God Has Tattoos!

8 07 2013

My notepad of choice is definitely my hand. There have been many times that I would have forgotten to do a particular thing, or to buy some milk for dinner if it weren’t for this handy habit. I talk with my hands (even when talking to the Lord), and the words I’ve written there catch my attention, and remind me of the thing I forgot the minute I put down my pen.

Tattoos are all the rage these days. Age is no determining factor either. I have several friends in their 50s and 60s who are now sporting their favorite picture or saying. I feel naked, for I don’t have one.

Not that I don’t want one, mind you. If I were to succumb to peer pressure, I’d have just one tat. I’d have it placed over my heart, and it would read:

NO CPR

I’LL SUE YOU!

After all, I know where I’m going. For goodness sake, don’t delay my entry into heaven!

Along the same line, let’s consider these verses:

“Can a woman forget her nursing child, and not have compassion on the son of her womb? Surely they may forget, yet I will not forget you. See I have inscribed you on the palms My hands.” (Isaiah 49:15,16)

There are a couple of ways we can view the word, “inscribed.”

Some translations read, “I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.” (NIV)

An engraving is usually made into a metal of some sort. An engraver will remove material in order to leave grooves that make up the inscription. For instance, if it is an identification bracelet (remember when those were popular?), metal would be removed as the person’s name was etched into the nameplate. Nothing was added to the band, but something was taken away (He must increase, but I must decrease.).

If we were able to shrink down small enough to enter into the valley made by the engraving, it would be like flying into the Grand Canyon. The surrounding mesa would represent the engraved metal, the canyon itself would represent the engraving. As we flew through the canyon, we would see that there is only the surface area of the canyon that separates the space that is the canyon from the surrounding land.

The surface is a mere molecule deep. (And the two shall become “one flesh.”) They cannot be pulled apart ever again. Sure, the metallic canyon could be filled in, but it would not erase that wall; it cannot be restored to its original state.

“Engraved” in God’s palms, I am a permanent part of Him!

Moving to other translations (NKJV, NASB), let’s look at the word inscribed.

To “scribe” means to write. “In” means…well…in! So to “inscribe” something means to write into an object. Today we call this “tattooing.” Ink is used to write (or draw) a design or name into a person’s skin in such a way that it becomes a permanent part of their body.

Thus, my statement that God has tattoos.

My name is inscribed in His palms.

Yours is as well!

Every time He waves His hands around, the ink stands out and brings us to His remembrance.

(Yes, I understand that God is Spirit – doesn’t have hands in the way we know them. It’s His illustration, though. I didn’t make this up – He did!)

I’m so thankful that God uses pencil for our sins (so they can be blotted out), but He uses ink for writing down our names. Not any old ink, but permanent ink, don’t you know!

Without trying to be irreverent, the idea of God sitting in a tattoo parlor, having my name inscribed on His palm tickles me. I’m forever thankful for the day He had my name tattooed into His palm!

PS Jesus has body piercings, too!

He was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities;

the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed.”

(Isaiah 53:5)

Actions

Information

28 responses

17 07 2013
Kari Anne Dorstad

Don’t forget he also has our pictures on his frig..

17 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

9 07 2013
cazehner

I love this first century picture of tattoos and body piercings. Nail prints in Jesus’ hands and my name inked on his palm, his hand in the hand of the Father’s. Thank you for your post today. It’s a picture I won’t soon forget! Praising Jesus with you.

9 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

So glad to hear that!

\o/

9 07 2013
giantsparkle

I just LOVE the thought!!!…of my name being tattooed on His palm. 😀

9 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂
\o/

8 07 2013
myGodsGrace

Blessings Blessings you had me as soon as i saw you write on your hands. me to i lose paper but hopefully will always have my hand. i too talk with hands to everybody, God too….. (DNR)
God managed to take that which we commonly share and use you to bring His Glory to it. Wow never looked at it that way, me carved in Christ. You made me smile Thank You Father Bless her indeed

8 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for your comments. Jesus is so good to us, isn’t He?

\o/

9 07 2013
myGodsGrace

Thank you for following my blog. i pray it speaks Gods life into you.

8 07 2013
letnothingbewasted

Love that thought. 🙂

8 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Me too! 🙂

\o/

8 07 2013
findingmyinnercourage

Definitely triggered my curiosity! Loved your Blog!

8 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

It amazes me to realize how dearly we are loved.

\o/

8 07 2013
butcheringsaint

so, yes accordingly, God does have tats! That is one big palm to have that many tats “inscribed” on it! But, that is why our God is an awesome God! thanks for this neat little perspective. What about piercings? Blessings!

8 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh, yes. Body piercing saved my life. Thank You, Jesus!

🙂

\o/

8 07 2013
myGodsGrace

YES!

9 07 2013
cazehner

Amen!

8 07 2013
melanie jean juneau

great title with a bit of a shock value, triggering curiosity….perfect

8 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’ve discovered that this type of title gets read the most. Whatever it takes to get them to read. 😉

\o/

8 07 2013
melanie jean juneau

yup

8 07 2013
Heidi Viars

John 10:29 “My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.” … yeah!!!! (and I am seriously contemplating a “NO CPR – I’LL SUE YOU” tattoo 🙂 Thanks for lighting up your readers’ day!

8 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Isn’t that an awesome verse. God doesn’t hold us on an open palm where anything could come along and squish us. We’re in Jesus’ hand, which is inside the Father’s. Sweet security!

\o/

8 07 2013
tamarknochel

Engraved with the nails that held Him to the cross.;-) HALLELUJAH! GOD IS GOOD!

8 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Beautiful – thanks!

8 07 2013
Larry Who

I’m tattooed in, too. Thanks.

8 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome!

\o/

8 07 2013
godcrazzzy

My name is tattooed in purple ink in His hands. He knows purple is my favourite colour. Yepeee!

8 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

\o/

Your turn!

