Palm Tree Stands Through High Wind and Waves

6 07 2013

Have you ever seen the roots of a palm tree? Well, I should say, “root,” for they only have one. It is nearly as big around as the trunk, and goes almost as deep into the ground as the tree is tall. This is why they are able to withstand gale force winds.

This reminds me of Psalm 1: “He shall be like a tree planted by rivers of water that brings forth its fruit in its season. Its leaf also shall not wither, and whatsoever he does will prosper.

How do we become a resilient tree? Look at the verse before: “His delight is in the law of the Lord, and in His law he meditates day and night.

Because many of us are in the midst of storms right now, I thought I would share four verses that, if meditated upon, will provide great nourishment for our root.Β Without a deep root to anchor us, when storms come – and they will – we will be subject to the wind, being blown and tossed about.

I weave them together into a prayer. Care to join me?

Lord, I know Your plans for me are for good and not for evil. Although I am not feeling very hopeful about my future, Lord, my hope isn’t in my circumstances, but in You. (Jeremiah 29:11)

I realize that my life is lived on the dash between the year of my birth and my death. Although time seems to stand still when I’m struggling, in light of eternity it’s really not that long. What You are working into my character through this tough time has eternal value. (2 Corinthians 4:17)

Nothing that I endure is ever wasted, for You are a God of economy. I have been called, You have a purpose for my existence and for this trial. I have seen You at work in the past, I can trust You today. (Romans 8:28)

I’m asking You to help me stand strong. Should I fail to rest in You as my refuge and fall, I am thankful for Your everlasting arms. I can never fall so far that Your arms are not there to catch me. I love Your mercy that is new every morning (bonus verse!). I need a fresh batch for today.

Thank You for the trials You permit me to go through. Every trial I endure causes my faith to increase, strengthens me for living in this world, and prepares me for the one to come.

Jesus, help me keep my eyes on You. I love You and long to see You in person.

It is in Your name that I ask these things. Amen.

Stand strong, my brothers and sisters. I love you and can’t wait for the day when we can meet face to face, as well!

Potluck’s at my place!

In the meantime, I’m going to get back to meditating. The wind is picking up, the water rising. God is faithful, I will be standing when the storm’s over!

Actions

Information

12 responses

8 07 2013
findingmyinnercourage

I loved this uplifting Blog and needed it so much today!

8 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’m so glad I listened when God gave the topic! Isn’t He so good to us?

\o/

8 07 2013
findingmyinnercourage

He is indeed good to us!

9 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚
\o/

6 07 2013
Pure Glory

Love hearing about the palm tree’s deep root. I want a deep root to withstand all the storms of life. Tami, I know you will make it through the storm. I’ll bring a spinach strawberry salad to your potluck! πŸ™‚

6 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’ve been through plenty – and Jesus has been more than sufficient. He will be this time as well.

Umm. That salad sounds fantastic! Can we go tonight?? πŸ˜‰

\o/

6 07 2013
Pure Glory

Sure thing! When I bring this salad, it gets eaten quickly!

6 07 2013
blmaluso

Thank you…I truly need this today.

6 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Jesus said someone did! I’m glad I didn’t listen to the lie that I was just imagining things! πŸ™‚

\o/

6 07 2013
Toni Sprandel

Reblogged this on thinkinaboutjesus and commented:
This is an awesome blog, please take a minute to read it! You will be uplifted!

6 07 2013
Toni Sprandel

Love this so much! I am going to reblog on my site! Love you dearest sister! I will bring the homemade chocolate chip cookies & cherry pie!!

6 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Toni! Hope you’re both well and tucked in at home. πŸ™‚

\o/

Your turn!

