planet! …no two alike.

24 07 2013
findingmyinnercourage

God indeed brings abundance into our lives. Powerful Blog. I too am looking forward with anticipation!

24 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

24 07 2013
tlhumphries

Go, God! Go! 🙂
Can’t wait to read about your experiences! Is it tomorrow yet?

24 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

After 1/a PST!

24 07 2013
Toni Sprandel

Feel like this was meant for Larry & I! I love how the LORD works!!

24 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Mmm. Me too!

As the kids say, “Peace out!” 😉

\o/

24 07 2013
Peg

Looking forward with anticipation . . . . . 🙂

24 07 2013
Kari Anne Dorstad

I love the mysteries of Gods hand working in ways I could never conceive in my little mind. I try to. I try to visualize this or that. I dream of doing this and even try to organize how its going to play out. He’s got the big picture.,and he’s my heavenly father leading as we go.loving me and working his perfect plan for my vapor of a life.

24 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’ve given up figuring out how it’s going to play out – and “helping” God get me there! I always just make a mess of things, and He has to clear away the debris and then begin again. I’ve learned, never pitch in to assist the Master Crafter! 🙂

\o/

24 07 2013
Planting Potatoes

good…going to hold you to it… 🙂

24 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂 It’s already scheduled to publish.

\o/

24 07 2013
Planting Potatoes

🙂 🙂 🙂

24 07 2013
Pure Glory

We can never remain the same, when we spend our time in the presence of the Lord. He transforms us from the inside out and heals our wounds. Looking forward to your next few posts. 🙂

24 07 2013
Hope

(Im)patiently waiting to hear more…

24 07 2013
Heather Marsten

This is an important post! God does not want us to just barely hold on by our fingertips, He has made us NEW creations in Christ. He wants us totally healed, for then He gets the most glory. God has promised to give us beauty for ashes and to restore what the locusts ate.

It took years for me to heal from my abuse, but one day I realized I didn’t have to walk around as a victim. It was frightening to step into healing, but I’m glad God stuck with me until I could. (BTW He’s still with me healed and He keeps inspiring me to grow.)

24 07 2013
Heidi Viars

What a powerful reminder that He makes all things new! … like you said, He came not only to make things barable, but bring life in abundance… blessings. sister!

24 07 2013
kingintraining

You don’t know how much I needed this this morning: “I don’t go looking for the supernatural, but on the other hand, I serve a supernatural God, so I expect to see the supernatural from time to time! It is not outside His character to do so.”

24 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

Your turn!

