Dangerous Dragons

1 07 2013

The island countertop lay askew, having been ripped from its cabinet. Shattered glass lay everywhere; the front of the microwave was smashed in. Lemonade dripped from the curtains. It had been a loud, horrible fight, the worst one to date.

Three of my sons had high-tailed it outside when the battle began. I stormed out of the house to find them. I’d had it. We were “so out of here.”

As was my custom, I took my kids to my parents’ home to figure out what I was going to do next. The song, “Watch Me” played nonstop in my head.

(Note to self: pick better theme songs. I’d been singing this one to myself every day for about a year. It’s chorus begins, “If you think I won’t go, watch me. Watch me prove you wrong today.” No big surprise, here I was “proving him wrong.”)

During the next two weeks, I located a house I could rent, and was making preparations to move there. Just before signing paperwork, my husband called to see what I was up to. I “waved my little hand and whispered, ‘So long, Dearie. You ain’t gonna see me anymore.’ “

Seriously?Β I thought to myself after his call.Β If I leave, this will be marriage number four down the drain. Do I really want this?

No. I’m tired of being a failure.

Not knowing what else to do, I contacted the pastor at a local church and discussed our situation with him. He suggested my husband and I talk to him before filing for divorce.

We did, agreed to a truce, and I moved back home.

Through a series of events, we left that church and began attending the one we still call “ours” fourteen years later.

One day I was talking with our pastor, John Morrill (who lives with Jesus now). There was something that had been weighing on my mind, and I wanted to get his take on the matter.

“Pastor John, our decor is Asian. Consequently, we have a lot of dragons around our house. I know that they are worshiped in other cultures, but we don’t do that. Is it okay to have them?”

He thought for a minute, then said, “Do you know who the dragon is in the Bible?”

“Yes,” I responded. “It’s Satan.”

“Okay. That’s right. I’m glad you know that,” he said. “Well then, the only other thing I can show you from the Bible is this verse right here. It says, ‘Whatever you do, if it is not of faith, then for you it is sin.’ You’ll have to decide what to do with your dragons.”

When I got home, I knew what had to be done. My husband, new to the faith and fond of our dragons, would never understand or consent, so I asked God to cover me while I did my best to obey Him.

First I went through the house and removed every dragon I could find. There was quite a pile of swords, pictures, statues, candles, tapestries, and even a cabinet with Mother of Pearl inlaid dragons on it. These I burned, broke, or otherwise ruined.

Next I got out the bottle of salad oil. “Lord, I’m feeling pretty silly right now. I don’t understand how any of this works, but I’m asking You to honor my attempts to cleanse my home. Please close any ‘doors’ we’ve opened in ignorance. Please send Your Spirit to fill our home.” I “anointed” every place that once held a dragon.

I finished long before my husband arrived. I held my breath and wondered how on earth I was going to explain the removal of a few hundred dollars worth of “beautiful” decorations from our home. The wall next to the front door once had a four-foot by two-foot picture of two fighting dragons. Now it was a big, empty white space. There was no way he could miss it!

About three months later (!) he asked where the different pieces had gone. I told him what I’d done. At first he was a little upset. “Some of those things were gifts,” he complained.

One night I told the story to some friends. I finished with, “We haven’t had a single violent conflict in our home since then.”

My husband overheard my story. “Hey, that’s true! That was a couple of years ago. There hasn’t been even one fight like we used to have,” he marveled.

Like I said, this took place fourteen years ago. The difference from the last day “with dragons” to the very next one “without dragons” was like night and day. The days of violence are a dim memory.

Coincidence? We don’t think so.

Now we’re both hyper-vigilant, and routinely check books, movies, video games, and decorations. Things pertaining to the occult offend our Lord. We don’t want to glorify His enemy.

Has something come to mind while you’ve read this article? If so, make it a matter of prayer – see what the Lord would have you do.

Why hang onto dangerous dragons?

Actions

Information

21 responses

4 07 2013
Rebekah L

Sometime in my first year of being Christian, I did the same in the apartment I had at the time. I had many Chinese decorations, Buddhist statues and also some “new age” things. One night after a particularly convicting biblestudy I went home and started throwing all kinds of things away. My roommate at the time thought I had lost my mind. lol, but God knew I was doing a very necessary cleansing so that He could sanctify the space for Himself. I’ve never looked back. Recently, my godfather (who is Chinese) shared with me his own experience of throwing away all the dragons in his home. People are often unaware of how they open doors to the enemy, but thankfully God has a way of putting us on the right path if we are submitted to His leading. Great post!

4 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for sharing your experience. Sometimes it can feel like we’re “taking things a little too seriously.” Then along comes someone else who confirms what you knew all along. πŸ™‚

\o/

2 07 2013
Toni Sprandel

Love, Love, Love this! I try very hard to not allow anything like that into our home. If it doesn’t glorify the LORD, I don’t need it! I commend you for taking the actions you did! The LORD gave you the courage you needed to do the right thing! And the LORD blessed your house because of it! Awesome! Love you!

2 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

How thankful I am that He doesn’t leave us in our foolishness, but finds a way to get through to us what we need.

\o/

1 07 2013
Mary

“Lord, open our eyes. Give us discernment and wisdom. Help us to speak to others around us in a way that they can hear as we try to show them the dangers of which we must be aware. In Jesus’ name.”

AMEN!!!!!

2 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚

\o/

1 07 2013
Sheryl Wright Stinchcum

Before a hurricane or tropical storm, I annoint the trees with olive oil. If you could see all the trees close to my house, you’d understand.

2 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚
We had 80 mph winds one night – and a very wimpy eucalyptus tree not 6 feet from the house and one fence; four feet from another fence. I asked the Lord to not let it fall on our house or the fences. In the a.m. I looked out the window and the top 20 feet of the tree was gone! I looked and looked. Finally found it. The top broke off, moved four feet over, and dropped right on the other side of the fence into the alley – barely nicked one board. Next time I said, “Duh!” Lord, could you hold the thing together? He did. πŸ™‚
Sometimes we don’t have because we don’t ask!
\o/

1 07 2013
tinabrenee

You are absolutely right about this! I have been reading up on the history / Illuminati movement and their symbols are woven into nearly every Disney channel show and cartoon. I’m teaching both of my sons to be vigilant and they are spotting things left and right. When you’re dealing with a force as ruthless as Satan, you have to be radical!

1 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

I think the Bible exhorts: “Wily as serpents, gentle as doves.” The last time I went to Disneyland, I was astonished to discover that nearly every story revolves around the occult in some way or other – from the darkness of Sleeping Beauty to the “cute” little white fairies in the same movie. I love the imagery and creativity, but have decided to forgo any future trips there.

We were at a store in Old Sacramento that had an angel display. They were all beautiful in their whites and pastels. One box caught my attention. It had a lovely angel with long, curly brown hair. Her dress was a beautiful array of pinks, lavenders, and aquas. It was “game” called, “Angel Speak.” On the cover it invited us to “talk to our angel.” It was an Oija board. Disguised as an angel of light, the enemy found a way to be invited into unsuspecting victims’ homes. (I have an issue with female angels, anyway. There is no basis for it in the Bible. There may well be some, but the ones in the Bible kept having to tell people, “Fear not!”)

We need a lot of discernment to navigate this world these days.

Illuminati…now there’s a topic for you. Go to YouTube, put Michael Jackson and Illuminati into the search engine. There’s a 45 minute speech he gave – there’s also about a 20-minute shortened version of the same thing. Was he really everything the media reported about him? or was he silenced? There are many very ugly things that happen behind the scenes that the average Christian does not know about – and likes it that way. “Go away, I’m busy watching American Idol and can’t be disturbed with reality.”

Last comment: Muse=to think. The letter A as a prefix means Not or The opposite of. To A-Muse someone is to get them to Not Think. We’ve become the frog in the pot, the heat under which is increased a degree at a time. We’ll sit there. amused, until boiled to death.

Lord, open our eyes. Give us discernment and wisdom. Help us to speak to others around us in a way that they can hear as we try to show them the dangers of which we must be aware. In Jesus’ name.

1 07 2013
tinabrenee

Amen, sistah! It’s everywhere! My daughter saw a really cut t-shirt with french writing on it so she thought to find out what it said before buying it… Gluttony, Lust, Greed – those were just some of the words that were scrolled on it. She also saw some clothes by a new designer at Target and noticed that the floral design bore a striking resemblance to the image of the Baphomet so when she got home, she did some research on the designer. One internet hit brought up an interview with him about the inspiration of his designs – Bingo! Her husband thought she was being paranoid. He couldn’t believe it…

1 07 2013
letnothingbewasted

Whoa…..I do know that I was prompted by the Spirit to remove some paranormal novels a few years ago. Hmmm, I need to look through my house & ask the Lord….There does seem to be some underlying tension & conflict in my household right now & this never crossed my mind.

1 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

At the risk of sounding like I’m bragging (which I am NOT), my hubby and I anointed our home. I went to every entry into the place and anointed doors and windows. We regularly invite the Holy Spirit to make our home His, and to make His presence known. I’ve had salespeople come to the door, and begin to walk in – catch themselves and apologize, stating that it seemed like the proper thing to do – they felt at home. A few have actually asked if they could come in, sit, and have a glass of water – not to sell, but just for the peace. This puts me in tears every time it happens, for I know it’s not me, but the Lord. He amazes me.

\o/

1 07 2013
Shofar

Hi Tami, I know other folks who ‘cleaned house’ and that put an end to weird and unusual things happening in their home, plus oppression and such.

What comes to my mind are the clothes and jewelry, hair styles, tattoos that Christian kids sport today and the friends they keep company with. Unless we teach and train them in godliness and Christian character, they are likely to be preyed upon and attacked by Satan, in other words, give no place to the enemy. All Christian parents and grandparents have to remind themselves that they must ‘train up a child in the way they should go,…’ so none are lost to Satan’s kingdom of lies and darkness. I”m afraid that youth ministries are not doing enough to teach and warn about sin, the temptations of the world, the flesh and the devil. Praying for them is not enough, but we have to seize every opportunity that presents itself to teach and train; I know, we have 7 grandchildren and 4 are youth. (Proverbs 22:6)
-Liz

1 07 2013
bluebeadpublications

Ignorance can be bliss.

1 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Not in our case. It was very dangerous. My house still bears the scars of many a fight – holes in the walls, stained curtains, etc. We’ve managed to repair or cover most of it. Our ignorance opened us up to a great deal of demonic activity that I never want to live through again.

I’m so thankful that Jesus gave me the question to ask my pastor…who did not tell me “what” to do…just pointed out the obvious – who the dragon really is. The same day they were gone, so was our rage-laden atmosphere. He is good.

\o/
That’s why I praise Jesus!

1 07 2013
blmaluso

Very insightful! For me it was almost an “addictive” interest in ghosts, ufos, and paranormal events. My priest prayed over me, and I felt the physical lifting of a burden/spirit. Ever since that day, my unGodly desire for those things just disappeared. I believe I was allowing a window to be opened for satan when I kept my mind and heart filled with those things. I do believe God and His angels enter our realm and touch our hearts at times…but I am much more discerning what I will “let in”. May God continue to bless you and your family!

1 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

We often get raised eyebrows when we share this part of our history. I’m thankful for your comments. Sometimes we feel like “odd ducks!” It’s always nice to know we’re not the only ones who’ve had this sort of experience. πŸ™‚

\o/

1 07 2013
Steve Rebus

Great post! Our ignorance can open doors to things that will take us away from God. So pleased you and your husband are basking in love again! God bless you! πŸ™‚

1 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Steve. We’re enjoying some cool weather at the coast while our hometown is a sweltering 112 degrees this week. πŸ˜‰

\o/

1 07 2013
Steve Rebus

Wow, thats hot!!!
Glad you’re enjoying the coast! God bless you both! πŸ™‚

Your turn!

