To My Lovely Wife

14 07 2013

To my lovely wife,

I want to introduce myself. I love Jesus, music, and playing with children. I love those times when Jesus tells me He sees me and loves me. I love serving the good news and seeing lives change.

Although we haven’t met, I’m exactly what you’re looking for:

You wanted a man who will be faithful even in the hard times, I already am.

You wanted a man who will pray for you every day, I already do.

You wanted a man who will lay down his life for others, do whatever he can to protect those he cares about, and work like crazy to better your life; well, I already do.

Some people say I’ve already waited long enough. “Plenty of fish” kind of thinking.

There may be hundreds of thousands of fish in the sea but…I’m not looking for a fish.

It may take breaking a lot of eggs to make an omelet but…I don’t want an omelet.

It may be better to test drive a car before you buy it but…I don’t want to be with a car. I want to be with you.

I believe you’re worth waiting for because I believe you’re exactly what I’m looking for.

I look forward to the day we can worship side by side; the day we comfort the downtrodden, show mercy to our critics, and bless this dying world with the love of God, side by side.

By the grace of God, He is cleansing my heart – this very moment. This work He is doing keeps me praying for His power every day. I pray for that power to consume your life as well.

Until we meet my dear wife, I already love you.
Jake

*****

This is a guest post by my friend, Jake, who is more like one of my sons.

If you believe this letter was meant for you, contact me. I’m setting up appointments for interviews. πŸ˜‰

(Not really – but you have to admit that was funny!)

Oh, guys, you could take a few notes from this letter. I’ll bet your wife would love to get a note like this from you. πŸ˜‰

Actions

Information

38 responses

8 08 2013
truthofgods

As Christians we should remain watchful, and remain grounded in God. Reading the word of God will help you to identify the different attacks the enemy is coming with. The word of God speaks that the enemy is like a roaring lion seeking whom he may devour in (1 Peter 5:8).
What we should know is that the devil has no power compare to the power of God. One tactic of the enemy is that he makes himself seem bigger and powerful than God, through problems he`s bringing in your life, making you question God, making you think that God cannot help you and making you feel that the only way to get out is to give in to him. I just want you to know that God is all power, God can help, he can carry you through the storms of life. If we or grounded in God the enemy cannot harm us. The enemy will and try to attack but he well not success, because we are children of the most high God and we are protected by him.

8 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Such a timely word, Pastor. I KNOW all these things, and yet when the heat is on, they seem to slip from my remembrance. It’s time to put the enemy on notice once again, put on my armor, STAND UP, and remember that Jesus is ALWAYS victorious. Thank you very much for taking the time to strengthen these hands that are beginning to hang down, and these knees that are getting a little wobbly!

With gratitude,
\o/

8 08 2013
truthofgods

How do I deal with the devil?

I learned a great lesson early in my Christian walk. A dispute, one that seemed quite irrational, developed at our company between two senior managers. As tempers flared and harsh words burst out, it looked as though things would only get worse, not better.
Later, as I pondered the problem in the quiet surroundings of my study at home, my eyes fell on an unopened book on my bookshelf, still in its cellophane wrapper. The title intrigued me: Dealing with the Devil by C.S. Lovett. As I leafed through its pages I came across this analogy: Suppose you stood in the middle of a busy traffic intersection, wearing normal street clothes, with cars coming from all directions. You might wave your arms wildly trying to stop traffic, but before long you’d probably be run over. Imagine instead that you do the same thing, only this time change your clothing. Put on a policeman’s uniform. The results would be completely different. Drivers would respect the authority represented by the uniform and do as you directed.
The author then made this point: If a believer is “clothed with Christ,” he or she has authority to deal with spiritual opposition, just as the policeman does in traffic. Armed with this insight, I “put on my uniform” and prayed in Jesus’ name, exerting authority over whatever unseen forces were causing dissension between the two managers. The next day I found to my amazement the problem had vanished — as though there had never been a conflict in the first place. This incident really opened my eyes to spiritual opposition. The Bible has a great deal to say about such warfare. Let’s look more closely.
The devil is a real adversary that you must reckon with. Also known as Satan, he was initially a high-ranking angel in heaven who rebelled, was cast out of heaven (see Luke 10:18) and has been in total opposition to God ever since. It was he who tempted Adam and Eve in the Garden (see Genesis 3:4) and even now is the author of war, famine, murder and every vice known to mankind. Jesus called him a thief that “does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy” (John 10:10).
Satan challenged Jesus at every turn — from His infancy through His death. Yet Jesus was undeterred from His mission to completely defeat His ancient foe. The Apostle John said, “For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the devil” (1 John 3:8). Though the enemy was a schemer and clever tactician, he made an enormous miscalculation, thinking if he could kill God’s Son he would gain uncontested control of the entire world. However Jesus’ death, which Satan expected to be his supreme triumph, became his ultimate downfall.
Though Satan was indeed defeated, for a while he continues to exert a measure of influence on earth. He is still behind every form of evil, perhaps with increasing intensity, sensing (correctly) the day is coming when he will be completely destroyed. Peter says Satan “walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour” (1 Peter 5:8). Peter’s counsel? “Resist him, steadfast in the faith” (v.9). Paul says the same: “Be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God that you may be able to stand against the wiles (schemings) of the devil” (Ephesians 6:10,11).
Every day you will see evidence of the devil’s influence around you and in world events. The good news is that in Jesus you can be an “overcomer,” a phrase used often in Revelation, the final book of the Bible. James says emphatically, “Resist the devil and he will flee from you” (James 4:7). In other words, put on the policeman’s uniform!

8 08 2013
lessonsbyheart

Pulling mine off the hanger right now. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the exhortation. I surely needed it today!

\o/
Praising Jesus for making me part of a body that cares for itself!

6 08 2013
truthofgods

Thank God that he has a plan for us…

29 07 2013
truthofgods

Thanks for the visit..It is always a pleasure and a blessing to hear your words of encouragement..

29 07 2013
truthofgods

Praise the Father…

22 07 2013
sagescenery

I love this, Jake…will pass it along to my 23 year old son………and my husband!! Ha!!

22 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Equipping the saints…that’s what it’s all about. πŸ™‚

\o/

22 07 2013
sagescenery

Amen!!

22 07 2013
truthofgods

Thank god for his grace..

21 07 2013
truthofgods

We must press on to the mark..

20 07 2013
beverley

Hi Jake (?) what a lovely thing to write. At first i thought you were a loon but now i’ve read a few of the responses i understand you better. Change the introduction to My Darling Husband and you are writing my letter. I also love your response that you have closed down the dating sites and now you are waiting on the Lord, me too. Like you i have come to understand that the Lord has not forgotten me, but he is looking for the very very best for me. Good look and may God give you what you are looking for.

20 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

(Jake’s a good friend of my husband and I. He asked if I would post his letter, and I was happy to do so. He checks the responses from time to time, and so will receive your comment. No doubt you can expect a reply from him!)

Thanks for reading – and following Lessons by Heart!

In Christ,
Tami
\o/

20 07 2013
beverley

Hi, Tami, It was a little confusing have a man writing to a woman when it clearly shows a woman on your profile. I don’t hope you yet, but thank you for following my blog, i hope you like what you find here.

20 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hi, Beverley.

Yeah, I was wondering if that would be confusing…especially since I didn’t state that it was written by Jake until the end of the post.

(I have a husband…I don’t need a wife, too! I wouldn’t want one if I DIDN”T have a husband!!)

I’m on your blog right now, and really enjoy it. I especially liked the final lines on your Gravatar profile. You ARE beautiful…outside as well as within, from what I’ve read and seen. Jesus never makes junk.

Have a blessed week-end!
\o/
Praise Jesus!

20 07 2013
beverley

I don’t have a husband and certainly do not want a wife, it is not God’s way, but each to their own.

I call my blog a God blog, preaching God’s words in a earthly manner. I glad that you are enjoying it. No God doesn’t make junk not ever but sometimes life experiences can make you feel like you are junk and i’ve had a number of those over the years.

I am now following you so we can share some time together.

Have a wonderful weekend too

20 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I so agree concerning life experiences. Some of the enemy’s sharpest daggers have come from people who supposedly “loved” me.

I’m thankful that we’re connected through our blogs. May the Lord richly bless your work!

\o/

22 07 2013
beverley

i sometimes wonder if i have ever been loved at all in this world, but i know i have and do love others. Blessings

22 07 2013
worthless_romantic

Thank you. I appreciate that you don’t think I’m a loon anymore. God is good.

22 07 2013
beverley

He is πŸ™‚

15 07 2013
worthless_romantic

I think the real reason for writing this was to eliminate possibilities. I wasn’t trying to get more options opened up to me but to limit them even further. Instead of looking at every woman I met with the idea this might be the one, I’m now hanging on to the belief that when the time is right, and when the Lord says I’m ready it will happen. I’ve shut down dating profiles, turned away women I’m very attracted to but that I know are not right for me. I’m trying instead to be comfortable with who I am and having faith that the Lord sees me and has not forgotten me although it’s been almost 13 years of being on my own. If I’m wrong what do I really lose? My life will end and I’ll end up with the best relationship imaginable with my Lord, forever. I could kick and scream, scrape and claw to get what I want but really that sounds pretty petty to try to hang on to this vapor of life like that. So the idea was not to fill my inbox with possibilities but to declare, sorry ladies…I’m taken.

15 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for clarifying, Jake. I love your take on this. We’ve watched you struggle for a long time. I think you’ve hit the nail on the head.

Love you, bro!
\o/

15 07 2013
worthless_romantic

Well you did a little more than sit by and watch…you both rolled up your sleeves and got dirty. I love you both.

17 07 2013
Kari Anne Dorstad

I think your very brave to write a letter like that. I don’t think I could . I’m not sure if the Lord wants me to ever marry again or not. I love being single, but some of those reasons are selfish. Just in case the Lord wants me to marry I do pray for that soul almost everyday. They need it . I would be a difficult person to live with. I have a list I use. I ask that he find his Identity in Christ alone Redemption from negative emotions Godly friends he can share his heart to. To be forgiving and not carry grudges, or hold things in his heart against others. love to seek the word and pray.Protection from accidents diseases, danger and evil influences .Deliverance from harmful addictions. Not to be anxious over finances, Seek God’s kingdom first, and of course wisdom about all things needed to live in this fallen world. Devotion to his family. Sometimes I also add, prevent distractions from other women. I pray these things for many other friends and family members so its easy for me to remember Sometimes I just ask God to super bless his day and somehow let him know that I’m praying for him.

17 07 2013
worthless_romantic

Well Kari it sounds like you already know the answer to what the Lord wants…I’ve heard other’s lists too. Seems like a tall order but I guess a tall guy could meet the order πŸ™‚ My list is pretty short for some reason: A long dark haired woman who doesn’t mind my heavy music (I’ve always said that worship music is the highest form of music but I like the heavy stuff too for some reason) and a heart like Abigail…She loved the Lord more than herself as demonstrated by her doing everything to save Nabal from David. Now that I think of it, I guess that’s a tall order too…God have mercy on our expectations! LOL

15 07 2013
annabachinsky

This is great! πŸ™‚ One of my “draft” posts is my letter to my future husband too. πŸ˜‰

15 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Gee, Maybe I ought to send you his e-mail address. πŸ˜‰

\o/

15 07 2013
annabachinsky

Hahaha….. that’s too funny. I’m sure my dad would appreciate it if you did (he wants Mr. Right to come along more than I do), but I think I’m good πŸ˜‰

14 07 2013
Victoria Grefer

that’s so sweet! πŸ˜›

14 07 2013
Dana Bradley

I agree, anyone would love to get a letter like that! I love it Jake…a little glimpse of what is inside you! SWEET!

14 07 2013
melanie jean juneau

Beautiful.Prayer and trust work; my husaband simply prayed for a wife and accidently met me in Regina.Saskatchewan on his way from Ottawa, Ontario to Northern B.C. He stopped to visit a fried but that friend had taken his youth group out, so he said visit with my fiance. I lived with the fiance. Michael stayed almost a week. He saw stars and I had an interiror vision which is hilarious..better write a post

14 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I can’t wait to read your story. No doubt it will be very interesting. πŸ™‚

\o/

14 07 2013
melanie jean juneau

and funny

14 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I didn’t doubt it for a second! πŸ˜‰

\o/

14 07 2013
dianarasmussen

Love it! Thanks Jake! And Tami too! πŸ˜‰

14 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome, Diana. I wish I had a daughter for Jake. I’d love to have him for a son-in-love!

\o/

14 07 2013
dianarasmussen

Awww, that’s awesome!

Your turn!

