Jesus Uses Drugs

29 06 2013

This guest post is the testimony of  my dear friend, Jake. I wish you could meet him. He’s been part of our family for several years now, and a true gift from the Lord for my husband and me.

Nevertheless I Live

In my mind I was running from the most evil thing I had ever seen in my life, but I couldn’t move. Extending and holding its ground, the fence was a prison. The trees looked pale as death, predicting the howling efficiency of my demise. I was there in the back yard with him. He stood as a threat, promising to see my torn soul cast into agony. I was powerless and unable to either defend myself or run.

My mind raced like a movie – five movies – scanning in fast forward to find just a shred of reason for my expected misery. I knew what was about to happen, but didn’t want to admit it was my own fault. All my life I hid from the truth and I was perpetrating again…

I’d thought it was a good idea to go to Jason’s house that night. It was after work and we were going to take some Orange Sunrise, a type of LSD. I was in a much different frame of mind. I had no cares, no thought about the future. There was no reason to hope for joy, but at the same time no reason to expect death to be so cruel.

We took our LSD in his living room, giving it ages to “hit,” joking about work and other small talk until the “trip” began. I gave him a tape of our band to play on the stereo. It played a few songs while we were waiting for the fun to start. I thought we got a bad batch because nothing was happening. We were stoned, and I thought it would end there.

We started down to the mini-mart like we’d taken aspirin. The last normal thing I remember was walking under the lights. At the pinball machine, we dropped in quarters and readied ourselves for action. Furiously we strove to subdue one another, playing past our time and into the credits. It must have seemed odd to see us frantically playing a game that was over.

Shouting and laughing, we realized we were not in control any longer. The walk back to Jason’s  proved to hold my interest more than the walk to the store. The asphalt poured like thick, dark blood. The trees melted like wax on a hot stove. It seemed like we were descending with every step into an ember abode.

We looked at each other; his foolish grin contrasted my growing anxiety. It seemed only I knew where we were going. Gnashing teeth drenched the faces of those in agony plastered my eyes. In them I discovered where all the pain and hate of all the past ages had been. I was gazing into hell. In a twinge of terror, I searched my brain to think of how it happened – how I must have died! Death snapped on me like a trap. I wasn’t ready to die!

“How did this happen?” I thought, overwhelmed with conviction about my wickedness and God’s purity. I was condemned and I knew that I deserved hell. I was dead and gone, having wasted my chances for heaven – and trampled underfoot the sacrifice of the blood Jesus shed for me. “Oh, I wish I had one more chance,” I thought.

Jason turned to tell me that we were locked out of his house. He looked different. Standing there was this seven- or eight-foot demon. He pridefully strutted about the backyard, swaying with his cedar of a tail. His red, transparent body looking as if it could weigh four hundred pounds if it were from this world.

My friend seemed to be caught inside this evil spirit, not caring that he was being used.

In my mind, I was running from the most evil thing I had ever seen in my life, but I was trapped in the back yard.

“Are you Satan?” I kept asking, knowing he wasn’t. I had glimpsed him moments before.

The Prince of the Power of the Air was much like a snake, swallowing the inhabitants of the earth. He got me too, deceived me into believing that I had time to leave God out of my life until the time came for me to die – arrogant enough to think I would conveniently extract forgiveness from Him while on my deathbed.

Overcome with grief, I fell to the ground.

Hours passed with visions of my terrible new home, my missed opportunities to be saved, and the pain I caused my family by my death.

Still lying on the ground, I realized that I wasn’t dead. It had been hours, and after all it seems judgment would come swiftly. Scooping myself up from the ground, fear sliding off my back and realizing that I had one more chance to change masters, I fell to my knees and cried, “Jesus Christ is my Lord and Savior!” I begged God to forgive me and save my wretched soul.

Instantly, the scene changed. Jason’s horrible companion was gone. The agony that filled my eyes and burned a scar into my mind, the faces of those in hell, was healed. I was free to go.

Jason seemed irritated at my spiritual escape. He said that he wanted to be the captain of his own destiny, that he wanted to make his own rules. Having just seen the end of that road, I thought him foolish.

I walked to my car, got in and slammed the door. Without giving the motor time to warm up, I left for home.

Later I read in the Bible that, “Anyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” It took a long look into hell to make me realize that I had taken life for granted; that I had no other place to go but Jesus. I thank God for the gift of eternal life that He bought for me.

I’m thankful that Jesus uses drugs – to save someone like me.

Actions

Information

26 responses

27 09 2013
platinumdonmccoy

Two things draw people closer to God: The terror of hell or the blissfulness of Heaven. Apparently, He used the former here. Praise God for His wonders without numbers.

27 09 2013
lessonsbyheart

I love His ways! 🙂

\o/

18 07 2013
Steve Austin

Chills, Chills, CHILLS! This is absolutely horrible and beautiful. I praise Jesus that he used drugs to bring another one of His children back to the saving knowledge of Christ.

THANK YOU for sharing this, my friend!

18 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome. We have the living proof of Jesus’ redemption power in Jake…he comes to our home Bible study group and is like one of my kids. Jesus has done a great work in Jake, for which we give Him thanks!

\o/

5 07 2013
Jass

Excellent analogy. I dug that in order to make sense of the title you had to read the post from beginning to end. I love titles, particularly the reasoning behind why people choose to use certain ones…I think I have my theater background to thank for that. Again, very powerful post.

5 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

The author of this post is my inspiration for the crazy titles. I can tell when they are only ho-hum…no one reads them! Jake named this one himself. 😉

\o/

30 06 2013
Yanko

Amazing analogy, thank you for your story

14 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

The only credit I get is for posting it. Jesus is doing a wonderful work in Jake. We’ve known him for several years and watched him grow in the Lord. It’s a wondrous sight to behold!

\o/

29 06 2013
Reilly Irvine

Praise God! Just over a year ago, I was on a lot of drugs. I too have felt my condemnation and rejection of God under the torturous influence. It is truly a situation that is terrifying beyond all words. But God has plans for us!

30 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

He is good – all the time!

\o/

29 06 2013
godcrazzzy

simply marvellous…

30 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

I agree!
\o/

29 06 2013
worthless_romantic

Hi,
I’m Jake. I’m not as great as Tami makes me out to be, I’m still a mess even 19 years after this story. Jesus is the great one. One thing I can say is…I’d rather be a mess on this side of Jesus than a perfect man on the other. I beg you on Christ’s behalf, become friends with God.

29 06 2013
worthless_romantic

The funny thing is I would have never found this if you guys hadn’t come to help me. I appreciate it still!

29 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

What can I say, we love you…what’s not to love? 😉

\o/

29 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Beauty, as they say, is in the eye of the Beholder. You’re a fractal…a glorious masterpiece in process! 🙂

\o/

29 06 2013
Steve Rebus

Wow! This is amazing! God bless you. 🙂

29 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

It blessed me greatly, so I asked Jake if I could share it here. God is amazing, isn’t He?

\o/

1 07 2013
Steve Rebus

amazing beyond words! 🙂

1 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂
\o/

29 06 2013
Debbie Butler

Thank you for your testimony Jake! It also gives me HOPE for my loved one who is trapped in drug use and not a believer…. yet. May our Abba Father richly bless you!

29 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

I hope he sees the comments today. I’ll have to text him so he knows his testimony went out today.

So long as a person can feel the “tap, tap, tap” of their heart, they know Jesus is still knocking – seeking an invitation! Keep praying…the prayer of faith. It’s not over yet!

\o/

29 06 2013
Larry Who

This sends shivers down my spine. Glory to God.

29 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

I wish everyone could meet Jake. He’s a great guy who really loves the Lord.

God has shown Himself powerful in this man’s life in many ways. But then, we serve a powerful God!

\o/

29 06 2013
tinabrenee

I appreciate your sharing this story, as it gives me hope for a loved one in my life for whom my heart grieves. This post was very timely for me! Thanks again.

29 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re most welcome. It was good of Jake to let me share it. We never know what avenue the Lord will take to find the lost, do we?

\o/

Your turn!

