Dust Bunnies Will Eat You Alive

12 07 2013

Since most people have carpet, dust bunnies aren’t as noticeable as they were when we had hardwood (or linoleum) floors. Because we spent little time under our beds, they went unnoticed. If we dropped something and bent down to retrieve it – WHOA! “Ashes to ashes, dust to dust”…it looked like someone was either coming or going!

The only place dust bunnies collect isn’t under furniture, though. Our mind is a great gathering place, too.

These, however, are not so innocuous. They are comprised of sin; either those we’ve committed and don’t want anyone to know about, or those committed against us that we somehow feel responsible for and don’t want anyone to know about.

The priests of Ezekiel’s day had dust bunnies, too. In chapter 8, God exposed them for everyone to see. Everyone. You can read the chapter and see them for yourselves. Yikes!

This isn’t a dusty Old Testament “Bible study,” but has relevance to us today. It has special application if you’ve been wounded!

Ezekiel was given a vision – an x-ray view into the temple. In it, he was shown what was taking place inside the temple.

He was shown every form of creeping things, and abominable beasts and all the idols of Israel…inside the temple!

In verse 12, God asks Zeke if he’s seen what they do in the dark – every man in the chambers of his imagery.

Why?

“For they say, ‘The Lord does not see us, the Lord has forsaken us.’ ”

This gets interesting, so don’t click “Like” and move on!

The word, chambers, is elsewhere translated, “inmost or inward parts.” Hmm; the Scripture that says, “God desires truth in the inward parts.” (Psalm 51:6)

Could there be a connection?

Built into the walls of the temple were chambers (Hebrew: cheder – not to be confused with cheese!). These were meant to be storage closets for the implements used in worship. The priests, feeling forsaken by God,  hid their idols inside these chambers instead.

Things haven’t changed much.

As a child of God, you’ve been called to be a priest to the Lord (Rev. 1:6).

You are the temple of the Holy Spirit (1 Cor. 6:19).

You have cheders…inward parts.

Every wound you’ve ever received…if it hasn’t been healed…is an idol.

Think I’m off my nut?

Let me ask you this: Have you ever had an over-the-top knee-jerk reaction to something someone said or did. Later you were a little confused and/or embarrassed by how  big a deal you made out of a seemingly small thing?

Either to yourself or out loud you might have said something like, “My dad used to criticize me like this, and I’m not putting up with it anymore;” or “my ex used to treat me like a slave and I’ll be damned if I’m going to let anyone use me like that ever again.”

It’s not the words. There comes a time when we need to stand up and say, “No more!” It’s the reaction, the emotions that come up hot and heavy that indicate the presence of a dust bunny…an idol.

What happens today triggers old wounds and emotions. This is a dead giveaway.

Why would I call these wounds an “idol,” though?

Think this through with me.

An event takes place. Do we automatically reflect on what God’s Word says, or on His truths and respond appropriately? (“Excuse me. That tone of voice doesn’t work for me. If you want me to hear you, you’ll need to say that another way.)

Or do we (subconsciously, by the way) run to the memory of “been here before – never doing this again” and react? (“Who do you think you are to talk to me like that? You’re a jerk. Do it yourself!”)

In this case, we’ve gone to the hidden places – cheders of our heart, pulled out that old idol of memory, and “asked” it what we should do.

What we do when this happens is very telling: A Godly response = God is our God. A knee-jerk reaction = an old wound is our god.

I was astonished when I heard Nancy Missler teach about this. (Her book, Be Ye Transformed is excellent. I highly recommend it.) I had never seen my wounds quite this way before.

“Okay,” you say. “I have to admit that this happens to me. Now what?”

Here’s one of the ways I deal with these incidents:

1) Event occurs, and I notice that I reacted.

2) Take time to sit with the Lord and talk about it with Him. “Lord, would you show me when this first occurred?”

3) He brings to mind (usually) childhood experiences. I follow them back until I am fairly certain I’ve found the first occurrence.

4) I ask the Lord for His truth in the matter. Sometimes he brings a word or phrase to mind or a Scripture. (He never removes something detrimental without giving something life-giving in exchange! NEVER leave a vacant cheder. The enemy will just fill it with something else, and probably worse!)

5) I ask Him if there’s something He wants me to know about what happened. (This is rarely, “They did this because…” – which doesn’t help, but rather justifies their actions or words. Most of the time what He desires to show or tell me is something between Him and me, and brings healing.)

6) Find a Kleenex box…you’re probably going to need it. 😉

7) Thank Him for His revelation.

8) Repent of trusting in yourself rather than trusting God whenever something triggered a reaction because of this event.

9) Accept His forgiveness.

10) Watch in amazement the next time something should have “triggered” you, but instead you respond with grace and love.

This takes a bit of practice and – I won’t lie – hurts like crazy during the processing… But it’s THE LAST TIME!!!! You HAVE to know that the memory will not EVER again hurt you like it does now!

You may find it helpful to find a mature Christian to go through this with you. Until I learned how to work through things with the Lord on my own, Barb (my pastor’s wife) was a wonderfully patient assistant for this process.

To every reaction, there must be an equal and opposite action like this. If you are willing to take the time (and allow the pain of having your wounds cleaned out in this way), you will walk greater and greater freedom.

I am living proof! 🙂

Or, you can leave your cheders full of those old wounds and…

…the dust bunnies will eat you alive for the rest of your life.

*********

This is one of many ways that Jesus brought healing to my deeply wounded heart. I’ll share other methods He used in the future.

Actions

Information

28 responses

22 07 2013
Robin Claire

Hi Tami,
Loved this post. Love Nancy Missler too. My spiritual mentor and I are going through her book & workbook – “The Way of Agape”. It’s deeply and especially edifying. I want so much to love the way she describes it. I have a looonnnggg way to go though.
love you,
robin

22 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Don’t we all? 🙂

\o/

17 07 2013
judikruis

I’ve been processing those “reactions” too Tami. I learned through a book on theophostic prayer and what a difference of peace is felt! You almost want to kick up more dust bunnies so you can find more freedom! Blessings to you-

17 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Every chance I get I’m trying to hunt them down. The freedom I’ve experienced is phenomenal. THANK YOU, JESUS!

Barb uses a form of theophostic prayer with me, too. Do you know the name of the book? I have the training series by the man who teaches the process, but that’s all.

Blessings~
Tami
\o/

17 07 2013
judikruis

Healing Life’s Hurts through Theophostic Prayer
http://store.theophostic.com/product_p/3.htm

Helpful in understand others too!

17 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I agree wholeheartedly. In December I worked my way through a study by Russ Dizdar entitled, “Freedom Encounters.” It employs theophostics, and some other methods, and is highly effective with abuse survivors, as well as SRA (Satanic Ritual Abuse), DID (Dissociative Disorder – aka Multiple Personality Disorder -MPD).

There is such a need for healing like this. I see broken people everywhere. Jesus introduced His ministry in Luke 4:18, 19. He’s done all that He said He came to do and more for me. Mmm. He has been good to me.

Thanks for the book. I’ll get a copy and read it soon.

\o/

13 07 2013
nopew

I enjoy these parable-type teachings. Helps remind us that Jesus can (is) found in everything all the time.
Maybe I’ll go dust off some bunnies 🙂
Peace

13 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Parables are my favorite means of teaching. I learned from the Best! It’s easier to communicate a truth or principle when we use something familiar to the audience we’ve been given.

Blessings,
\o/

14 07 2013
nopew

Indeed…

13 07 2013
Pure Glory

Good practical post for healing. Thank you!

13 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks!
\o/

12 07 2013
Toni Sprandel

Love this, I agree, I laugh and I cry with you, You are the mature christian I would sit and cry with if I wasn’t 3000 miles away! Love you!

12 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re the best, Toni!
Love you!
\o/

12 07 2013
Larry Who

Good teaching.

12 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks!

\o/

12 07 2013
Elizabeth Yalian

In reference to “NEVER leave a vacant cheder. The enemy will just fill it with something else, and probably worse!” This is so true! Like in Luke 11: 24-25 When the unclean spirit is gone out of a man, he walks through dry places, seeking rest; and finding none, he said, I will return to my house from where I came out. 25And when he comes, he finds it swept and garnished. 26Then goes he, and takes to him seven other spirits more wicked than himself; and they enter in, and dwell there: and the last state of that man is worse than the first. Our idols and poor thoughts, forgiveness, anger, etc,; may not be evil spirits, but they come from the same source! Thank you for sharing. Blessings to you!

12 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for giving Jesus’ teaching about that aspect. I appreciate having that included.

I had five little kids running around this morning while I wrote. It was hard to stay focused (not that I’m complaining, mind you. I haven’t seen them in a very long time!)

Have a blessed day!

\o/

12 07 2013
Elizabeth Yalian

What a blessing to have those little ones in your home!

12 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m loving it! Three of them just moved back from Pennsylvania (I’m in California). I haven’t seen them for almost two years. The other two are down from Oregon. We only see them a few days per year as well. Umm hmm, loving it!
\ 😉 /

12 07 2013
Elizabeth Yalian

Praise God!

12 07 2013
The Lily and The Marrow

I believe that this process can be very beneficial especially if combined with the ongoing heart shaping that the Holy Spirit is working in us. I’ve found that hurts that I’d thought I’d overcome in the past will come back and haunt me if I’m not spending very regular time engaging with God.
Thanks for sharing part of your journey!
Blessings,
-Jen

12 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re so right. I could never do this without the Spirit’s help. He has indeed been my Comforter and Guide – and all that Jesus said He would be!

This is one of many ways the Lord uses to heal and set me free. He is so gracious. After all, He could have made us wait until we join Him to be made whole. 😉

Thanks for taking the time to comment!
Tami
\o/
Praising Jesus!

12 07 2013
blmaluso

This is exactly what I have been experiencing…it is an amazing healing process. Thank you for the wonderful explanation and the steps. Very helpful!

12 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, dear sister.

I wasn’t sure if the “steps” would be clear or helpful. It’s hard to explain in words to someone who’s never been through them.

\o/

12 07 2013
Heidi Viars

You crack me up one minute and have me almost in tears the next … Thank you for being so practical too!!!

12 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Sorry for the roller coaster ride, Heidi! Yesterday’s story is actually pretty mild compared to other issues. But it was a day to say, “Good bye” to wishful thinking. There will be no reconciliation.

God brought this episode to light because He wants me to walk in Truth.

I do sincerely pray that the Lord will be able to break through to this poor wretch of a man before his death. I hate to think what hell will be like for him otherwise. 😦

Thanks for your comment! The Lord threw in the practical side. I’d intended only to point out the problem. 😉

\o/

12 07 2013
Valerie Rutledge

I have never thought of old wounds being idols, but it makes sense. Thank you for not simply pointing out the problem but for also pointing to the solution!

12 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Pointing out the problem was my idea. Pointing out the solution…yeah, that was all Jesus!

\o/

Your turn!

